We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand old hotel, great service, but needing some upgrades” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jekyll Island Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Grand old hotel, great service, but needing some upgrades”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

A stay at this resort is a great treat in many respects: a majestic, grand old beauty of a hotel, with beautifully manicured grounds, impeccable and friendly service by staff, a gorgeous grand dining room, and affordable seasonal packages.

We stayed in a king deluxe room in the lovely Crane Cottage, and appreciated the spacious room and the wonderful balcony with chairs that overlook a small pond, green lawns and the River. There were many pillows on the king bed, but they were very hard: like sacks of tightly packed grain, making sleep difficult, and the water from the shower was only lukewarm: not uncomfortable, but not hot. It was private and quiet, however: the thick walls meant that we never heard noises from outside, even from the dining room below us.

The historic area is fun to explore: good historic tours available, and we recommend the tour of the hotel that is offered daily. We enjoyed a delicious lunch and a dinner in the Courtyard at Crane: excellent food in a lovely setting. The buffet breakfast was adequate but unremarkable: no bananas or berries for cold cereal and non-sweet breads (toast, bagels, English muffins) had to be ordered after going through the buffet line which meant that eggs and grits had to be eaten before the toast arrived or eaten cold: neither option was optimal.

Would we return: yes, we look forward to doing so, especially now that we know the questions we might ask to turn a very good experience into a first-rate, excellent one.

Room Tip: Crane Cottage was lovely: very private and quiet, despite the dining room on the first floor. Our se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartsoSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    242
    73
    49
    27
See reviews for
205
513
22
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bremerton, WA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

A friend and I spent one night at the resort on March 2, 2014 and enjoyed the surrounding area as the weather was beautiful. The large room assigned to us was in the annex and is in need of a make over plus good cleaning behind and under beds. The bathroom is also in need of a renovation. The bellman brought our bags to the room and valet parked the car. The beds were comfortable. Before leaving the next day we enjoyed freshly baked pastries from the bakery shop, scrambled eggs and coffee. The pastries were delicious and we enjoyed eating them on the porch.

The front desk staff seemed bored and not particularly welcoming. We wanted to eat in the large dining room however, were told it was booked even tho' it appeared there were only two tables filled. So we ate in the Crane restaurant. The server was professional but not really enthusiastic as was the hostess. My entree (braised pork shank) was well prepared my friend had the scallops and they were too sweet for her taste.

My recommendation would be to enjoy Jekyll Island as a day trip and stay somewhere else at night. Initially, we were to have spent 5 days there at a Roads Scholar painting class. So glad the class was cancelled as the 3 days following our stay the weather turned very cold and rainy.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Bremerton_WAMeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattsburg, New York, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is our second stay with the Hotel. Our room was wonderful we stayed in the Crane house.
Every thing was very nice from the grounds to the lovely large room that we stayed in. The service was wonderful and everyone was so helpful. We had a wonderful romantic stay, we had our diner in the Hotel dining room and was impressed with the food and the service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenMc111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jekyll Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Step back in time and enjoy the ambiance of the Jekyll island Club Hotel...imagine members of the Jekyll Club walking the grounds and throughout the building! What an impressive, yet comfortable hotel to enjoy! The service is great, the food tremendous, and the surroundings just perfect. And, do have a drink at the lobby bar! What a great gathering place. The Jekyll Island Club Hotel is a tremendous value! What a jewell!

Room Tip: The main hotel building is fantastic and Crane & Cherokee Cottages are fabulous. Sans Souci roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C2J4H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

See that round building in the photo of the hotel? That is the Presidential Suite. We thought it was an observation tower and asked how we could get up there. The bellman told us that it was a presidential suite & that if it was not occupied, we could go & see it. We did get a tour & low & behold, my husband decided to take it. It has a spiral staircase that rakes you out to the 360 degree patio -- very cute room. Besides, how many people could say they have stayed in a Presidential Suite?!

Very nice hotel -- good service & food in Grand a Dining Room is very, very good!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Geri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, SC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Our room was quite large and had a non-working fireplace and an enclosed semi-circular porch. The keys (yes, real old brass keys) took a lot of jiggling and manuvering to enter the room. The building is about 130 years old and is magnificent from the outside, however our room felt a bit tired. The bathroom had been updated but had extremely low counters. Our dining experience in the grand dining room was excellent. Food and service first-rate all the way. A fine pianist created an atmosphere of elegance, softly playing everything from Broadway to Beethoven.

The following night we tried to experience the other dining room at the Crane Cottage but it had been reserved for a private wedding party and was not open to the public. The helpful concierge suggested a place where the locals dine about seven miles from the hotel, and said that the hotel vans will take and pick up any hotel guests who choose to dine there. It was a family-style place with good comfort food and a bargain ($10 for a bottle of nice Pinot Noir!)

All in all, it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, New York
Level Contributor
257 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Taking advantage of a special offer tendered by the Jekyll Island Club Hotel (Jekyll Island GA), my wife and I opted to return to the Club Hotel for five nights in early March 2014. With its combination of history, polish, aged beauty, and hidden shabbiness, the Jekyll Island Club Hotel remained an elegant Grand Dame among hotels. Our room was comfortable and spacious, our king bed afforded a good night’s sleep, and the accessories/amenities were of excellent quality. Worn carpets in rooms and halls, doors that gaped (but would lock), dust and paint chips on windowsills, frightfully rusted and worn fitness center equipment, split wooden flooring, slow sink drains, and much more spoke eloquently to the difficulty of managing such a facility to maintain guests’ experience at a level of quality that will honor its past.
The weather was not under the control of the hotel staff, and unfortunately, after two gloriously sunny and warm days, the weather turned cold and rainy and precluded such outdoor activities as golf, hiking, biking, or simply sitting on the porch to read a book. So, we spent three of our five days largely indoors, and on Jekyll Island, that means a lot of time to read and play card/board games, which we could have done without driving 1,200 miles. Time is too precious to spend it all indoors in such lovely country, so our bottom line: we’re not likely to return to this area on winter travels before late March/early April.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeezersOnTheGo-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
1.0 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
5.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#3 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Cloister at Sea Island
The Cloister at Sea Island
#1 of 1 in Sea Island
4.5 of 5 stars 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jekyll Island Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jekyll Island Club Hotel

Property: Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Address: 371 Riverview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jekyll Island Club Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Jekyll Island Georgia accommodations set the stage for your landmark experience. The resort presents 157 rooms and suites in five historic settings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Jekyll Island Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jekyll Island Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel Jekyll Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing