We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new hotel on Jekyll Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Vidalia GA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great new hotel on Jekyll Island”
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I chose this hotel b/c it was pet friendly, which sometimes can mean less than lovely! But this new hotel was sparkling clean & fresh, with comfortable rooms; great lobby with bar, breakfast room & sitting area; attractive pool & woodsy landscaping & best of all, a boardwalk right onto the beach. I will go often - at least until Georgia manages to ruin this beautiful island with all the new development.

Room Tip: Rooms with little porches looking onto the woodsy area fronting the beach are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becksue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,168
    502
    142
    63
    41
See reviews for
691
786
48
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lodi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Came last yr was great food hot pool warm
This year pool cold not heated told they dont heat until Nov by one person then told a diff story by another.last yr food great &hot .this year food luke warm
.We come to Jekyll every year now r changimg hotels.The food and pool was a deal breaker for us

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chowchow4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I was curious to see how they would build this hotel on the beach, and they hit another home run with the pool and long boardwalk for beach access. I heard the staff say that they have a van that will take you anywhere on the island with a short advanced notice. The pool is nestled in the trees and laid out very well.

The breakfast area is one of the largest I've seen at a Hampton Inn. Plus they have a semi-full bar available with access to the pool and breakfast area. I don't know why they don't call this hotel a Hilton Garden Inn.

I think it's the only Hampton Inn in Georgia with direct beach access, so it's a great way to use your reward points for a family vacation.

Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights. The hotel is in a great location close to the beach and away from the new construction. It's adjacent to the bike path that goes through the "maritime" forest. The hotel grounds are very nice, well kept, clean, with spanish moss covered live oaks and other wonderful landscaping. The hotel interior was equally as nice and well kept as the grounds. The staff was very PROFESSIONAL, helpful, and friendly. The housecleaning staff did a great job. It was very apparent that this is a very well managed hotel. My wife and I felt at home and were confident that anything we needed would be taken care of. Our room was larger than average with a couch and coffee table, small fridge and microwave, had a balcony with chairs and small table, it overlooked the pool. A/C worked great and was quiet. We loved walking on the "boardwalk" to the ocean. It starts at the pool area, goes through live oaks, a short area of sand dunes, and then you arrive at the beach. At night the boardwalk has dim lighting. It was wonderful walking on the beach at night. We felt very safe at this hotel and on Jekyll. There's coffee available 24/7...regular, robust, and decaf... hot water and tea bags too. VERY GOOD COFFEE! Sometimes they put out really good cookies next to the coffee. Very nice hot breakfast; eggs, sausage, fruit, juice, danish, waffles, oatmeal, and more. We really liked the mixed tropical fruit, that had papaya, guava, mango, pineapple, etc...The breakfast attendant was awesome, she was very attentive. We don't usually spend time at a hotel other than sleeping, but the Hampton was conducive to to us spending time by the pool, the jacuzzi, on the balcony, and even in the lounge/breakfast area. We had a WONDERFUL experience at this hotel.

Room Tip: 4th floor east side rooms for sunrise view and ocean breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Although the facility was quite nice, our room stunk!! I consider a clean-smelling room to be a basic expectation especially in a hotel which allows pets. I expected such hotels would go to every extreme to minimize pet odor in the rooms. I do not have pets and, although I knew this location on Jekyll Island allows them, the odor was very offensive. If pets are allowed, they should be boarded in outdoor kennels, or at the very least, confined to only one floor of the hotel. Everything else was very nice, but I could not stay here again due to the smell of our room. How could a housekeeper possibly clean urine out of carpet when she doesn't even know where it is? The idea of a pet hotel is very off-putting to me now.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DBB30375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed here for one night, expecting a nice oceanfront hotel with a view and a nice beach. It is not at all like that. The hotel has no ocean view as there is a large wooded barrier between the hotel and the beach. The beach was not one that you would sit on and the water was black and muddy with little waves. We spent all our time at the pool looking at the woods along with just about all the other guests. There was no "beach" atmosphere at all. The hotel is very nice and clean. The rooms are big and comfy. We were just so shocked at the lack of beauty in the area. We did enjoy going over to the bay side of the island and having a nice dinner there. You need to take your car or bike to go anywhere on the island. It is probably a good vacation spot for nature lovers and bicycle riders, but not for beachside relaxation!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longislandbeachgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Had came to Jekyll Island for a girls getaway. Had stayed at the Hampton Inn and it was a great hotel. The rooms were so big plenty of room. The hotels ammenities were great they had a pool and hot tub, plus a bar. The staff was great especailly Tony he had taken us to some resturants in the van. Vance also the bartender was great too he helped us out when we didnt get to the resturant in time to eat so we gave him a call and he had prepared us girls some chicken fingers and hot dogs even tho it was past his food hours. Vance was our savior! We all can not wait to go back and stay at the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cateyes235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
0.9 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,218 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 9 in Jekyll Island
391 reviews
10.1 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simons Island
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Simon...
#1 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Address: 200 S Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's tempting to spend your days at the Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island on the unspoiled beaches that line the perimeter of the tiny island paradise. However, don't miss out on learning more about the colorful story of the Jekyll Island Club on a guided tour of the history-rich mansion-size cottages that have drawn visitors to this locale for more than a century. Once a retreat for America's elite families, you can add your name to the likes of the Rockefellers, Carnegies and Morgans and join the friendly team at our hotel on Jekyll Island for a truly unique American experience. Don't forget your golf clubs. Jekyll Island isn't considered Georgia's premier golf destination for nothing. Pine Lakes Golf Course features "family-friendly" tee boxes for truly evenly-matched play. Indian Mound sprawls through some of the island's most scenic landscape and the local favorite, Oleander, follows Jekyll Island's inland lakes and pine forests, creating challenging holes and rewarding views. The history, the beaches, the golf - you'll find a golden getaway on Georgia's Golden Isle. Our hotel features Lobby Bar, Extended Pool Terrace with Kids Pool, Zero Entry Main Pool, and on deck fire pit; Bike Rentals are available on site. Take a 100yd stroll thru the Maritime Forrest and discover Jekyll Island's beautiful South Beach area. For weddings, reunions or family vacations, we have what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island Hotel Jekyll Island
Hampton Inn And Suites Jekyll Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing