We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst eating on the island”
Review of Driftwood Bistro

Driftwood Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Casual theme low country cuisine specializing in fresh vegetables and unique entree items featuring Wild Georgia Shrimp, Stuffed Collard Greens, Signature Pastas and Shrimp Creole. Traditional favorites like Yankee Pot Roast, Shrimp and Grits, Stuffed Baked Flounder, Fried Grilled or Blackened Wild Georgia Shrimp (did I mention that we serve Wild Gorgia Shrimp). Unique sandwiches like our Veggie Wrap and Cracker Cuban as well as burgers and salads. Full service bar specializing in frozen specialty drinks from Top Shelf Margaritas,Peach Daiquiris and Rum Bar Smashes.
Sonora, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worst eating on the island”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

I had stuffed flounder and the wife had stuffed crab cakes. Not very good. The sauce on my flounder was aunt penny's white sauce. The cheese on my broccoli was cheese wiz. Folks,do yourselves a favor and pass this place up. Have to go and eat a Pepcid,maybe two pepcids. Good luck.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,093
    439
    146
    40
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
georgia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Southern cooking”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Good food at a fair price. It is located on the property of Villas by the Sea. It is on the North end of the Island.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mmhcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelers Rest, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great value for distinctive food”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had gourmet food at a reasonable price. The service was courteous but not very rapid. Fortunately we were not in a hurry. The stuffed flounder was exceptional.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank veryoldtimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Crowded, poor service”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

This is usually an excellent restaurant, but we were disappointed on our latest visit. Very crowded, so 1/2 hour wait for a table. We ordered right away, but the main course didn't arrive for an hour. Some other customers sat 15 minutes after us, but they were eating well before us. Don't know what went wrong ... The food was very good, though.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JerseyFour08053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
472 reviews
382 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Even Without the Wine Deal”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We arrived at Driftwood just in the nick of time, the waiting area being mobbed not fifteen minutes later. And we got a nice table by a window, too, thanks to the very welcoming and efficient hostess and wait staff. Needing a drink after a day of travel, I was going to order a glass of chardonnay, but quickly learned that instead of one glass (of Clos du Bois) for $6.50, I could get a whole bottle for $10.00 and take what was left, if any, home wrapped up in bag. Thank you very much. I did. To accompany the wine, I had the shrimp and grits, shrimp blackened, with collards, a good Southern tradition. My friend had a blackened shrimp salad. Both dishes were just fine and dandy, particularly since wild Georgia shrimp are pretty much the best that there are. So, the atmosphere was just fine, the service was great and the food was very good. Except maybe for the high priced restaurants at the Club, maybe, Driftwood is arguably the place to go when visiting Jekyll. I'd go back in a minute.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driftwood Bistro also viewed

Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Driftwood Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing