We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Unfortunately only average - after all this positiv feedback” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The SandBar and Grill - CLOSED

The SandBar and Grill
Price range: $15 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
travelling
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Unfortunately only average - after all this positiv feedback”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

After having read all the good reviews here we were surprised with only average food and average atmosphere at a somewhat higher price than average. :-(

We might have been there in the wrong day, the wrong daytime and chosen the wrong food.
But we likely won't give it a second try given the alternatives.

We've been here for a quick lunch, having a baked potato soup and a seafood chowder.
The bowls came as relatively small cups, the taste of both soups was ok but nothing special (chowder somewhat better than the potato soup), the crackers as side even came with an "old" taste.

The atmosphere nothing special, the waiter friendly and attentive, the prices higher than e.g. in the (tastier) Driftwood nearby.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sven_on_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    58
    45
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Augustine, Fl. 32080
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Found: Great Fried Eggs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Good grits - great eggs - sausage links that snap when you bite - hashbrowns were good-- nice southern waitress ...so glad to find a real breakfast on Jekyll Isand!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crescent_Beach_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaston, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great food and price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

we ate supper there and got there early and got the fried shrimp and fish both were good and the salad was fresh and the dessert peach cobbler was good too. will eat here again the staff was very nice too

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank melissa35309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love this place...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our waitress was Shelley and she was very sweet and professional. The food was awesome.. We got the seafood platter and it was actually better than the seafood restaraunts up the street.. Will def be going back!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gypsyfamily6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I always ask the locals where to eat and they never steer me wrong. I had a craving for a cheeseburger and I called the front desk to ask who has the best burger in town. They told us The SandBar and Grill! They were right!! Delicious burgers and pretty good fries too. We will definitely eat there when we visit again!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kiatapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The SandBar and Grill also viewed

Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing