We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful historic property, Awesome staff, LOVED it!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Deltona, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic property, Awesome staff, LOVED it!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

I surprised my husband for our anniversary with a long weekend trip at the Jekyll Island Club Hotel. Both of us were pleasantly surprised with the beauty and attention to detail that was displayed on the 200 plus acre club. We stayed in San Souci which was built in 1896, our room (4102) had the original hardwood floors, original window panes and original stained glass and had tall ceilings which were accented with gorgeous multi layered crown molding. The King bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was huge, the front porch with rocking chairs was perfect for enjoying a late afternoon cup of coffee. It was summer so we couldn't take advantage of the huge fireplace that was in the room. We also had a nice walk in closet, in room safe and large table with chairs. Each day we were left 2 complimentary bottles of water and we did have an in room coffee pot. Since we were celebrating our anniversary they sent us a complimentary bottle of Jekyll Island Champaigne and strawberries which was a nice jesture, we also had evening turn down service with Jekyll Island logo's imprinted on chocolates. Each morning we had the breakfast buffet in the main dining room which was a nice way to start the day. They had eggs, bacon , sausage, fruits, grits, pasteries, juices, etc. You could also get cooked to order eggs, toast and pancakes. I had purchased the dining plan with dinner and I am so glad that I paid the extra money. Our dinner was absolutely wonderful; the service was fabulous, the food was delicious and the desserts were to die for. The clubs private beach pavillion is a nice place to spend the day. They have towels for the guests, chairs and umbrellas that you can rent, restrooms and food. Driftwood beach is a must see, plan on riding bikes through the miles of moss covered oak tree paths. Overall, we had a wonderful time with wonderful service and no complaints. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer! The hotel and the island is a definite must see and do vacation location.

Room Tip: San Souci - separate from club, quite, large rooms beautifully restored
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMariaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    264
    90
    57
    31
See reviews for
236
577
27
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

I stayed here for a business conference and was quite impressed. The resort is laid-back and lacks much of the ostentatious elegance of many pricier and fancier resorts. However, the food in the dining room was consistently good, the service was excellent and the staff were attentive.

The hotel offered courtesy rides to/from the beach which was clean and unblemished and featured a Jekyll Island Club "pavilion" with restrooms and food available for purchase. St Simon's Island is a 20 minute drive away and features fantastic restaurants which we took advantage of.

My room was "smallish" but nice and located near a quaint courtyard. I look forward to returning when pleasure, not business, calls!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric10036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Jekyll Island Club Hotel last weekend. I had booked the BOGO rate (buy one night, get one night free), which I couldn't believe that they offered since this hotel is rated 5-star. The service was medicore, the pool bar and staff were great. I tried speaking with the maintenance and hotel staff and the maids, but they seemed not to like their jobs or care to talk. Anyway, my wife and I stayed in a Jacuzzi Suite in the Crane Cottage. I must say the suite is very, very small with a king bed. The bathroom as a Jacuzzi/Shower Combo. I wouldn't really consider te Jacuzzi tub a true jacuzzi w/ the shower above. The room does need updatting. I also did not like the stairs leading up as I was stung by a wasp on the foot. At this point a staff member saw me and didn't say anything or try to help me while I was in pain. The grounds are kept very nice, the breakfast was decent and and reasonable. The only tip I have is look for the BOGO rate online if you haven't stayed or been here before. Also, I tried Haylards Restaurant in St. Simmons, it was recommended for Fine Dining, but was horribe service. Do not go there.

Room Tip: Make a Reservation on their website, look for BOGO rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhw82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

The hotel grounds are beautiful, and the room we had in the San Souci building had a lovely balcony view of the sunset every night. The rooms in the hotel proper can be smaller, but the overall experience was highly enjoyable. We were able to rent bikes one day, spend an afternoon by the pool, and pass another playing croquet.

Room Tip: The rooms in the San Souci building are large and have quiet balconies with sunset views on one side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcbnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

This was the most relaxing vacation I have been on.
The hotel is beautiful. The staff is always smiling are ready to help.
We had a double/double room which had a sitting area with a sofa and 2 chairs that looked new. The beds where very comfortable and the pillows where wonderfully fluffy !
The grounds are so beautiful and clean. Pool was very clean and a cheese burger at the pool grill is a must!! Best in the world. Solterra cafe is yummy for a quick coffee or lunch. Breakfast in the grand dining room is a must also. Very Yummy!!

Room Tip: Best view would be a front room facing the warf and river area. Ask for a room with a porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebRater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here over the 4th of July weekend for 2 nights on our way to Orlando and wished we could have stayed longer. My 11 and 9 year olds absolutely loved Jekyll Island, the hotel, the pool and grounds, learning croquet, biking around the island and "discovering" the fantastic Driftwood Beach and seeing dozens of dolphins on the fun dolphin tour. The hotel itself is a charming beauty that takes you back in time! The trip was an anniversary present for my wife (and kids), and we were pleasantly surprised by the complimentary champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us in our room. Our room in the Annex was spacious, clean and most comfortable. We found the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. The restaurants were wonderful and reasonably priced for a resort (don't miss the Sunday brunch!). We loved that the historic district and the beaches were so accessible by foot or bike (we didn't use our car at all during our stay). The 20 mile bike path around the island was wonderful and mostly in the shade. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrdjeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

This historic hotel/resort is a place that time forgot. You can easily imagine the regular visitors from the late 1800's playing croquet in all-whites on the front lawn which is still an amenity today. Our stay was in San Souci building built in 1896 with a very large bedroom, with working fireplace, bath and private back porch overlooking the manicured lawns. There is an old world ambience here amidst the historic buildings, beautiful serene surroundings all guarded by huge live oaks dripping with Spanish moss. They have bike rental, a swimming pool, and a designated hotel area on the beach (accessible by a short car ride or by bicycle). Or just relax on the grounds while reading a book borrowed from the library. The large dining room is beautiful and the breakfast buffet plentiful or choose one of the other smaller restaurants on the property. We were surprised to experience a fireworks display on our last night right over the lawn in front of our building. There are about 10 small gift shops on the property also. What a relaxing stay with tons of Southern charm.

Room Tip: I understand the rooms vary greatly from one building to another so keep that in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
1.1 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#4 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
9.4 mi away
The Cloister at Sea Island
The Cloister at Sea Island
#1 of 1 in Sea Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jekyll Island Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jekyll Island Club Resort

Property: Jekyll Island Club Resort
Address: 371 N Riverview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0874
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jekyll Island Club Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious Jekyll Island Georgia accommodations set the stage for your landmark experience. The resort presents 157 rooms and suites in five historic settings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jekyll Island Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jekyll Island Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel Jekyll Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing