We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Spain”
Review of Mas Pou

Mas Pou
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $45
Cuisines: Diner, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Classic Spain”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend this classic restaurant set on the most adorable village with beautiful gardens and interiors. Great Spanish Catalan food with lot of local and regular clientele. Great place to stop off while sightseeing. Has parking.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelleralways2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    189
    30
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Ok, but not great.”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

It was an ok meal. Nothing special.
I had the fish soup, no fish to be found. One mussel. The tast was ok.
One salad, looked good. Tasted ok.
The bread served was nice and warm.
Afterwards we went to the museum, wich is included with eating there.

Helpful?
Thank Niels W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“traditional catalan”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Typical catalan food ,of a good standed This restaurant is set in the tiny village of Mas pou ,The restaurant has all the charm you would expect from centuaries old building

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank christine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Catalan Country”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had two memorable dining experiences on our last European vacation.... L'Avant Comptoire in Paris and Mas Pou in Costa Brava.

After visiting the Dali museum in Figueres, we took an afternoon drive by the ancient town of Palau Sator and made a reservation for that night at Mas Pou as we were warned that this rather large restaurant, while located in the country in a very sleepy little town, gets very busy. The restaurant has a beautiful setting with outdoor seating that must be a great addition during warmer months.

We returned that evening about 9pm for a traditionally late Catalan dinner. The dinner started with quail eggs then we had as appetizers roasted vegetables with anchovies, and foie gras with pouched figs... both outstanding and very large portions. We had a local 2011 Granacha which went well with Catalan style bread with raw garlic and roma tomatoes. Entrees included duck with poached pears and pork cheeks with figs and raisins. We topped off the evening with roasted apples in Creme Catalan. Our meal was fabulous. Our total bill came to 65E, great value even by Catalan standards.

The only weak point of our whole evening was service. I found the comments made by other reviewers bang on when they said staff was just 'busy'. They ARE busy but come up a little short when it comes to adding a personal dimension to a meal. If the servers are busy, someone should be working the room. Our experience in total was incredible.... we will return and we highly recommend this wonderful spot.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EconomistGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro District, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Landmark institution”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This restaurant is what transforms sleepy Palau Sator into a traffic jam every night. Mas Pou's parking is a labyrinth of parking spots, spanning several fields and it is a challenge to find a parking place. Mas Pou can seat easily over 150 people and when we were there it was filled to capacity (as they have different shifts, the place shows a continuous turnover). The outside patio makes up for a nice dinner location while the interior is a bit more dated. Service is swift (it is an attraction to see waiters and waitresses almost jogging in service) and food is inexpensive. Had fish soup and clams for startes both very good followed by calamares (the dough maybe a bit too abundant) and roasted chicken (a bit too rare to our liking) finished off with excellent dessert (caramel ice cream and profiteroles).

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank belgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mas Pou also viewed

Peratallada, Province of Girona
 
Peratallada, Province of Girona
Peratallada, Province of Girona
 
Sant Feliu de Boada, Province of Girona
Pals, Costa Brava
 

Been to Mas Pou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing