We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Conyers, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We have stayed at the Villas now twice. We have been more than happy each time. This last time we stayed over Thanksgiving and had the whole family with us. Daughter with her husband and 2 year old, Army Son and wife and 2 year old who were home first time in 4 years, and other son, and of course wife and small dog. The staff was great. The beach access is wonderful as they provide a boardwalk when the tide is in and a area behind the rocks for walks. We will stay there in the future as we go to Jekyll 2 or 3 times a year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WMW56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    172
    65
    53
    51
See reviews for
194
198
12
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had our wedding on Driftwood Beach (the package provided by Villas by the Sea) and it worked out beautifully. I was a little concerned when I brought some of my own decorations, but Tammy handled it like a pro. When my friend sent a picture of the setup for my approval, I didn't have to make any changes. We also wanted to do a few non-traditional things and our preacher, Carla, was very accomodating. She even joined us at the end of the ceremony when we danced away. It was truly an amazing wedding! No complaints at all.

As for the room, it was great, the view was amazing, and the rose petals with champagne & candles was a nice bonus after we returned from our reception. Yes, as many have mentioned, the units are individually owned so all the rooms look a little different. We went into most rooms of those attending our wedding and they were all nice. Some a little older than others, but none were to the extent that I wouldn't stay here again. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Brooke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your special day with us. We look forward to seeing you both again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My Husband and I wanted a small and private wedding. (elopement Style) So we decided to go to the beach and have a destination wedding. Tammy Young at Villa by the seas made this the easiest and the best decision we could have ever made. From the moment we contacted her she was helpful and accomodating and made the process simple. Upon arrival the lady at the front desk was cheerful and extremely helpful (i am sad I forgot her name). We stayed 2 nights and had a wonderful oceanside villa that was right next to the lighted pier. That made for a romantic evening listening to the ocean. The Villa was very nicely appointed and updated with a full kitchen and our Villa had two bathrooms and bedrooms. The cleaning staff was wonderful and everything was always cleaned perfectly.
The Driftwood Bistro was a wonderful restaurant with great food. It made for a very nice relaxing evening. It was nice to not have to walk far from the restaurant to our Villa.
We are already wanting to set up our one year anniversary to be able to go back. We will definitely return to the villas.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean side are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Courtney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My husband and I actually eloped over the weekend and I must say, I was VERY concerned and stressed out after having read some of the reviews over the past few months, but it was the complete opposite for my experience. The one bedroom villa was very nice with updated decor. There were no bed bugs or roach infestation. I had a total of 3 bug encounters by our sliding glass door (we were on the first floor so it comes with the territory). We had a GORGEOUS view from the ocean. There was no black mold or cracked ceilings. The bedroom door had trouble closing because the hinge was slightly off, but all it took was a slight push. I'm so glad that we ended up using this facility because all of the staff was absolutely wonderful and so accommodating. Our wedding was absolutely beautiful and Tammy Young, the wedding coordinator, was so helpful with everything. We will definitely go back! It couldn't have been more perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed on the south end of the hotel. As you get further towards the north side the treeline and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My son got married on the beach at the villas. Beautiful beach setting for a wedding. We all stayed here too since it was a destination wedding. A cool place very quiet with beautiful views off our balcony. Our room although was clean, was old. Apparently all the villas are privately owned and managed by the hotel. My sons villa was updated and nice. Of all the rooms I saw ours was the most tired. You can rent 1,2 or 3 bedroom units. All are complete with kitchens. Also be aware that beach front means you face the beach but trees occlude most of the view. As far as the wedding went it was ok. The wait staff not so good. Weather played a factor as it can when you are outside, but the staff had no clue what to do when it rained.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen56_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here with friends for 3 nights in off season October so very quiet.Although we booked oceanside villas beware most are behind dunes and trees so you will not see the ocean or beach.Villas are well equipped and spacious although our dishwasher failed to work.Engineer appeared after requests but 'had to get part' and was not fixed.Bed was not comfortable with loose headboard.Beach was wild and scenic but with high tides not really one for lying on including no shade etc.Pool was fine but shaded by buildings,trees.Reception OK but slow at times despite lack of people.Hired bikes from there and had great cycling round the Island,flat but interesting and some good trails to go along.On site Bistro was nice but not fine dining.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ianmcllondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The unit we had was owned by an individual so the decor was selected by her. Interesting with her collection of beach like possessions. The woods around the place abound with squirrels and birds - a very natural setting. We could walk to the beach from our unit. Check in was a breeze. We should have eaten at the restaurant - called The Driftwood as we heard from someone else that the food was very good and reasonable. If you plan to go to the Villas - be sure to check it out. We had not brought food for breakfast with us so couldn't use the kitchen which was quite well equipped - had breakfast (which was good) at the golf course.
A lovely natural place to relax. It is an older property but our unit had been renovated quite nicely. Quite a different experience than staying in your normal motel...We would definitely go back there if the chance arose.
There was a playground for the kids, by the way. Lots of families were staying there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaplesSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jekyll Island hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
3.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,189 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#4 of 9 in Jekyll Island
681 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 9 in Jekyll Island
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Property: Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
Address: 1175 N Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas by the Sea Resort is an enchanting oceanside resort and conference center on Jekyll Island, Georgia. AAA 3 Diamond Rating. Choose from one of our 160 spacious one, two, or three bedroom villas whch are individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas By The Sea Hotel Jekyll Island
Villas By The Sea Resort And Conference Center
Hotel By The Sea
Resort By The Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing