We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Block” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Wedding Block”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I highly recommend the Hampton Inn to accommodate parties and wedding blocks. The event coordinator and staff is friendly and eager to help. We had our rehearsal dinner in the main lobby area, which has a full service bar and a great dining area. The event went flawless and was a hit with guests. Thank you to Mimi and the staff!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Johanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    425
    109
    50
    22
See reviews for
591
659
41
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Hampton it self was nice. We were on a bus trip and spent two nights at the Hampton. We only had a few hours of free time so decided to use the hotel's free shuttle to take us to Driftwood Beach. We were instructed by the front desk to just call when ready to return. After 4 phone calls and 1 hour and 22 minutes waiting roadside the shuttle finally came for us. Each time I called, the front desk advised he would be right there. I suppose my "right there" and their " right there" mean two different things. What is more upsetting is I wrote to the GM of the Hampton, Trevor Stratton, and have not even received a response from him. I tried to speak with him when we returned to the hotel but the best I could do was the Assistant GM Andrew Hobbs. This was not acceptable in my book to have your hotel guests standing roadside for 1 hour and 22 minutes. We would have had no problem calling a cab had they just told us but each time I called the desk the Front Desk Supervisor said he (the shuttle) would be right there. I guess shame on me for waiting that long. Be careful if you are going to use the "free" shuttle and allow plenty of extra time. I could only give an average rating because of this horrible experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Wilkesboro, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Great customer service, clean rooms and perfect setting with the boardwalk to the beach. Large breakfast variety with plenty of seating by the pool. Huge fire pit by the pool area and hot tub was very nice on a cool evening. We plan a return trip soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Booked this for Georgia Florida weekend which can be chaotic and too much. While there were lots of people for the game there were also others just on vacation. Beach access is close and wonderful. Loved the fireplace outside and the heated pool. Room was extremely clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrdavis10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
574 reviews
244 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 629 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We only spent one night on Jekyll Island and chose the Hampton Inn and Suites due to Tripadvisor reviews. It was a good choice. Check in was swift and the room was a good size with all the facilities expected of a Hampton Inn. The bed was comfortable, everything worked and I liked the fact that the bathroom fan was on a movement sensor and only came on when someone entered the bathroom. This meant we could leave the bathroom light on so as not to become disorientated in the night without the drone of a fan.
Breakfast was OK, I hate plastic plates and knives and forks and the hot food was tepid. The hard boiled eggs were fine as was the fruit and yogurt. This was probably the weakest aspect of the hotel. The bar was fine and reasonably priced.
Whereas the hotel does not have sea views it is a pleasant stroll over the walkway to a beautiful beach. We were fortunate that even in late October we could leave the balcony door open and hear the sound of the sea throughout the night.
The free shuttle bus (tip appreciated) was a great facility and was prompt in taking us to the Driftwood Bistro and collecting us at the end of the evening. The driver was friendly and efficient, we couldn't have asked for more.
Jekyll Island is absolutely beautiful and this hotel served us well, I would recommend it for a reasonably priced, comfortable stay and problem free.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is an extra-nice Hampton that's especially nice in chilly autumn because of its all-day free coffee/tea in the lobby, free breakfast (fresh fruit/yogurt for the dieters and eggs/meat/pastries for the rest of us!), fire pit, heated pool/hot tub, poolside towels, great bar and a very beautiful boardwalk through the live oaks to the beach. The only downside we found was that most of pool is very shallow, and the entire pool area has zero privacy. You are on full view to everyone if you are out there trying to relax and forget it all. And there's Muzak outdoors so you HAVE to listen to it. Other than that, it's a home run!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
302 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We came for a wedding, and stayed here. Hampton Inns are usually nice, but this one was extra nice. Very friendly staff, very attractive rooms, comfortable sleep. There's a very nice beach access, as well as a swimming pool. Coffee and tea are available all day, and there's a bar. The breakfast buffet is just so-so if you like to eat on the healthy side. If you like processed food and very salty eggs, you'll be fine. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you're in the area.

Room Tip: If you want more quiet, don't get a room that faces the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
1.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,047 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 8 in Jekyll Island
3.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Address: 200 S Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's tempting to spend your days at the Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island on the unspoiled beaches that line the perimeter of the tiny island paradise. However, don't miss out on learning more about the colorful story of the Jekyll Island Club on a guided tour of the history-rich mansion-size cottages that have drawn visitors to this locale for more than a century. Once a retreat for America's elite families, you can add your name to the likes of the Rockefellers, Carnegies and Morgans and join the friendly team at our hotel on Jekyll Island for a truly unique American experience. Don't forget your golf clubs. Jekyll Island isn't considered Georgia's premier golf destination for nothing. Pine Lakes Golf Course features "family-friendly" tee boxes for truly evenly-matched play. Indian Mound sprawls through some of the island's most scenic landscape and the local favorite, Oleander, follows Jekyll Island's inland lakes and pine forests, creating challenging holes and rewarding views. The history, the beaches, the golf - you'll find a golden getaway on Georgia's Golden Isle. Our hotel features Lobby Bar, Extended Pool Terrace with Kids Pool, Zero Entry Main Pool, and on deck fire pit; Bike Rentals are available on site. Take a 100yd stroll thru the Maritime Forrest and discover Jekyll Island's beautiful South Beach area. For weddings, reunions or family vacations, we have what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Jekyll Island
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island Hotel Jekyll Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing