We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here twice. Staff always friendly. Love that they have a bar. Pool area nice but closes too early, its a vacation for petes sake. Great breakfast, nice clean rooms. Will return for sure. If only they had room service..

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Brandee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,956)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,124 - 1,130 of 1,958 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

I have a concern that the Hampton Inn on Jekyll Island has 2 elevators that are currently 3 months past the inspection date. They do not sound good at all. We have stayed here every year for the past 4 years and the hotel is only 5 years old I believe. I am surprised to see how run down the hotel has become in only one year. From the pool liner needing to be replaced to the TVs in the room being brunt out,it has lines all across it with fuzzy picture and the color is off, to the AC unit destroying the siding of the building on our balcony, to the non-functioning rinse off stations off the beach. The rinse off station broke last year while we were here and it is still broke this time. This would contribute to the sand in the pool ruining the liner. I do plan on giving my same comments directly to the hotel but the elevators being pass inspection date needs to be brought to corporate's attention. With the Westin building a new hotel and Holiday Inn Resorts coming next year as well, Hampton Inn will now have competition. They did improve the outside dining/picnic area as well as they now have beach chairs that they provide for guest. However, if things don't change I will be looking for a new hotel next year.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank Cherlyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Please rest assured that our elevators' inspection is indeed up to date.
We appreciate you calling it to our attention as we needed to have the elevator card updated too.
It is important to me that we maintain a fantastic hotel and value this guest insight so we can always improve. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is a very nice hotel in a great location. The pool, access to the beach, and staff were all outstanding. I was there on business but took my family with me. The kids really enjoyed the pool and beach.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel is one of if not the best Hampton Inn I have ever stayed in. Facilities well maintained, clean and fresh. Staff were all very nice and helpful. My only complaint is the internet is too slow to watch youtube or other streaming services.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Warren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

My stay at the Hampton Inn & Suites on Jekyll Island was wonderful. The room was spacious and the beds very comfortable also very clean! My niece and I stayed in room 420 with pool view. We had 2 Queen beds, a small fridge and microwave. There were a lot of people on our floor but you could not hear a thing while in your room. The bathroom was wide and plenty of hot water! Hair dryer and iron included. The staff were very pleasant. The free breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Eggs, sausage links, oatmeal, muffins of all kinds, waffles that you make fresh and hot yourself, and cereal. Free coffee, milk, hot chocolate, OJ and many other type juices. The pool area was beautiful with music playing on small speakers in the well manicured flower beds. The walkway to the beach is located right behind the pool area. It is covered by wonderful trees and opens out to dunes that have been well preserved. The beach was wonderful and wide and not crowded. We stayed July 9th thru the 12th 2014 ... so for the beach to be open was great! You can rent chairs and umbrellas for the beach from the hotel lobby. We also rented bikes from the hotel. The bikes are in good condition with wide seats for comfort. Plenty of bike paths around the island. The Summer Waves water park is right around the corner about 2 miles from the hotel and was super fun. The location of this hotel is close to all the activities on the island but feels like a hideaway. It is a beautiful place to stay on Jekyll Island. We enjoyed it very much and will return for more family getaways.

Room Tip: This hotel only has 4 floors - choose a room with pool view and balcony or enjoy tree views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReginaE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

We appreciate your feedback of our hotel. It is truly a pleasure to learn about your stay with us and your satisfaction with our amenities and location. We do hope you return often to our hideaway with your family. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I have stayed here before for business & always look forward to coming back as it gives me the wonderful opportunity to feel like I'm vacationing instead of working. The rooms are spacious with high ceilings, clean and comfortable. The lobby is beautiful, more like a resort-look than your typical Hampton Inn. The pool area also looks like a small resort, with comfortable & plentiful seating around it. I especially like the pass through window to the bar area for convenience. There is also a beautiful, tree-covered deck area where I sat & read for over an hour. Too bad there wasn't a hammock or I could have just slept there!

This visit found me ordering dinner at the bar one evening and while service was slow and maybe a bit sloppy (well, I'm still thinking resort perhaps - for a HI it was fine), the hamburger was surprisingly very tasty.

Room Tip: Room 139, while convenient, offers a view of a privacy wall. At least you're not looking right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CSCMSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

My stay was wonderful. I plan on visiting again soon. The room was nice and clean and the staff was nice and friendly. Everything was great. I am going to try to visit again very soon and this is the location I plan to choose. My kids enjoyed the pool and the beach and so did my husband and myself.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Tammie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
0.9 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,237 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 9 in Jekyll Island
394 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island

Address: 200 S Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range: $149 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's tempting to spend your days at the Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island on the unspoiled beaches that line the perimeter of the tiny island paradise. However, don't miss out on learning more about the colorful story of the Jekyll Island Club on a guided tour of the history-rich mansion-size cottages that have drawn visitors to this locale for more than a century. Once a retreat for America's elite families, you can add your name to the likes of the Rockefellers, Carnegies and Morgans and join the friendly team at our hotel on Jekyll Island for a truly unique American experience. Don't forget your golf clubs. Jekyll Island isn't considered Georgia's premier golf destination for nothing. Pine Lakes Golf Course features "family-friendly" tee boxes for truly evenly-matched play. Indian Mound sprawls through some of the island's most scenic landscape and the local favorite, Oleander, follows Jekyll Island's inland lakes and pine forests, creating challenging holes and rewarding views. The history, the beaches, the golf - you'll find a golden getaway on Georgia's Golden Isle. Our hotel features Lobby Bar, Extended Pool Terrace with Kids Pool, Zero Entry Main Pool, and on deck fire pit; Bike Rentals are available on site. Take a 100yd stroll thru the Maritime Forrest and discover Jekyll Island's beautiful South Beach area. For weddings, reunions or family vacations, we have what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Jekyll Island
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island Hotel Jekyll Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing