We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boiled Shrimp Heaven!”

Latitude 31 & The Rah Bar
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Friendly service providing cold beverages, fresh seafood and amazing views of the Jekyll River and famous Marshes of Glynn. Seasonal schedule of live music
OKC,Ok
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Boiled Shrimp Heaven!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

My son and I ended up here after touring Jekyll one afternoon. We sat out on the pier. There are a few seats enclosed in the bar area. We started with one pound of very large nicely seasoned shrimp. They had additional seasoning similar to Old Bay sprinkled on top. They were fresh, flavorful and peeled with little effort. We could have had beer but choose some good sweet tea to wash them down. As we got toward the end of them I ordered another pound! We made it about half way through them and wrapped the rest. Nice way to watch the sun go down overlooking the Intercoastal waterway!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank daniherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    776
    565
    310
    134
    118
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
OKC,Ok
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fresh Oysters by the Dozen & Shrimp & Grits!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

This resturant is located on the west side of Jekyll. I had heard about it from friends who raved how good it is. It is unique in that it has two sides. One is a more traditional resturant setting suitable for family dining. The other which I ate at is an informal but very nice bar type of seating. Large windows allow senic views of the river and marsh. The atmosphere was very laid back and casual. The young lady behind the bar was very attentive as it was a week day evening. She offered us drinks...the three of us had sweet tea. My brother and I had a dozen oysters each! Mine raw on the half shell, his were steamed. The oysters were fresh, had nice coloring, were medium sized and flavorful. Lemon, crushed horsradish, and cocktail sauce were served to compliment them. After polishing off that many oysters I had a serving of shrimp & grits. The shrimp were quite large and cooked to perfection, the grits were prepared in such a way they almost looked like french toast! They were fried! I had never eaten them prepared this way but was pleasantly surprised! I have an adult son who accompanied my brother and I. He had the blackened shrimp and couldn't say enough about them! This would be a great resturant for a first date to impress or to show her she's special. It's quiet enough to enjoy good conversation, and relaxed enough so you don't have to rush through your meal. Try this place...you'll love it!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daniherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Chef did an excellent job”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Had the special as recommended by our server. Flounder with an orange glaze was superb. Husband had the Desert Fire Fettuccini, shrimp in a creamy jalapeño sauce. Delicious. The dessert was made in house, a chocolate lava cake, not overly sweet. Would highly recommend this restaurant but call ahead. You don't want to arrive after the crowd, as they like to close up early and it doesn't feel good when they line the doors as you depart and "click" the door is locked as you exit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank PolkCountyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We love the atmosphere and food! We visit often and are never disappointed! The staff was friendly and the scallops were delicious! You cannot beat the view either!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank lokalyokal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
186 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“What a New Years!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had a fabulous time this past New Years. Food was phenomenal (try the Grouper Hemingway) and we happened upon the best 2 man music group around, The Great Pretenders! One of them was an exact (I mean exact) sound-a-like of Neil Diamond. The other guy did great Doo-Wop and Mo-Town tunes. Staff was fantastic and locations is beautiful (out on a dock).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 6KenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Latitude 31 & The Rah Bar also viewed

Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
Jekyll Island, Golden Isles of Georgia
 

Been to Latitude 31 & The Rah Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing