We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Ga/FL weekend wish I was at the Hampton Inn.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Monroe, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ga/FL weekend wish I was at the Hampton Inn.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have a mini villa, 1 bedroom, comfortable bed, 1 bath, fairly old, another room with a TV, small cafe table, 1 recliner, only one person can sit in this room comfortably and watch TV, no TV in bedroom, any other quest are required to use the table chairs to watch TV. There is a microwave, dorm refig,coffee maker, dishes, no sink, but the dish detergent, and sponge, I guess you can use the tub for washing the dishes while you shower. The room could at least have a love seat. If you are a single guest it may be a great room, for 2 I would recommend another room. Management not to customer service oriented, does not look their guest in the eye when adressing, continues to look down while speaking. Appears not too interested in meeting the needs of their guest, will not stay here again, espically since there is a new Hampton Inn on the Island.

Room Tip: anything except a mini villa, you will be disappointed.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thanks for reviewing us. We were not aware of your concerns until reading your review. As you know, we promptly contacted you and offered to move you to another Villa that better suited your needs. We do offer larger rooms. You informed us that you were happy with the Villa you had. Your other concerns have also been addressed and we thank you for bringing it to our attention. If there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable, please let us know. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    154
    59
    47
    51
See reviews for
178
171
9
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palatka, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Yes we stayed at the Villa before. Wouldn't stay any place else on the island.
Our one bedroom suite was beautiful. The grounds are lovely . We had a private patio to keep our recumbent trikes. We rode our bikes by all the other motels. The Villas is by far the nicest. Also it's the only one by the unbeliveable Driftwood beach. We had it all to ourselves.
Villas restaurant has the Best food on the island. The DRiftwood Bistro. Be sure and try Lynn's Squash CAsserole and famous Bread Pudding. Prices resonable. Only complaint, wish they had opened for lunch.
We hope to visit again soon. And would stay no place else.

Room Tip: We had our little dog with us. So did have to ask for a room that was dog friendly. Had a path to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We appreciate your gracious review. Thanks for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

It is not a side view, it is a garden view. They do not pick up trash, no cleaning. Noisy, people walking over you head. There is no curtain in the bedroom, Air conditioning is noisy and leakink. Internet very poor. DO NOT GO!

Room Tip: Top floor perhaps? Rooms are small, Queen bed only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurence a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Sir or Madame,
I believe you posted your review on the wrong property. All of our Villas have either curtains or blinds over the windows. We certainly pick up trash and clean the rooms. We do not have “side view” or “garden view” rooms. We have Islandside or Oceanside locations available. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I recently stayed for a week at the Villas , needing some serious R&R. Got it ! Jekyll Island is the perfect place for it as well as the Villas by the Sea. Friendly desk help and friendly workers. I stayed after Labor Day , so for sure it was quiet. I also found the unit I stayed in to be stocked with the essentials for cooking and eating. The air conditioning was freezing cold (loved it) when needed and you're able to adjust the temp accordingly. The upkeep on the property was spot on and everyone seemed willing to give a smile or a hello.
The beach disappears with the rising tide daily, but who stays on a beach more than a few hours anyway. I found it convenient to be able to walk the small boardwalk down to the beach.
Driftwood beach is right next door and is a must see for everyone. (following the signs).
All in all I will definately stay at the Villas by the Sea again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kamenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

First, of you are looking for a beautiful beach vacation Jekyll island is not the place. Stick with the gulf!

We stayed in a villa, like a town home with a downstairs kitchen/living room and 2 bedrooms upstairs.

Kitchen: decently stocked, little dish soaps and towels, working appliances

Bedrooms: good size, plenty of storage
Beds very soft, stingy with pillows

Bathroom: good size, if you have kids specifically ask for a unit with a bathtub.

Service: rooms were not cleaned during our 4 day stay. Towels were switched and trash cans were emptied.

Overall: beach is "available" from 2-4pm otherwise tide is too high and no beach is usable. Pool is nice but no food available for the family and it's very shady, so the pool is freezing. There were a few bugs in our condo, but I guess it's expected on such a natural island. Had to pack up the family and drive 5 minutes to a beach that was usable the whole day. The units are really decent, a bit old but not horrible.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sschapiro85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thanks for staying with us. Jekyll Island is a beautiful island that offers guests the feeling of being on their own private island. Jekyll Island offers peace and tranquility. By law only 35% of the island is developed. Jekyll Island also offers wonderful beach side parks with covered picnic tables, bathhouses, volley ball and bocce ball, all free of charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

During a recent short weekend trip to Jekyll Island, Ga, we happened upon Villas By the Sea. We had no reservations for the weekend trip and were drawn in by the peaceful setting. The young lady at the front desk was very sweet and eager to find us an available unit. We were booked into unit 501.
What a perfect little condo.Clean, comfy and fully stocked with everything we needed which included a full-sized coffee pot with plenty creamer and sugar. After dinner we were so pleased to find a corkscrew in the drawer which enabled us to enjoy a glass of wine on the small back porch which overlooks a grassy area which was back-dropped by twisted oaks, a line of jetties and the Atlantic ocean. A perfect romantic getaway!

Room Tip: These rooms are privately owned condo units. Although the entire complex was nice, I can only tell y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phyllis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was not sure what to expect upon arrival after reading comments prior to our trip. All in all Villas by the Sea Resort is a decent place but could use a great deal of TLC. I could complain about the minor little things like not having power either on August 4th and hearing dripping noises in the bedroom closet due to the down pour of rain coming thru the roof, but it was an adventure to say the least. Villas by the Sea could be a phenomenal location if they would just dump some cash into maintenance and landscaping. Aside from that where else can you see a baby deer right in your back patio :>) , live conch shells, sand dollars, hermit crab and all the great see creatures on the sand after high tide. My Family and I made some great memories here that will last us a lifetime.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarMar1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Sales at Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We are so glad that your family enjoyed their time with us. We have experienced abnormal rain fall and apologize for the storm that resulted in the loss of power. Family memories are priceless and we are glad to be a part of yours. Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jekyll Island
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Jekyll Island
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
2.9 mi away
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
Jekyll Island Club Hotel
#1 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Westin Jekyll Island
The Westin Jekyll Island
#3 of 8 in Jekyll Island
4.5 of 5 stars 475 reviews
3.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jekyll Island
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 8 in Jekyll Island
3.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center

Property: Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center
Address: 1175 N Beachview Dr, Jekyll Island, GA 31527-0704
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Golden Isles of Georgia > Jekyll Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Jekyll Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas by the Sea Resort is an enchanting oceanside resort and conference center on Jekyll Island, Georgia. AAA 3 Diamond Rating. Choose from one of our 160 spacious one, two, or three bedroom villas whch are individually decorated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Villas by the Sea Resort & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas By The Sea Resort And Conference Center
Villas By The Sea Hotel Jekyll Island
Hotel By The Sea
Resort By The Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing