We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only acceptable Buffett”

Buckner's Family Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Roberta, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The only acceptable Buffett”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I hate Buffett restaurants ... But Buckner's is way different! If you have enough people in your party there are no strangers dipping in you food. They put your meal Buffett style on a lazy Susan in the middle of your table & keep bringing you more!! For a family of 6, with 4 growing boys ranging from 15 to 8 it's perfect, everyone gets plenty to eat!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kendra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    52
    16
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, GA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice family restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stopped here on a trip to Florida--decided to try something different from our usual Cracker Barrel. It is AYCE--which for me means I don't get my money's worth...but a good deal for hubby who is a large eater. The food was good, fried chicken especially, but the rest not my cup of tea. Corn tasted like can corn, peach cobbler is a goopey kind not in a crust. Most of the veggies cooked to death. Grandma's cooking I suppose, but not really my grandmother's. Atmosphere reminded me of a church supper in a fellowship hall. You sit at a table with other patrons and food is served on a lazy susan. Interesting and different, forces one to make obligatory conversation with truckers and those you might never get to experience. If you like this type of food/experience, you will enjoy this very much.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spot28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Maybe you have to be from the South?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Lazy Susan, tables and whole dining room are tired. The food is bland and boring. Maybe this place had its heyday or is a local gem but our whole group were uninspired and definitely confused by Buckner's popularity.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anniebees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So glad we made this a stop on our long drive. Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Lazy Susan dining at it's finest. Chicken (like grandma used to make), ribs, pulled pork, corn, green beans, potatoes and gravy, green beans and peach cobbler. Sweet tea was perfect. The ladies never let a bowl go empty. We will be back!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teacher4eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
91 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Southern food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This place takes you back in time which is great. Fried chicken is so moist and tender, The lima beans had wonderful flavor. With a old time peach cobbler for dessert. It is not fancy but it is good. Family style and they keep filling up the dishes so it is all you can eat. I tea is on the table.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomOrlandoFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buckner's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Buckner's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing