We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The only place we ever stay on Jekyll Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The only place we ever stay on Jekyll Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We first found this property because they are pet friendly and we could stay with our two dogs. That was 10 years ago and we have been returning annually ever since, now with our 4 year old daughter. She loves the kiddie pool, but also the big pool. Staff is attentive and our villa is always clean and prepared. We always stay in at least a two bedroom and they come with a kitchen and living room. A great family atmosphere. They had two weddings going on during our stay. A good value.

Room Tip: rooms on farthest south unit have ground floor ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shenanigans67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We are very thankful that you stay with us every time you visit Jekyll Island. We appreciate your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    148
    58
    47
    51
See reviews for
173
167
9
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband & I just decided to stop and see the area on our long drive back home. We stopped at the visitor center where we found a brochure for Villa. The receptionist at check-in was very helpful with island info since we just had a few hours to visit. We stayed in the second floor mini villa which was just perfect for us. It was cooler weather but the pool/grilling area was very pretty and would love to come back in the summer with the grandkids!

Room Tip: Mini villas have small frig and 2 burner stove but was fine for 2-4 people. Kitchen was equipped wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HLJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We are so glad you choose to stay the night with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
429 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

If you want to be near Driftwood Beach on Jekyll Island then this is the only place to stay. We could get out of bed and be there in five minutes for sunrise.
Overall the accommodation was clean and comfortable. We had to wait 15 minutes to check in as the receptionist was dealing with another customer and both her and the customer were oblivious to the waiting people. A little acknowledgement would have gone a long way.
We were disappointed that the room had no view so be aware that ocean side means its on the side of the ocean but your view will almost certainly be hidden by trees.
Great location and would stay there again if we ever go back to the area.

Room Tip: Its a long way from one side of the complex to the other. You might want to call when you book and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NaturesMoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited the villas and conference center for the annual southern states police benevolent association executive session. The conference center and property us wonderful and met all our personal and professional needs. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again for either business or pleasure. I'm happy the SSPBA chose this venue to host the conference and accommodations. I'm looking forward to my next visit.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DADSBUCKSHOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
234 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This place was great! Nice, clean one bedroom unit with a full kitchen. We were able to have breakfast in the morning before going out, have cocktails before we went to dinner, etc. Nice balance of home and vacation. The boardwalk was incredible this evening with the fall breeze blowing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlynnCountian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed there September 2013 in Villa 279. It was an awesome 3 bedroom condo on the ocean side. We had an awesome view. The staff there was awesome! The place was well kept. You have to wait until the afternoon for the beach because of high tide. Other than that I totally recommend it. Our beds was the most comfortable ever. Great playground for kids. Great swimming pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank janettread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review us. Thanks for staying with us and please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful resort and staff - their signature 1 BR suite is fabulous. It's an older resort, but each room is uniquely designed. I was with a group of 30. We had a great time with lots of dancing & celebration. My only regret was the short stay thanks Renee & Jennifer

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacque S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review us. We are so happy you had a great time. Our one bedroom villas are nice, we are glad you enjoyed. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
2.9 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
3.4 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 8 in Jekyll Island
3.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Property: Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
Address: 1175 North Beachview Drive, Jekyll Island, GA 31527
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas by the Sea Resort is an enchanting oceanside resort and conference center on Jekyll Island, Georgia. AAA 3 Diamond Rating. Choose from one of our 160 spacious one, two, or three bedroom villas whch are individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas By The Sea Resort And Conference Center
Villas By The Sea Hotel Jekyll Island
Hotel By The Sea
Resort By The Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing