We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My wife was denied service on Veterans Day even though she is a 12 year Veteran.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Applebee's

Applebee's
Ranked #10 of 92 Restaurants in Hinesville
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My wife was denied service on Veterans Day even though she is a 12 year Veteran.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

on Veterans Day my wife and I went to Applebees as we normally do to get the free lunch honoring veterans. My wife was turned down for service because she showed the waitress a VA identificaion card. This is a ID card that only a veteran could receive. We asked to see the manager and he told us that he would not honor the VA ID card as proof that my wife served in the military. My wife was seated at the booth wearing an airforce veterans hat and an air force shirt. She served 12 years in the military and fought for our country in Dessert Storm. She was an intelligence NCO and flew on numerous overseas missions while defending our nation. I am a retired Army officer.I could not believe the disrespect that my wife received by the manager at Applebee's. He treated my wife like a bum on the street instead of the honored veteran that she is. I could have been served because I have a military retirement ID card but after watching the way my wife was treated we both left the restaurant without eating. We will never set foot in Applebees again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank guardfist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    51
    39
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Ate there during lunch, seated in less than 5 minutes. Manager talked with us until waitress could get fee. Less than 15 minutes from order placement until it was in front of us. Food was good, service was great. Had no issues, would definitely recommend.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brock54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had appetizers and drinks here before heading out to the movie theater since we were staying at the Fairfield Inn & Suites right behind this Applebee's. We ate at the bar since we knew we weren't eating dinner. The bartender/waitress was not very welcoming or friendly. She never asked if we needed more water and rarely checked on us. We are from Atlanta and asked if we could get the Braves games on one of the 12 big screen tvs but she just said the one of the tvs was broken. She never offered to change the channel on one of the other 11. Not impressed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank AngIng11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“family dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our dinner was great and we received a 10% discount off the check. You got the discount because you are staying at the hotel. And it's right across the parking lot. We just walked over. It didn't take long for them to serve us. Very nice staff there as well.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank may h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Florida
Level Contributor
272 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“It's Applebee's”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Arrived about 9 pm, waited 15 minutes for a table that was open in the bar when we walked in the door. Service was ok, food was ok... Will I go back, most likely not

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TRKJKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applebee's also viewed

 

Been to Applebee's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing