We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what was expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Augusta,Ga
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not what was expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed as a living social for Easter weekend . Tried to book 30 days earlier but no availability and coupon would expire if not used that weekend. Would not be flexible. Coupon stated a queen bed and received a full bed. The room the bed was in was just a little larger than the bed. Room was clean . Driftwood Bistro restaurant served very good meals. Would probably stay at the Club hotel on our next visit not a the Villa

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donmc56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed our onsite restaurant the Driftwood Bistro. The LivingSocial online promotion did have a time frame requirement of 3 months to use, ending on March 31, 2013. The beds are queen beds, not full size beds. I apologize if it appeared that way. The Mini Villa you booked had two rooms. One is the bedroom and the other is the kitchenette/sitting room. This room type is 480 sq ft so the individual rooms in the suite are not enormous. I’m sorry that we did not convey this better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    162
    63
    49
    51
See reviews for
184
190
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Jekyll has few options, and for Jekyll this place is fine. It's tough for me to separate the hotel from the island. The island is frankly boring except for the golf. I hadn't been here in 20 years and expected it to be more developed even with their historical limitation requirements.

As for the hotel, the villa layouts are pretty good. The service is decent. Too cold for the pool but it looked fine. My kids enjoyed the basketball goal in the parking lot. They need to update some stuff - the kitchenettes are totally outdated; a plastic bag with old towels was left in the walkway of our neighboring unit for the entire time we were there.

All in all it was fine, but there just isn't anything special about the hotel that makes me give it more than 3 stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beach G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had a wonderful "snowbird" stay at the Villas by the Sea condos in Feb/March 2013.with 6 weeks in comfortable "home-from-home" surroundings. From the moment we arrived when we were greeted by name with a friendly "welcome back", the frontdesk staff could not have been more helpful. The same was true for the housekeeping staff who went the extra mile in making sure we had what we needed. All in all we received a great customer experience.

Add to this all the other things which make a stay at the Villas so enjoyable -its great location, the sense of community amongst winter guests and the opportunity to make friends poolside, the wide range of organised activities plus book and DVD lending libraries .... not to to mention the on-site Driftwood Bistro with the best dining on the island (mmm those fried okra and blackened Georgia shrimp appetisers are soooo good!).

Looking forward to our next visit to the Villas already.

Anne & Allan
(from Scotland)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We are just returning from our stay at villas by the sea. It was a lovely setting, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We rented condo 306 from an owner and it was great, clean, everything we needed. We did have two major disappointments though. The picture above shows the beautiful boardwalk on the oceanfront of the hotel. At least three of the nights during our stay there were twenty somethings out there partying well past midnight. I wanted to keep our window open to hear the sea, but all we heard was the yelling and profanity of a bunch of drunk kids...not great for my two little kids. I spoked to the first two groups, who after flinging some rude insults did move along, but was just too tired at 3am last night to do anything about that group. Since it seemed to be different groups of people each time, I'm wondering if it wasn't just a single incident of bad guests, but something that happens often. I'm ok with noise up until 11pm or so, but after midnight its just discourteous. I wasn't sure who to complain to..not sure the villas own the boardwalk.
The only other thing that was a disappointment was that the pool was freezing. When I read that it was solar heated, I assumed that they had some sort of solar cover or something. My bad, solar heated means not heated!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank btykodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was my favorite place to stay during our drive from Charleston to St. Augustine. We drove up and asked what their best rate was and they gave us a one-bedroom place with a kitchenette for $100 per night. What a deal! We were next to the sea and we saved some money by buying dinner and breakfast at the grocery store. The complex is also a winter resort for families and retired snowbirds so there aren't a lot of young people here but I didn't mind because I like the quiet.

Room Tip: They gave us an "oceanside" room which we assumed meant sea view, but we had almost no vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myhra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

This place is FABULOUS! Right on Driftwood Beach, and with the best restaurant on the island a few steps away, it was heaven. We went in March, and everyone at the hotel was very friendly. Our room was divine. We travel with two German Shepherds, and it is hard to find a nice place with two big dogs in tow. Our room was beautiful and well-appointed. We had the beach to ourselves for most of the day. My one recommendation, if you are breakfast eaters like my husband, is to pick up some eggs and bread to make your own breakfast. Most villas feature a kitchenette.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Spaztek99_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a Mini Villa - Room 431 in Oglethorpe section. The villa was not beachfront, but was not expecting that since we had a discount through Living Social. Accommodations were nice with a separate bedroom and a small sitting area with a small but functional kitchen. Kitchen had a small fridge, 2 burner stove, microwave, sink with accompanying plates, service ware, etc. The mini villa was decorated nicely and was clean and had a small balcony under the trees. We were on the second floor and the entrance was enclosed.

Did not get to walk around the complex since it rained two days straight, but we had fun touring Jekyll Island and St. Simons Island by car.

We would stay here again in this villa and would be a good location for a golf week-end.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaxJaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
2.9 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#2 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
3.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
2.9 mi away
Ocean Lodge
Ocean Lodge
#3 of 10 in Saint Simons Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Property: Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
Address: 1175 N Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0704
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas by the Sea Resort is an enchanting oceanside resort and conference center on Jekyll Island, Georgia. AAA 3 Diamond Rating. Choose from one of our 160 spacious one, two, or three bedroom villas whch are individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Hotels.com so you can book your Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas By The Sea Hotel Jekyll Island
Villas By The Sea Resort And Conference Center
Hotel By The Sea
Resort By The Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing