We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jacque - Coming Back Soon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Jacque - Coming Back Soon”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful resort and staff - their signature 1 BR suite is fabulous. It's an older resort, but each room is uniquely designed. I was with a group of 30. We had a great time with lots of dancing & celebration. My only regret was the short stay thanks Renee & Jennifer

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacque S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review us. We are so happy you had a great time. Our one bedroom villas are nice, we are glad you enjoyed. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    174
    66
    56
    52
See reviews for
199
200
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I rented an ocean view suite and although rather old and worn it was clean and bright with a great view of the sunrise every morning. Be prepared to only be able to walk on the beach at low tide. We rode our bikes all over the island and saw tons of wildlife. Driftwood Beach was gorgeous and unusual. However......the restaurant on the property was horrible. Good service but the food was way below average. The people working the desk were not knowledgeable and rather indifferent about assisting you. Finding a breakfast place was challenging. The weirdest thing about the trip was the lack of people and how all the housing outside the historic village looks like it was built in 1963 or so. The only grocery on the island was in a trailer. The restaurant at the marina by the village was excellent - great menu and the quality of food and service was superb. We were surprised and heartened by this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fellowtraveler065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I phoned and was pricing rooms.The reservation process was an issue I was mispriced when I called back. I was between here and the Oceanside with a 20 room difference. I picked up a pamphlet from the rest area so went with the villas. SO wish I'd went with the Oceaside! I called back booked the room and repeated several times I want an OCEAN VIEW! Well to them ocean view means a back yard area with access to the river. The oceanside had a ocean view! Oceanside has been bought by Hilton and is extensively being remodeled reopening in 2014. The villas is various condos it was clean the bed was good, but no ocean view, outdated decorating. They tried updating by adding a glass tile backsplash in the kitchen area. BUT Villa 203 needs help!! The shower head is an aerator type. The Quality Inn was across the street from the beach and Oceanside and looked very clean! I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leisaowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us and writing a review. We apologize that we did not explain your room type in more detail. Our one bedroom ocean-side rooms do not have a view of the ocean. We have trees between our resort and the ocean. We would have gladly found you other accommodations had we known of your dissatisfaction. Please consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Reservations was a bit of drama but after speaking with three people we where all on the same page and our room was exactly what we asked for.
Yes the rooms are outdated. Yes we saw one bug (but it was dead so not an issue for me). However, our room had everything we needed (even things we forgot to consider like pot holders, coffee, ice cream scoop) but each one could be owned by someone different. I didn't see another room so I ant attest to them.

The location isn't exactly on the beach if you are looking to go layout or have a day in the ocean for the family. It is though adjacent to driftwood beach which was the highlight of the island for me personally.

If you want a day at the beach, go somewhere else. And by that I mean Florida. Here the water is gross, we saw 3-4 ft sharks in water that didn't even come up to our knees (and I'm short!) but the worst part is the sand fleas! I have 13 bites just on one arm, after that I didn't bother to count the rest of my body.

Biking the island is cool, but rent from the mini golf place (it's cheaper).

We were in an end unit and never heard our neighbors. That was a plus.

The pool is tiny an well shaded. For a family, it's great.

Overall, if I went back to the island I would stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time to stay at Villas by the Sea. It was very enjoyable and the staff were friendly and accommodating. When we initially went into our condo unit we realized there was only a shower in this particular one. The front desk was very helpful in arranging to give us another unit that had a tub rather than just the shower. Each unit is different so what one has the other may not have which is something to be aware of if there is anything of concern for your accommodations. The pool was very nice though doesn't open until 10:00 am. There were a few days we wished it opened a bit earlier. The unit itself was nice and comfortable. I would recommend staying here and look forward to my next stay. It is right next to the beach and pier. Some closer than others depending on the unit you have but none of them are too far. Overall ery enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travels2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a conference there and it was great - my room was neat and clean. They accommodated the needs of 250 people. I did go a couple of days before the conference and enjoyed the area. Went to the public beach and it was clean and quiet (but it was a weekday and kids have started back to school). Would definitely go back when I can.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little town GA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I thought the villas were cozy, a little dated, but for the value...they were just perfect. Had playgrounds, friendly squirrels, pool--everything we needed to stay occupied. As the hotel states, at high tide you have no beach area. They were upfront about this. It was slightly disappointing to have only 4 hours of beach time. We rented bikes and went to public beach access for an all-day beach visit. Driftwood Beach is fun to visit, but bring your mosquito spray. We had a great time!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlcupp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jekyll Island hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
3.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 9 in Jekyll Island
723 reviews
2.8 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Resort
Jekyll Island Club Resort
#1 of 9 in Jekyll Island
1,218 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 9 in Jekyll Island
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Property: Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
Address: 1175 N Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas by the Sea Resort is an enchanting oceanside resort and conference center on Jekyll Island, Georgia. AAA 3 Diamond Rating. Choose from one of our 160 spacious one, two, or three bedroom villas whch are individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas By The Sea Hotel Jekyll Island
Villas By The Sea Resort And Conference Center
Hotel By The Sea
Resort By The Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing