We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One "Minor" Issue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One "Minor" Issue”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Have stayed at this jekyll Island hotel once before - no problems. But this time .... not so good.
Overall, it is well appointed , nicely situated on a very special barrier island. Although the weather was not kind to us, the worst part was the check in. I am a Hilton Honors member, with a profile that states "lowest floor possible" as my preference - first if possible . But here's how check in went in Feb. 13 ...
A. "Your room is not ready " - well we were 1.5 hrs early technically
B. "Oh .. your room IS ready - but 2nd floor" - Unfortunately after dragging the luggage up there
we keyed our way in to a room already occupied - they had just checked in
C. "Sorry about that - we now have another room for you - on the FOURTH FLOOR "
Long tiresome check in - rather unpleasant. I think we got some cookies for our trouble.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flynnie031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,135
    482
    133
    55
    32
See reviews for
656
763
46
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Loved it here- staff were friendly and know the area. Rooms were very clean, bedding above the norm, spacious room and manicured grounds. We had teens staying above us and it sounded like they were running laps above us but the noise would have been worse in other hotels. Will seek out other Hampton Inns for our future trips. Great place!

Room Tip: Room 146 is a corner room with a patio and woods view. Parking is just outside your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rmc055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at Hampton Inn for two nights while we scouted out new locations for our school trip. This is the best hotel on the island. The staff was very friendly, helpful and gracious! The hotel is new and extremely clean. Rooms are LARGE and the beds were WONDERFUL! Breakfast buffet has more than enough hot and cold choices. The pool and surrounding lounge area are extremely nice and good size. Firepit was a nice plus! The beach is just over the dunes and is breathtaking. Next door is an island park for picnics. We booked our group and expect a wonderful time. We will be coming back for sure!

Room Tip: We toured several rooms and they all looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrjohnmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The facility as a whole was a very pleasant experience. The manager made himself available to all guests in a warm and gracious way, all the time making sure his Inn was in top notch condition. Excellent staff, clean and QUIET rooms, and exceptional breakfast choices included. A definite Winner in our books!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NLontheocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 4 nights at this location and loved our stay. The hotel was very clean and the staff was extremely friendly. The hotel offers complementary breakfast that was better than other complementary breakfasts that I have had at other hotels in the past. There is a heated swimming pool, hot tub, and fitness center available for the visitors. There is a lighted boardwalk that leads from the pool area to the beach. Jekyll Island beach is beautiful and a definite must see. I would definitely look to stay here when visiting Jekyll Island again!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Location and staff were very cordial. Prices at the bar in the lobby were a little high. Nice walking deck to the ocean and a great view. The beds were horrible and need to be replaced. Had sway back the next morning. Also on waking up and taking a shower in the morning smelled cigarette smoke I presume coming from a smoking room. Pretty gross. Rooms were quiet even as the hotel was pretty much full.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sevenoverpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Hampton Inn staff was excellent and the hotel was very comfortable. The rooms facing the pool have balconies while the non-pool view rooms do not. The access to the beach is via a boardwalk which is delightful to watch some of the local birds and wildlife (if you are patient). Nice amenities in the room and my room with two doubles was very spacious. You get a minifridg and microwave. Nice TV too. The pool was heated and lots of people were in it even at night when it was cool. If you like quiet - this place is for you. I did not hear any noise in my room at all (except for the humming of the appliances). They have a full service bar but it closes very early. For the price, this is an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms that end in 13, 11,9, 7, as these overlook the roof of the lobby. I'd pay t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
0.9 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
1.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 9 in Jekyll Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Address: 200 S Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's tempting to spend your days at the Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island on the unspoiled beaches that line the perimeter of the tiny island paradise. However, don't miss out on learning more about the colorful story of the Jekyll Island Club on a guided tour of the history-rich mansion-size cottages that have drawn visitors to this locale for more than a century. Once a retreat for America's elite families, you can add your name to the likes of the Rockefellers, Carnegies and Morgans and join the friendly team at our hotel on Jekyll Island for a truly unique American experience. Don't forget your golf clubs. Jekyll Island isn't considered Georgia's premier golf destination for nothing. Pine Lakes Golf Course features "family-friendly" tee boxes for truly evenly-matched play. Indian Mound sprawls through some of the island's most scenic landscape and the local favorite, Oleander, follows Jekyll Island's inland lakes and pine forests, creating challenging holes and rewarding views. The history, the beaches, the golf - you'll find a golden getaway on Georgia's Golden Isle. Our hotel features Lobby Bar, Extended Pool Terrace with Kids Pool, Zero Entry Main Pool, and on deck fire pit; Bike Rentals are available on site. Take a 100yd stroll thru the Maritime Forrest and discover Jekyll Island's beautiful South Beach area. For weddings, reunions or family vacations, we have what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island Hotel Jekyll Island
Hampton Inn And Suites Jekyll Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing