We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Step Back in time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Step Back in time”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Jekyll Island Club Hotel is a step back into history. This beautiful old hotel has magnificent woodwork throughout the rooms and lobby. This former private club for the very wealthy still has plenty of wonderful sights and things to do. Tour the "cottages" of former club members and stroll the manicured grounds. There is a 54 hole golf course less than 2 miles away. The ocean is close by with many walking and biking trails as well. The breakfast buffet features eggs, bacon, sausage, yogurt, fresh fruit, several juices, cereals, home made pastries and muffins as well as special additions like blueberry waffles with raspberry sauce and stuffed crepes.
My room was cozy overlooking the pool and water with real wooden shutters at the windows. Staff helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: I think any room would be a good choice. I couldn't find any problems here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    272
    91
    57
    31
See reviews for
242
586
28
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We celebrated our wedding anniversary here and they made us feel special...accomodating us with an upgrade and complimentary champagne. The staff was great! The atmosphere of the historic hotel was very nice. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captivatedx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

What a beautiful and charming property. The rooms are rather large and the heated, covered porches on a crisp morning are to die for. The dining room atmospher, food and service are wonderful and remind me of a simpler time. I absolutley loved the little array of shops. The staff were amazing as well. I wish I had more time to visit the little cafe/bakery on site. I will definitley be back again!

Room Tip: Water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I had the choice of Hampton Inn of the Jekyll island Club and opted for the club. I was happy with my choice as I stay in Hampton Inns often. This property is very old and historic so if you want modern style this isn't your place, but if you enjoy something with an old southern feel to it then you'll love this place.

The rooms are small and the furnishings are straight out of an antique store. There is Wi-Fi which was faster than most places I stay. I had dinner and lunch and both were done above average for hotel dinning. I suggest going down to Vincent's Bar for a drink (if you can find it) as this is one of the most interesting little bars I've ever been in.

You also get the "ghost" that are suppose to haunt the second floor and veranda. I stayed on the second floor which is where the ghost of the "Bellhop" roams around as the legend goes.

Room Tip: If you're afraid of Ghost do your research and book a room that's not haunted!...Really!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheRealBillBrasky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Jekyll Island Club is an uncrowded, unspoiled 19th Century treasure. It is reminiscent of Hotel del Coronado in San Diego and the Grand Island Hotel in Michigan. This hotel, on a gorgeous island, is a throwback to the grandeur, architecture and charm of another century. It is comprised of a great Victorian Hotel, vast grounds and turn-of-the century mansions ("cottages"). This Club was the winter/spring playground of America's wealthiest families who then summered and built their "cottages" in Newport, RI. It is perfect for biking or strolling along both the ocean and river. Many of the mansions are open for touring. This island is about 1 1/2 hours southeast of Savannah, GA. The Club food is excellent.

Room Tip: The eastern rooms with sun porches are charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Not the first time we've stayed at the Jekyll Island Club Hotel. Always look forward to returning. This stay was our best ever! Lots of space to sit on the porchs and relax. Everyone is friendly and helpful. Food at the restraurants is good.

Room Tip: Every room in this Club is different. Choose one that fits your needs. We like the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jax, FL
Level Contributor
523 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Whether going for one night or a week. , Jekyll Island Club Hotel is an inviting, historic, scenic, peaceful place to stay ! The old hunting club for the American industrialists of the early 1900s, is today an upscale hotel, with modern features. The character has been preserved, from paneled walls, to the crochet fields where one still dresses in white to play a game or two.
The main dining room is as elegant today as it must have been in decades gone by. Families like the Rockafellers, and Cranes dined on Seafood, prime rib, and chicken dinner, still served today.

Of special. Note : check out their $29 Sunday buffet. Great shrimp,crab legs, scallops, along with the carving station , buffer station, muffins, Danish, fresh fruit, and on and on. Mimosas or champaign are included with the meal.

Make time to walk the grounds, or take a swim. Lots to enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brewer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
1.1 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#4 of 9 in Jekyll Island
683 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
5.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
584 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Beachview Club
The Beachview Club
#7 of 9 in Jekyll Island
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jekyll Island Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jekyll Island Club Resort

Property: Jekyll Island Club Resort
Address: 371 N Riverview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0874
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jekyll Island Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Jekyll Island Georgia accommodations set the stage for your landmark experience. The resort presents 157 rooms and suites in five historic settings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jekyll Island Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jekyll Island Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel Jekyll Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing