We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JEKYLL Island Club Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wonderful vacation spot, friendly staff, accomodations were very good, elevator service, valet, and all the help you needed to access your room. Dining room experience was a delight, great breakfast and evening meals. loved and interacted with the staff. would recommend this vacation spot and experience in an antique setting and love the surroundings and greenery.

Room Tip: I was on the second floor, very quiet and at the end of the hall therefore no noise from other trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dancingirishlady12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

785 - 791 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

A consistently nice stay at the Jekyll Island Club. Lovely setting in millionaire's village with restored homes and old mossy oak trees that takes you back to the 1930's. Although not on the ocean, they have a small building on the beach and a hotel shuttle, or take a bike over to the ocean. Several dining venues and a couple of local restaurants, a short stroll from the hotel. The main dining room is formal, and expensive...worth a visit for special occasion. A charming hotel on a peaceful island..no high rise condos or hotels here. The best part is they never will be built on Jekyll Island.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countryclubgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our family stayed at the Jekyll Island Club Hotel last weekend and it had something for everyone. The hotel is old, but that is definitely part of its charm! My 6-year-olds were fascinated by the older staircases and uneven floors. I liked the larger than average rooms, and my husband liked the service of a luxury hotel. The hotel is in a beautiful setting with oak trees dripping Spanish moss and the marsh all around. Once there, the bellmen will drive you anywhere on the island you want to go. There is wonderful dining in the Grand Dining Room and the pastries we ordered from the cafe counter were equally as good. I would recommend it for anyone looking for a getaway with charm.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slmasonhhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Let me start by saying the hotel itself and surrounds grounds are beautiful, the staff was all very nice and helpful. We stayed for 6 days, our room was on the 3rd floor on the back corner, in the San Souci cottage and enjoyed ourselves in the peace and quite. The island itself is very tranquil, lots of good scenery and wildlife.

Now to the less positive side of the experience, all of these charges are I am sure spelled out somewhere, but they definitely do not leave you with a warm fuzzy feeling when you get the bill at the end of the stay. There is a $15.00 resort fee each day, there then is a 6% room tax each day then a 5% Occupancy tax each day and then a $2.00 island preservation fee each day you are then also charged the room tax 6% on the resort fee (that is only .90 cents but really!).
So on my 179.00 a night room that is just about an additional $38.00 a day. Also be aware that there is a toll to get onto the island.

As an added tip, I would suggest picking up soda / sparkling water / snacks at the little grab and go up the road from the hotel. The in-room mini bar items are not as outrageously priced as some places (about comparable to what you would pay at the bar for wine / beer) but you can definitely get better selection - more for your money at the little store and it is very close by.

I don't think we would go again but it was nice to go there once, just factor in all the added costs into your budgeting considerations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WelRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My family was greeted with lovely smiles of Katherine, Dara and Erica. They came across loving their job and where they work. The bellman, especially Roan was really helpful. Ashlia in the cafe was delightful. The pool bar staff was friendly and having towels provided was a bonus.

Renting bikes was a breeze. The trails are worth exploring. My children loved going to the beach. We liked our room. Could use a bit of fresh paint and new furniture. The grounds are maintained beautifully. Watching the sunset from the porch over looking the pool was a nice end to the day.

The wireless doesn't really work well in some places. Cell service was another issue to no fault of the hotel. It is after all a state park which seems to be loosing that feel from all the new builds.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PartyLike1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Relaxing on the porch, under the angel oaks, by the pool and marsh with a drink, southern elegance at its best. Lovely setting between the marsh and ocean. Nice beach gazebo with snacks and dressing areas. No wonder the millionaires wanted to build here.

Room Tip: Choose a pool side view for a nice salt marsh view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynnBurnett81151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent a long weekend here in August with some friends. The grounds are gorgeous, the food was very good and surprisingly reasonable. But the Hotel itself could use some updating as far as maintenance and upgrading goes. That said, I realize that there is a fine line between trying to maintain an historic "feel", and modernizing human comforts. For example the beds could really use more comfortable mattresses and some woodwork repair and painting would be in order in trying to bring this Southern Gem back to its original condition.

Nice shuttle service takes you over to their beach pavilion or you can drive your car, and the food over there at the little beach grill is good. It's a long, hot sand walk down to the beach though, so bring your shoes.


I have to say the croquet court was meticulously maintained with loving attention. I commend whomever keeps it up. It is a fabulous court, and we immensely enjoyed the opportunity to play on it.

I had a great time. Like I said the food at Latitude 31 (entrees $20-$24...the grouper was perfectly prepared)) and the Grand Dining Room (I had rack of lamb $35- was good to excellent, and a good value ...I got FIVE perfectly prepared lamb chops for $35 .....at most high end restaurants 2-3 max is the norm at a higher rate). The Sunday brunch was a little expensive at $29 per person, but it was tremendously varied rivaling the Sunday brunches I have had in New Orleans. The shrimp were boiled to perfection (not easy to do this properly). The bars have a great selection of premium liquors and beers, and all the drinks I had were good to excellent so kudos to the bartenders around the resort.....you folks know how to make a drink! The vodka gimlets made with Grey Goose were excellent in the Grand Dining Room and in The Pub, and the peach daiquiris at the pool bar were awesome . And the staff everywhere were all friendly and helpful (including Ms. Katha in reservations prior to our stay who was very nice and helpful in answering all my questions, and sent me a prompt confirmation email).

So enjoy the history, the food, the atmosphere, and grounds. While I wouldn't stay for a week, a long weekend stay was very relaxing and enjoyable. It's not a Four Seasons hotel, but if you enjoy history, you will not be disappointed. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BruddaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
1.1 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
753 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
5.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
595 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jekyll Ocean Club, a Jekyll Island Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jekyll Island Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jekyll Island Club Resort

Address: 371 N Riverview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0874
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range: $213 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jekyll Island Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Jekyll Island Georgia accommodations set the stage for your landmark experience. The resort presents 157 rooms and suites in five historic settings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Jekyll Island Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jekyll Island Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel Jekyll Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing