We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reservations memory lapse”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2008

So I did not actually stay here, but here's my family's not so great experience with Christine in reservations and the front desk. I'm in the military and was changing duty stations. On this road trip we stopped by the Georgia welcome center and from the info pamplets Jekyll Isl. sounded like a neat place to stay. We didn't have a hotel yet, so when we got to the island an hour later we scouted out the hotels. After looking at a couple on the island we were stoked to hear from Christine in reservations that they offered a govt employee rate (which was within my perdiem) . I was in the car, listening, as my wife talked to Christine and confirmed (twice) that they had a 1 br available at that rate. We raced over immediately to check-in. And then when we got there the front desk shrugged there shoulders, saying that no rate existed. We called back Christine, who said she never quoted the rate. We realized that at this point it was just a "he said, she said" situation and we didn't want to argue about what was so obvious. Convienient memory lapse on their part! After we wasted our time getting there. The rate the front desk quote $400 was way out of our price range, and after the bait and switch we weren't about to stay here. As you can imagine, after 6 hours in a car with a crying baby we were flabbergasted in addition to exhausted. We hopped in back in the car and went to Hawthorn Inn in nearby St. Mary's where we stayed in a 1br for $79. There we had a few drinks, and did our best to forget about the "club." Stay somewhere else, their customer service sucks.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
1  Thank dzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,161 - 1,167 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2008

A weekend at the Jekyll Island Club was pure paradise...

Escaping from the family while visiting Jacksonville, Mom and Dad's house, so my girlfriend and I could have some alone time, without the constant harrassment about, "When are you going to get married?" we packed up an overnight bag, jumped in the rental-car, and drove up the Georgia Coast about 2 hours to Jekyll Island.

We were pleasantly surprised at the drive up to check-in, a very scenic Victorian feast for the eyes. Lovers of Victorian Architecture and those that couldn't tell the difference alike will be pleased by the beauty of the buildings on the compound. Striking details abound across the property.

Our room was situated in the "Green House." We had a wonderful view of the Marina below, which we enjoyed viewing, while sitting on our balcony, sipping on a glass of wine, watching the lightning dance across the horizon, the prelude to an evening Thunderstorm, which was not a problem, thanks to the oversize umbrellas stocked in our room.

The oversized bed, antique furniture and comforts of home, including robe, fluffy soft towels, and some of the softest sheets I have ever slept on, made this more of a Guest Room than a hotel room.

A short drive or bike ride away is the beach, where the Club Hotel Staff is available to assist you with Beach Chairs, Towels, or any other ammenities that you may have forgotten at home. When the tide receeds, you can walk out over 100 Yards "into" the ocean. Literally walking on a sandbar, almost as far as the eye can see. A real interesting treat.

We dined at the Courtyard, where the food was delicious - perfectly seasoned and portioned, and the service was impecable. It was so good, we decided to return on our second night at the Hotel.

After 2 nights, our escape during the Family Vacation was just what the doctor ordered. Amazing scenery, great historical significance, fantastic beach, and all of the ammenities that you could hope for.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoonrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights in the middle of the week in July. We had the place to ourselves!
The room we had was very spacious even though we booked a lower priced room- no view though. Everything about this hotel is first class. We didn't eat in the main dining room but did have lunch at Crane Cottage and it was good. We also had sandwiches and breakfast at the Cafe.
The best thing about the hotel is the concierge's tour of the hotel. She is a wonderful lady and does an awesome job telling all the stories about the history of this hotel. It lasted over an hour and it's free.
There isn't much night life at the hotel. There is only a very small pub and only about 3 other people were in there when we checked it out. I did here that it gets more crowded on the weekends when there are weddings.
The hotel has it's own beach pavillion but you have to drive there since the hotel isn't on the ocean. I'm not sure if they have a shuttle.
The hotel does charge a resort fee which includes maid service, bottled water, the pavillion, towels and beach chairs.
All and all I'd stay here again. It's near the Sea Turtle Museum and the history tours ( both which are worth doing).

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2008

We got into the Club by accident, dropping out of a St. Simons' rental that was unacceptable, and the Club more than met all expectations. We (family of four) stayed in the Annex building, so our room experience is specific to that, but the double was very clean and quite large. The overall facility is lovely, very well maintained, and undergoing upgrades--while we were there they were painting, putting in new carpet etc. The staff were amazing--almost everyone we encountered was over-the-top friendly. The guy who checked us in, Mike, became our friend and guide for the several days we were there, giving us great advice on all island matters. When I was in the informal cafe, a woman came in saying her sister was having an allergic reaction, and asked where she could find Benadryl; it turned out the Club staff person behind the counter was a former Air Force medic--and she took the time to go all the way back to the room and make sure everything looked OK. The hotel has a good, small-ish pool (with snack bar); a fantastic private beach (chairs and umbrellas included); wonderful verandas to sit on. A three-minute walk puts you onto a boat pier for dolphin or fishing tours. The island itself is calm, beautiful, unspoiled. Not too many food options on island, but the hotel is not terribly overpriced--lunch options under $10 if you pick carefully even in the main dining room. A cheap dinner can be more of a challenge, but next-door St. Simons (20-min drive) has many more places to eat. It was quiet around the Club, even with a convention there (we were told they were at 85% capacity), and Mike told us it's always that way--it's big but still not huge, so it doesn't feels overrun (or didn't to us). They have kids programs--we didn't use them so can't speak to their quality, but their price ($26/child for a 9 am-4 pm dolphin tour + related activity) can't be beat; and they offer babysitting. In sum: A lovely place, friendly people, reasonable rates for what you get, gorgeous island, a million things to do in the area ... we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ArlingtonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2008

We (family of 5 with 3 kids under 12) stayed at the Jekyll Island Club Hotel the second week of July 2008 and were pleased with the property notwithstanding some luke warm reviews we had read before booking our stay. In particular all of the staff members were friendly and accomodating and very attentive to our needs.

The grounds were imaculate and the hotel common areas were in good shape. Obviously with this being a historic property it is not going to have all the 'shiny" amenities you would find in newer hotels but it did have wi fi and an exercise room, albeit small. Admittedly, it also showed its age in places but that is to be expected in any historic hotel and especially so in a coastal enviroment. On the plus side, our room was spacious even if the bathroom not so much.

The one caveat I would note however is the hotel is on the river side of the island and not on the beach. It is NOT within easy walking distance .The beach is instead a mere 5 minute drive away and the hotel has its own reserved parking and snack bar once you get to the Club's beach location . The hotel also provides umbrellas and chairs which I assume is part of the resort fee assesed against your daily bill as there was no direct charge for them.

Jekyll Island is basically a state park so it is undeveloped for the most part and those seeking night life will need to go to St. Simons Island. There is a 3 dollar entry charge for entering Jekyll Island so I would recommend a pass if you anticipate leaving the island more than once a day.

All in all, The Jekyll island Club reminded me somewhat of San Diego's Del Cornado Hotel with Spanish moss though the Dell is a far superior hotel with the rates to justify it. If you are seeking a relaxed atmosphere in an "old school" enviroment I would recommend the Jekyll Island Club without reservation. If you are looking for an up tempo vacation resort I would be cautious in staying here given its location and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TulsaSooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. We were met by the bellman with smiles, helpful hits for the week and even their names to ask more questions if needed. The room was perfect for my 3 girls (ages 1, 5 & 8). They even gave us a room with a porch to have more room. Every single person greeted us with a smile and always wanted to help. We even took the tour of the hotel and Sherri shared awesome stories of the hotel to make our stay more fun. The food was incredible at all hotel restaurants. The rooms were completely cleaned everyday we were there. They even scrubed the tub. This is the first time I ever stayed in a hotel where the room smelled clean when you came back. The Beach Pavilion was wonderful. It is so peaceful and clean. We visited the hotel based on reviews from this website and can't wait to go back. This has become our new family vacation spot. Thanks so much!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dcsmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

We had always wanted to see this hotel. From the website, it looks as if it has Old World charm and elegance. I guess the most disappointing thing is that it could have that, given an infusion of money and a major update. The property is beautiful from the outside, but the rooms (which are not cheap) are small and poorly furnished; the mattress in our room was soft and lumpy; the bed linens were not good quality; and the bathroom was outdated by years. There was a conference going on while we were there, and people had brought their families, which meant there were small children everywhere, and the atmosphere was more camp-like than elegant. For us, it was worth the visit to see the buildings and grounds and to learn the history of the Club. But it is certainly not a typical resort property. If you're planning to go, lower your expectations first.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank cola5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
1.1 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
768 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
5.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
597 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jekyll Ocean Club, a Jekyll Island Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jekyll Island Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jekyll Island Club Resort

Address: 371 N Riverview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0874
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range: $183 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jekyll Island Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Rated among the top 500 resorts in the world by Travel & Leisure, the Jekyll Island Club offers superb resort accommodations, outstanding service, and an unforgettable landmark experience. The Jekyll Island Club Resort is the perfect destination for a Georgia beach vacation, a romantic getaway or family vacation. The resort offers truly exceptional dining choices ranging from the elegant Grand Dining Room to casual fare at The Wharf, Pool House and the bakery-delicatessen Club Café. Nine miles of beach, bicycling, 63 holes of golf, tennis, historic tours, horseback riding, and much more ensure that there is something for everyone to enjoy. History This historic hotel was originally built in 1886 as a hunting retreat for America’s wealthy elite including J.P. Morgan, William Rockefeller, Joseph Pulitzer, as well as the Vanderbilts, Goulds and Astors. Restored to its original splendor in 1986, it is now a National Historic Landmark and a member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Jekyll Island Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jekyll Island Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel Jekyll Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing