We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, United States
1 review
“First time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was our first time to jekyll Island the place is really laid back,low key. Alot of construction going on appears two more hotels are being build right next two each other can't imagine what trafffic will be like seeing how only way in and off the island.And a roundabout.Was there on the weekend no work being done.Everyone friendly,clean hotel,nice room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Emanuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Glad we made a nice first impression to your visit to Jekyll Island. Sounds like you enjoyed a relaxing weekend with us. We hope we can become an escape to you for future visits. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,101
    469
    125
    55
    30
See reviews for
642
736
46
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toccoa, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Leave your beach towels, beach chairs, and umbrellas at home! This hotel offers umbrellas and chairs on the beach for a minimal fee (think $10 per item, not $40!!); on top of offering the chairs and umbrellas, I watched the employee who managed this task during our stay spray and WASH the chairs and side table before he brought them out to each guest! He WASHED them - by hand - only to set them up on the sandy beach!!! I thought for a moment that I was at the Ritz. :-) The employees at this hotel seem to have been hand picked or recruited - they all appear to love their work and really put guests first! The hotel has plenty of food to choose from for lunch or a light dinner (spinach dip, flatbread pizza, hot dogs, grilled chicken caesar salad, etc.), so one could easily stay at the hotel all day until dinner, or make sandwiches in the room and eat the lighter items for a quick dinner if you aren't up for a large meal out at night. They also have happy hour if you'd like a fruity drink or wine/beer, etc. while you sit by the pool or inside at the bar. The shuttle offered by the hotel will take you anywhere on the island, any time, and pick you up anytime. The rooms are exceptionally clean and modern in this 4 year old facility. The boardwalk to the beach is through the dunes,which the hotel has graciously preserved, meaning that you're in a shaded forest until you reach the surf! It's a great walk, even with small kids. The pool is a beautiful place, with a large hot tub and a large kiddie pool. There's even a gas log fire pit out by the pool area, though it was too hot during our stay, but would be cozy in the fall and winter after using the whirlpool. The full breakfast buffet was more than sufficient - fruit, oatmeal, cereal, waffles, grits, eggs, bacon, bagels, yogurt, toast etc. etc. ..aside from made-to-order omelets, I can't even think of something they didn't offer for breakfast. Our favorite part of breakfast was eating outdoors on the paver stone patio under the big shade trees. This hotel was really connected with its natural surroundings as though it "grew there." We were in a 4th floor room with a balcony with a forest view. Though you can't see the ocean from the hotel at all (for the trees/dunes), we could hear the waves from the balcony. I will definitely return to this hotel again & can say with all certainty that there is no other place like it on Jekyll. This hotel really is an "almost-resort"...with the exception of fine dining, it really has everything else you'd find at a resort destination. Love it, love it, love it....

Room Tip: If you have a little one (or you're an early-to-bed person) don't choose a room with a pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janet k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here twice. Staff always friendly. Love that they have a bar. Pool area nice but closes too early, its a vacation for petes sake. Great breakfast, nice clean rooms. Will return for sure. If only they had room service..

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

I have a concern that the Hampton Inn on Jekyll Island has 2 elevators that are currently 3 months past the inspection date. They do not sound good at all. We have stayed here every year for the past 4 years and the hotel is only 5 years old I believe. I am surprised to see how run down the hotel has become in only one year. From the pool liner needing to be replaced to the TVs in the room being brunt out,it has lines all across it with fuzzy picture and the color is off, to the AC unit destroying the siding of the building on our balcony, to the non-functioning rinse off stations off the beach. The rinse off station broke last year while we were here and it is still broke this time. This would contribute to the sand in the pool ruining the liner. I do plan on giving my same comments directly to the hotel but the elevators being pass inspection date needs to be brought to corporate's attention. With the Westin building a new hotel and Holiday Inn Resorts coming next year as well, Hampton Inn will now have competition. They did improve the outside dining/picnic area as well as they now have beach chairs that they provide for guest. However, if things don't change I will be looking for a new hotel next year.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Cherlyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Please rest assured that our elevators' inspection is indeed up to date.
We appreciate you calling it to our attention as we needed to have the elevator card updated too.
It is important to me that we maintain a fantastic hotel and value this guest insight so we can always improve. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is a very nice hotel in a great location. The pool, access to the beach, and staff were all outstanding. I was there on business but took my family with me. The kids really enjoyed the pool and beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel is one of if not the best Hampton Inn I have ever stayed in. Facilities well maintained, clean and fresh. Staff were all very nice and helpful. My only complaint is the internet is too slow to watch youtube or other streaming services.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

My stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites on Jekyll Island was wonderful. The room was spacious and the beds very comfortable also very clean! My niece and I stayed in room 420 with pool view. We had 2 Queen beds, a small fridge and microwave. There were a lot of people on our floor but you could not hear a thing while in your room. The bathroom was wide and plenty of hot water! Hair dryer and iron included. The staff were very pleasant. The free breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Eggs, sausage links, oatmeal, muffins of all kinds, waffles that you make fresh and hot yourself, and cereal. Free coffee, milk, hot chocolate, OJ and many other type juices. The pool area was beautiful with music playing on small speakers in the well manicured flower beds. The walkway to the beach is located right behind the pool area. It is covered by wonderful trees and opens out to dunes that have been well preserved. The beach was wonderful and wide and not crowded. We stayed July 9th thru the 12th 2014 ... so for the beach to be open was great! You can rent chairs and umbrellas for the beach from the hotel lobby. We also rented bikes from the hotel. The bikes are in good condition with wide seats for comfort. Plenty of bike paths around the island. The Summer Waves water park is right around the corner about 2 miles from the hotel and was super fun. The location of this hotel is close to all the activities on the island but feels like a hideaway. It is a beautiful place to stay on Jekyll Island. We enjoyed it very much and will return for more family getaways.

Room Tip: This hotel only has 4 floors - choose a room with pool view and balcony or enjoy tree views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReginaE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We appreciate your feedback of our hotel. It is truly a pleasure to learn about your stay with us and your satisfaction with our amenities and location. We do hope you return often to our hideaway with your family. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
1.1 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 8 in Jekyll Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#3 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Address: 200 S Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's tempting to spend your days at the Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island on the unspoiled beaches that line the perimeter of the tiny island paradise. However, don't miss out on learning more about the colorful story of the Jekyll Island Club on a guided tour of the history-rich mansion-size cottages that have drawn visitors to this locale for more than a century. Once a retreat for America's elite families, you can add your name to the likes of the Rockefellers, Carnegies and Morgans and join the friendly team at our hotel on Jekyll Island for a truly unique American experience. Don't forget your golf clubs. Jekyll Island isn't considered Georgia's premier golf destination for nothing. Pine Lakes Golf Course features "family-friendly" tee boxes for truly evenly-matched play. Indian Mound sprawls through some of the island's most scenic landscape and the local favorite, Oleander, follows Jekyll Island's inland lakes and pine forests, creating challenging holes and rewarding views. The history, the beaches, the golf - you'll find a golden getaway on Georgia's Golden Isle. Our hotel features Lobby Bar, Extended Pool Terrace with Kids Pool, Zero Entry Main Pool, and on deck fire pit; Bike Rentals are available on site. Take a 100yd stroll thru the Maritime Forrest and discover Jekyll Island's beautiful South Beach area. For weddings, reunions or family vacations, we have what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island Hotel Jekyll Island
Hampton Inn And Suites Jekyll Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing