We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very swank”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very swank”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Everything at the resort was top notch... Except the bathrooms. I booked a room with a glassed in sunporch overlooking the river and everything was very nice. The bathroom was a different story. It seemed like it was made for someone about 2 feet shorter than we were. The tub was miniscule and the counter came up mid thigh. It was a very crampled space and probably had not been updated in some time.
The history and grounds of the resort are wonderful. Just be sure to pack OFF! for the gnats, which could possible become Georgia's state bird.
We had a couple's massage that was quite overpriced for what we got. But it was at a resort so that was to be expected. The Sandwich Shop had very good food. Again, quite expensive.
We also ate at the restaurant on the river and the food there was excellent. Not a lot to do in the area and we drove over to St. Simon's for a little bite and sightseeing.
The shops on the resort are quite lame (I dont know how else to describe them) and again, unless the outdoor pool is open, it is not a great place for kids as you have to go to the other side of the island to get to the beach.
Very nice for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    264
    90
    57
    31
See reviews for
236
577
27
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

An experience not to be missed situated off the coast of Georgia an historical hotel once the playground of the Rockefeller's and Morgans extraordinary botanicals and miles of walking trails Not to be missed

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donald s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
193 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Hey it is an old old hotel but considering the age and affects of the salt water it's in pretty good shape. I was here for three nights and stayed in a huge room with a big porch with a view of the river. It was in sans souci if you can't do stairs do realize there is not an elevator. All service and food was first class. Is it perfect no but pretty darn good I saw one review that had 12 negative points don't read it I would guess they don't like anything or anyplace. Enjoy

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hockeybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

This property is beautiful! We stayed two nights as part of a Southern Coastal tour. All of our companions had unique rooms. It all depends on the the building you're in. We had breakfast each AM in the grand dining room- it was wonderful! There was lots to see and do. I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antonitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The setting is a beautiful historic hotel and the grounds are lovely with walking and bike riding trails throughout but the beds and the rooms could be updated. The bed was very uncomfortable and unfortunately many of the staff were not very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathielinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

One can feel like the pampered millionaires that first had the Jekyll Island Club created for their own vacations. The hotel has the feel of the Del Coronado Hotel in San Diego as it was built during the same period. The rooms in the hotel are individually decorated and with fully up-to-date amenities. The Grand Dining Room has to be experienced for at least one dinner. Roam the grounds to get a sense of the beauty of this lovely island setting and the unique shops in old cottages. I would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLEfromAptos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Know at the outset that this is a historic property and the room and amenities are not up to the most modern standards. That said, there is a grace and hospitality to this operation that is exceptional. We had a drink in the bar adjacent to the dining room that was one of the best we have ever encountered. The hot, sweet and spicy martini captivated the wives in our group who are not martini tolerant unless they tend to the Cosmo side of the menu. We enjoyed an Easter brunch that was truly exceptional. Wonderful seafood and a terrific pastry selection, all impeccably served. And there was no alcohol during our sitting on a Sunday (blue law) and the brunch still sparkled. Sitting on the veranda in the evening on their rockers is a marvelous experience.

The staff is very capable and attentive and the outbuildings on the property were interesting as well. This property is a great introduction to the "Low Country" of coastal Georgia and South Carolina. Don't stay here if you require the Marriott or the Ritz Carlton in terms of modernity. Do stay and appreciate a gracious experience that is redolent of the historic past.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the original wing. Ask about the Presidential suite for a unique experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
1.1 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
9.4 mi away
The Cloister at Sea Island
The Cloister at Sea Island
#1 of 1 in Sea Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jekyll Island Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jekyll Island Club Resort

Property: Jekyll Island Club Resort
Address: 371 N Riverview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0874
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jekyll Island Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Jekyll Island Georgia accommodations set the stage for your landmark experience. The resort presents 157 rooms and suites in five historic settings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jekyll Island Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jekyll Island Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel Jekyll Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing