We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“February Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“February Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The staff was very helpful with everything. The rooms were very clean. The lobby area was spacious and very nice and welcoming. The pool area was nice and clean and had a fire pit for the cool nights. You had access to the beach from the hotel with a winding deck path that made the walk alot easier. Overall experience was amazing and I will definitely visit here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,017
    436
    115
    52
    24
See reviews for
603
676
42
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Great location and short walk from the beach..The outdoor pool area and fire pit is nice but crowded at times..Small and teenage children running in the bar areas,pool and fire pit during the,"Happy Hour" and later after 9pm..Very noisy guests above..Loud music and TV volume.. When reported twice to the Front desk...It ceased about 15 min then even more volume...called again..quiet for a few minutes then stomping until Midnight..We just gave up and left for a night walk on the beach..This isn't the usual Hampton..More like Animal House Hampton...Don't waste your money on a deck..We overlooked the parking and sounds of car alarms beeping thru out the night...There is something that isn't listed...a Entrance Fee...Since the Hotel is in a GA State park there is a fee...Don't make a mistake and purchase more than a daily ticket unless you plan to leave the island during your stay..Overall this Hotel needs TLC....As a Hilton rewards member and experienced traveler this is a poor example of a Hampton Inn...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremy_Jill_USMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor S, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize for the noise issue encountered during your stay. Our guests’ comfort and safety is my number one concern. Your review will assist in correcting issues in the future and I do hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our property again. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here just before Christmas. Too cool to enjoy the beach but they have a great deck path out to the ocean. Too cool for the pool as well but it still looked inviting. They had a nice area next to the pool for relaxing and had a fire going. Beautiful location, friendly and helpful staff. One of the few Hamptons that has a bar - worked well for us. Once you're there, park your car and they will gladly shuttle you wherever you need to go on the island. Used it to go to dinner, which was a place they recommended. We'll definitely go back sometime.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Changelatitudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a spacious, clean, modern hotel that was pet friendly. it is a minute's walk over the dunes on a boardwalk to a gorgeous beach. There was a happy hour at the bar with nice snacks, a beautiful fire pit under the stars at night, friendly, competent staff. The room was spacious and pristine with a little ground floor balcony and in a perfect spot to unload luggage and walk the dog. The entire island is lovely and historic. Good breakfast too!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irisbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boylston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Very nice hotel with very clean rooms, thoughtful amenities, and great location. We stayed with a pet. Typically, pet-friendly rooms are under par. Ours was not. It was very clean, carpets and furnishings were in very good condition. Breakfast was ample with a nice selection of teas, coffee, and foods. There is a guest laundry (also very clean and secure), fitness room, outdoor pool, fire pit, walkway to beach, and outdoor shower.

Did I mention....the rooms are very quiet! There was live entertainment on our floor, but you could not hear it I'm out room! Zzzzzzzz.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, NC
Level Contributor
227 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I hesitate to post this review for selfish reasons ...not sure I want too many folks checking this place out. I was only there for about 12 hours due to a busy travel schedule for work but discovered I would like to come back with my wife. After a long drive I just wanted to take a glance at Jekyll and this was a bit of a detour off I95 but not bad.

I wish all beach development had left the dunes and the oaks like this area. Sure you lose the ocean view but they have a wonderful boardwalk. This is more of an adults place, not much happening for the kids which suits us empty nesters just fine.

Nice little bar open till 10pm which is unusual for a Hampton. Place is pretty new and in good shape.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ncsccrdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This hotel is new, clean, quiet, and well equipped with a fitness room that includes free weights. The rooms are large and many include a balcony, most of which overlook treed sand dunes. Even the parking lot is attractive here. It was truly a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SC2_roadmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
1.1 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 518 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
1.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
8.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
Hampton Inn St. Simons Island
#2 of 9 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 stars 486 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 8 in Jekyll Island
3.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Address: 200 S Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's tempting to spend your days at the Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island on the unspoiled beaches that line the perimeter of the tiny island paradise. However, don't miss out on learning more about the colorful story of the Jekyll Island Club on a guided tour of the history-rich mansion-size cottages that have drawn visitors to this locale for more than a century. Once a retreat for America's elite families, you can add your name to the likes of the Rockefellers, Carnegies and Morgans and join the friendly team at our hotel on Jekyll Island for a truly unique American experience. Don't forget your golf clubs. Jekyll Island isn't considered Georgia's premier golf destination for nothing. Pine Lakes Golf Course features "family-friendly" tee boxes for truly evenly-matched play. Indian Mound sprawls through some of the island's most scenic landscape and the local favorite, Oleander, follows Jekyll Island's inland lakes and pine forests, creating challenging holes and rewarding views. The history, the beaches, the golf - you'll find a golden getaway on Georgia's Golden Isle. Our hotel features Lobby Bar, Extended Pool Terrace with Kids Pool, Zero Entry Main Pool, and on deck fire pit; Bike Rentals are available on site. Take a 100yd stroll thru the Maritime Forrest and discover Jekyll Island's beautiful South Beach area. For weddings, reunions or family vacations, we have what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island Hotel Jekyll Island
Hampton Inn And Suites Jekyll Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing