We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first night on island”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Driftwood Bistro

Driftwood Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casual theme low country cuisine specializing in fresh vegetables and unique entree items featuring Wild Georgia Shrimp, Stuffed Collard Greens, Signature Pastas and Shrimp Creole. Traditional favorites like Yankee Pot Roast, Shrimp and Grits, Stuffed Baked Flounder, Fried Grilled or Blackened Wild Georgia Shrimp (did I mention that we serve Wild Gorgia Shrimp). Unique sandwiches like our Veggie Wrap and Cracker Cuban as well as burgers and salads. Full service bar specializing in frozen specialty drinks from Top Shelf Margaritas,Peach Daiquiris and Rum Bar Smashes.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“first night on island”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Four people 3 had shrimp and grits was very good.we all had squash casserole and loved it. The price is very good and they offer full size and petite meals.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank b p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,024
    425
    139
    37
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Good food. Like most places on the island there was a wait, not very long though. The food was very good as was the service.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank toledotravlncpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville and Naples
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Prompt Service With Petite Plate Option”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a very enjoyable dinner at this bistro. Petite plate size option was just right for us. I had shrimp and grits. I don't care for grits, but these were very smooth and in an excellent cheese, mushroom, and bacon sauce. For a petite plate, there were ample shrimp. My wife had stuffed flounder with the cauliflower casserole and the sweet potato soufflé -- excellent. The peach cobbler was ok; could have had more peaches. Wine prices are reasonable, but a limited selection of good (not great) wines.

Helpful?
Thank JandP69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Gluten free, vegan, vegetarian or all others?”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Every year that we come to Jekyll, we eat here. The food is amazing for all entrees and sides that we have had. This year they even did more. They have labeled their entire menu for those of us with dietary restrictions. No more guessing! In addition, if you choose an item that isn't gluten free or whatever, they can often adjust it accordingly. I am not from the south, but oh their shrimp and grits are amazing! My husband had the pork tenderloin which was tender, juicy and flavorful.

The waitstaff is extremely knowledgeable and helpful. The food has always been delivered to us very quickly. As someone else mentioned, the $10 bottle of wine is also a draw. We have 4 more weeks on the island, and we plan to go back several times. It's the best value on the island!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isi66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville, sc
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Ate a late lunch while day tripping on Jekyll. Service was somewhat spotty. Took an inordinately long time for the food (burger for me, chicken sandwich for my wife) to arrive, but when it did, it was hot, fresh, and flavorful. If you're looking for a "quick bite", not the place; but if you have the time, not a bad choice

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deepfreud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driftwood Bistro also viewed

Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Driftwood Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing