We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2006

My husband brought me here for my Birthday weekend. It was a surprise, and boy what a surprise. The Villas by the Sea is an absolutely georgous place. The oceanview from our Villa was magnificent with a beautiful morning sunrise. The grounds are well maintained and very tropical. The staff was very warm and friendly. Our villa was very romantic and cozy. We will be back for many years to come. Love it!!!!!

Stayed: February 2006
11  Thank 151GMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
There are newer reviews for Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 610 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2006

I was at the Villas by the sea for a conference and was amazed at how different and great the hotel was compared to others. Just by driving past other island hotels to get to the Villas, I could tell a difference. I hope that the conference I attended will be conducted at the Villas on Jekyll Island next year which I am sure it will be. GREAT, GREAT, GREAT!!!

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank beach31525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2006

nice place but there is a reason it's only $100 a night. the beach wasn't there at all just a seawall but the condos were okay but were beginning to show some age. i don't think i'd go back.

  • Stayed: April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bbqman3341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2006

We are a middle aged couple from Ohio who must have two bedrooms when we travel. The Villas By The Sea is perfect! The bedrooms are wonderful and the commen areas are spacious and nicely decorated. The beach is right outside your door. We have stayed at this property several times and will continue to do so, every chance we get!

10  Thank exploringgeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2005

We were disappointed with our unit at Villas. We had a one bedroom unit that was a small bedroom and a kitchen with a sofa in it, no living room. Very poor layout and uncomfortable. I would have preferred a regular hotel room to this. The furnishing were very tired. In fact everything in the unit was tired (towels, bed, bath, etc.) Perhaps the larger units are better. The villas is very secluded and we were into visiting the sites so I would have rather stayed in a more central location. Also Jekyll Island seemed to have more bugs than other neighboring towns. There are plenty of inexpensive places to stay in Brunswick and St. Simons and you don't have to pay the $3 fee everytime to come onto the island.

Stayed: November 2005
4  Thank verypickee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2005

The privately owned condo where we stayed was clean, bright, modesty furnished, and loaded with TVs, which we had no use for. On Jekyll Island--like but completely unlike--Manhatten, it is the serene, alluring outside that calls. This lush, wonderfully landscaped resort has a peek-a-boo beach that exists only when the tide falls. But, boy, when it does: A few steps away to the north is a desolate beach strewn with huge sprawling hardwoods, shorn of their skins. The effect of this vast & varied collection of driftwood is amazing, and everchanging, as the light of the day shifts, particularly when you have the beach all to yourself. We walked it in early October, several times, and only encountered a handful of people.

10  Thank entruster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2005

What a wonderful place to stay, friendly staff, and grat rates dor what we got. The units are beautifully furnished. We'll be back again!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank iono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jekyll Island hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
3.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
740 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,225 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 9 in Jekyll Island
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Address: 1175 N Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range: $115 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas by the Sea Resort is an enchanting oceanside resort and conference center on Jekyll Island, Georgia. AAA 3 Diamond Rating. Choose from one of our 160 spacious one, two, or three bedroom villas whch are individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas By The Sea Hotel Jekyll Island
Villas By The Sea Resort And Conference Center
Hotel By The Sea
Resort By The Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing