We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Embarrassed by Days Inn employee” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Embarrassed by Days Inn employee”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Days Inn over the Labor Day weekend. We had previously stayed here and loved it but were a little more disillusioned this trip. While the room was sufficient and clean, the prices were reasonable and it is on the beach, the attitudes of the employees are hit and miss. The last time we visited the staff was very friendly and helpful. This time, the front desk staff was ok but not friendly and the man who takes care of the "free breakfast" stocking was extremely rude. It was our anniversary this weekend and my husband wanted to do a little extra and bring my breakfast to me in bed. Mind you we were only having a small cereal each, a container of yogurt each, 1 milk to share and coffee. The "breakfast caretaker" rudely and loudly confronted my husband and said that he could not take food out of the dining area, which by the way was full with no empty seats. Now the signs that request you not take food out of this area were posted very inconspicuously on a small appx 4x6 sign on a door that we did not go through. It was not posted in a manner which would allow anyone to see it. In any case, my husband was so embarrassed that we spent most of the remainder of that day in our room watching tv because he didn't want to see the people who were in the breakfast area at the time he was yelled at. Needless to say our trip had somewhat of a damper due to this and I'm not sure if we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Older "motel style" with exterior entry rooms, 2 floors front rooms face parking lot, back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2travelforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    769
    309
    90
    69
See reviews for
788
681
84
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Colborne, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the Jekyll Island Days Inn & Suites in mid-late August. It's ideally situated, right on the beach, with easy access just across a small walkway from their property to a beach that (during the week at least, after school begins in Georgia) is very uncrowded. The room we had was large and spacious, with both a sleeping area and a living area connected by a kitchen and very large bathroom. We had a balcony overlooking the ocean. The air conditioner was a little bit loud, but aside from that there was nothing to complain about with the room. Parking was convenient. My biggest complaint was over internet access. They offer free wifi, but the catch is that the wifi is very intermittent. Sometimes you can connect; sometimes you can't. Not a big deal during the day when you're out and about, but I tend to be an early riser (always before my wife and daughter) and one way to pass the morning is on the internet. Here, that only happens if you're lucky enough to get a connection. The front desk told me that they're looking into getting a new ISP. They do have internet access in the lobby area (and the wifi works fine there!) There's a pretty standard complimentary continental breakfast in a large dining room. The best part of this place is its affordability. Definitely a place to go back to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was a great place to stay! We were very close to the beach and our room was clean and well taken care of. I was severely sunburned the day we got there and the front desk staff gave me litocain spray at no charge! The breakfast was great, there is lots of choices. Bike rentals on site at only $5! close to everything on the island! everyone at this hotel will go out of their way to make your stay a good one!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level Contributor
213 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

The waves were few and the water not as clear as my Carolina coast; however, this Georgia island is one full of nature, parks and friendly people. We visited for a beach music festival and enjoyed our stay more than we could have hoped. I found my first live sand dollar in the ocean and put her back in. It was a lovely trip and we hope to visit next year.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the ocean are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We just stayed here for the Beach Music Festival. We booked oceanside doubles with 2 per room and had plenty of room. Room had a microwave, coffee pot and fridge. If you want more space for socializing, eating in, etc - they have suites also. Friends booked one of those - there is a living area that looks over the ocean and the bedroom is behind that, on the parking lot side. Advantage - you can exit or enter from either side. Rooms were clean. If you want to true ocean view, you need to request the second floor. 2 nice pools, a hot tub also in the pool area. Continental breakfast is not bad - make your own waffles, grits and oatmeal are the only hot foods. No restaurant on site but there are several nearby.
Fast check in - friendly staff.

Room Tip: book second floor for better beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here for the Beach Music Festival. Convenient location adjacent to all the activities at the convention center, which we walked to. The room and the grounds were very clean and kept up nicely. We stayed in a newly renovated room with new carpet, paint, new mattress. We were very impressed. Good continental breakfast in a location overlooking the beach. We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redneck1Valdosta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIO
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Great hotel! Family friendly, great sized rooms, nice breakfast, clean! Staff was very helpful to get our family close together. (we had enough people for 3 rooms) We arrived early knowing that our room was probably not ready, but we could swim or do what we wanted on the grounds. When we come back to Jekyll Island I will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BCHOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
0.4 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 8 in Jekyll Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
6.5 mi away
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthouse
Saint Simons Inn by the Lighthou...
#5 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island

Property: Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Address: 60 S Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0905 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites Oceanside Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Beach location, Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast included, Two brand new pools (one heated in winter), Hot Tub, Kiddy Pool, Bike Rentals on property. All rooms offer micro fridge, coffee maker, hair dryer, iron & ironing board. Oceanfront one bedroom suites offer full kitchen to include small refrigerator, microwave, two burner stove, pots & pans, dishes, separate living room area with queen sofa sleeper, two TVs, patio or private balcony depending on floor. Recent upgrades include: All rooms offer Pillow Top mattress, 32" LCD flat screen televisions, new Snack Shack located at front desk in lobby offering 24 hour service of snacks, candy drinks including beer & wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites Oceanside Hotel
Days Inn Hotel Oceanside
Days Inn Jekyll Island
Jekyll Island Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing