We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to returning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My family was greeted with lovely smiles of Katherine, Dara and Erica. They came across loving their job and where they work. The bellman, especially Roan was really helpful. Ashlia in the cafe was delightful. The pool bar staff was friendly and having towels provided was a bonus.

Renting bikes was a breeze. The trails are worth exploring. My children loved going to the beach. We liked our room. Could use a bit of fresh paint and new furniture. The grounds are maintained beautifully. Watching the sunset from the porch over looking the pool was a nice end to the day.

The wireless doesn't really work well in some places. Cell service was another issue to no fault of the hotel. It is after all a state park which seems to be loosing that feel from all the new builds.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PartyLike1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

811 - 817 of 1,259 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

Relaxing on the porch, under the angel oaks, by the pool and marsh with a drink, southern elegance at its best. Lovely setting between the marsh and ocean. Nice beach gazebo with snacks and dressing areas. No wonder the millionaires wanted to build here.

Room Tip: Choose a pool side view for a nice salt marsh view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynnBurnett81151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent a long weekend here in August with some friends. The grounds are gorgeous, the food was very good and surprisingly reasonable. But the Hotel itself could use some updating as far as maintenance and upgrading goes. That said, I realize that there is a fine line between trying to maintain an historic "feel", and modernizing human comforts. For example the beds could really use more comfortable mattresses and some woodwork repair and painting would be in order in trying to bring this Southern Gem back to its original condition.

Nice shuttle service takes you over to their beach pavilion or you can drive your car, and the food over there at the little beach grill is good. It's a long, hot sand walk down to the beach though, so bring your shoes.


I have to say the croquet court was meticulously maintained with loving attention. I commend whomever keeps it up. It is a fabulous court, and we immensely enjoyed the opportunity to play on it.

I had a great time. Like I said the food at Latitude 31 (entrees $20-$24...the grouper was perfectly prepared)) and the Grand Dining Room (I had rack of lamb $35- was good to excellent, and a good value ...I got FIVE perfectly prepared lamb chops for $35 .....at most high end restaurants 2-3 max is the norm at a higher rate). The Sunday brunch was a little expensive at $29 per person, but it was tremendously varied rivaling the Sunday brunches I have had in New Orleans. The shrimp were boiled to perfection (not easy to do this properly). The bars have a great selection of premium liquors and beers, and all the drinks I had were good to excellent so kudos to the bartenders around the resort.....you folks know how to make a drink! The vodka gimlets made with Grey Goose were excellent in the Grand Dining Room and in The Pub, and the peach daiquiris at the pool bar were awesome . And the staff everywhere were all friendly and helpful (including Ms. Katha in reservations prior to our stay who was very nice and helpful in answering all my questions, and sent me a prompt confirmation email).

So enjoy the history, the food, the atmosphere, and grounds. While I wouldn't stay for a week, a long weekend stay was very relaxing and enjoyable. It's not a Four Seasons hotel, but if you enjoy history, you will not be disappointed. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BruddaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I had a relaxing long weekend at the Jekyll Island Club. Although our room was not large, it was quite comfortable and nice. We enjoyed the café several times and the Grand Dining Room plus the lobby bar. Jekyll is a wonderful place to bicycle, and bike rental is at the hotel at a minimal cost. We took a dolphin cruise from the pier across the street and saw some gorgeous sunsets from the pier. On Thurs., Fri., and Sat. nights, there is a live band on the pier, but don't get your hopes up about the quality of the talent. Of course, the "cottages" are very close to the club, and there are many walking/bicycling paths. Life at the Jekyll Island Club is quiet, peaceful, relaxing, and quite enjoyable.

Room Tip: We were in Room 2306 which was very convenient to the elevator, the café, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarshainSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We enjoyed a week long stay with friends from TX. The hotels history and grounds were special. The rooms were spacious and the staff friendly. It was tough to decide between a 3 or 4 but I went with 3 because you would expect a little more from this caliber of a resort. There is NO cell signal in the resort which was a problem for me. And the wifi signal is very weak in the rooms. So don't plan on working while you are there. We ate the breakfast buffet each day as part of our room package and it was typical hotel fare. In the end, we had a wonderful trip with our friends, but if I were picking the place I would probably pick a different resort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Beautiful place to exercise and spend time outdoors. Great running and biking paths. Hotel rents bikes for half or full days. Hotel and Island offer several dining options. Island offers multiple golf courses, access to the beach and various activities both for adults and children. Island offers ocean beach access as well as river wharf access.
Southern Charm at it's finest!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This property is among the favorites of all places we have ever stayed - in the US or elsewhere. The grounds are more beautiful than I know how to describe, and the service is spectacular, and gracious. For us, though, as much as the beauty, the history and our imaginings of what life was once like on this property, in these same buildings, keeps us coming back. We can't get enough. We don't visit often, but we leave with wonderful and lasting memories when we do. We stayed in the Cherokee Cottage this time, in what we imagined to have been the servant's quarters on the back pof the house, and we agreed that we would gladly stay as the servants if we could stay in this room. The marble bathroom vanity was the original from when the "cottage" was built a hundred years ago. Beautiful, and it's remarkable how much they retained from the original structures as they renovated for today's guests.

Room Tip: We love the rooms with some kind of balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I-75Traveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
1.1 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
777 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
5.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#6 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
597 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jekyll Ocean Club, a Jekyll Island Club Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jekyll Island Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jekyll Island Club Resort

Address: 371 N Riverview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0874
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range: $178 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jekyll Island Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Rated among the top 500 resorts in the world by Travel & Leisure, the Jekyll Island Club offers superb resort accommodations, outstanding service, and an unforgettable landmark experience. The Jekyll Island Club Resort is the perfect destination for a Georgia beach vacation, a romantic getaway or family vacation. The resort offers truly exceptional dining choices ranging from the elegant Grand Dining Room to casual fare at The Wharf, Pool House and the bakery-delicatessen Club Café. Nine miles of beach, bicycling, 63 holes of golf, tennis, historic tours, horseback riding, and much more ensure that there is something for everyone to enjoy. History This historic hotel was originally built in 1886 as a hunting retreat for America’s wealthy elite including J.P. Morgan, William Rockefeller, Joseph Pulitzer, as well as the Vanderbilts, Goulds and Astors. Restored to its original splendor in 1986, it is now a National Historic Landmark and a member of Historic Hotels of America. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Jekyll Island Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jekyll Island Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel Jekyll Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing