We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee
Nearby Hotels
Lake Chatuge Lodge(Hiawassee)(Great Value!)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ridges Resort & Marina(Young Harris)(Great Value!)
$169
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Blairsville)(Great Value!)
$119
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heidi Motel(Helen)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Alpine Helen(Helen)(Great Value!)
$72
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
55
61
40
22
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
61
40
22
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolroom was cleanhi expressplace to staythe breakfast areahot tubdining area was cleancommon areasfront desk clerkone night stayneeds attentionlocal attractionsmini fridgenext morningvisiting the areathe staff was friendly and helpfulyoung harris
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 189 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I've stayed in many Holiday Inn Expresses but this one seemed a little older in the room and there were small things that were a little off- ie- a long stretch to the toilet paper in the room that I was in- not so many towels either but, overall- I liked this one. It was bigger than they usually are. It had a sitting room, microwave, sink, fridge- the beds were pretty firm and I didn't think I would sleep well.. but, I actually did sleep very well. Breakfast was kept up as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duane52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We were in the area to see family. Our room and bathroom were well above average, and clean. Nicely decorated. Ours had a refridgerator, coffee maker, and I think a microwave. The breakfast included anything you could possibly desire, and was fresh. The Holiday Inn is easy to find and conveniently located. We had stayed before and used the pool, but we didn't use it this trip. I think this hotel is a good value for the money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 169donnah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

When I was looking in the Hiawassee and Blairesville area for hotels, one of the priorities was a hotel with an indoor pool and hot tub. This one shows one in the picture and we called and confirmed it had one. So we booked the room, toured the area, hiked for 4 miles, then checked in the room. Soon as we unpacked we darted out for dinner. The place we ate was so slow and our daughter kept saying the hot tub and pool would close before we could get back (10 pm sharp). We rush back, get there about 9 pm, go down to the hot tub and it is freezing cold. Colder than the pool. Another couple we saw at dinner did the exact same thing, rushed back just to find the heater in the hot tub wasn't working. The guy behind the desk gave us 5 different excuses, then said if we wanted to go somewhere else, he would refund our money. I thought that was kind of sarcastic. Where are you going to go at 9 pm to look for another room? The beds were hard and you could feel the springs in the worn out mattresses. Otherwise the hotel was nice, had a nice lobby area, fireplace (not on and it was cold), very good breakfast, with eggs, bacon and biscuits w/gravy. Didn't ruin the day, but hotels should tell you right when you get to the counter to check in when their amenities aren't working.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RCV2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear RCV2013,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Booked our rooms through Resevations Desk.Com. Came 380 miles when we got there the front desk told us the rooms booked were smoking. My 87 year old mother was with us and the rooms were so bad we had to go and buy spray and try to help with the smell, but to no avail. I will never use this website again. We talked to customer service and to several others refered to us, basicly they told us ther was nothing they would do. The hotel was booked so their was nothing they could do. Holiday Inn should never use this booking agency. I will stay elswhere next time we travel.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Everett K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Everett K,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the the accommodations booked through a third party website prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is my HIE of choice when I visit the North Georgia mountains. The location is great for exploring the area and into Western North Carolina. The desk staff is always courteous and accommodating. The dining area is large and the breakfast is always tasty. Rooms are clean, up to date, and comfortable. Hallway doors separate end rooms from the lobby/elevator traffic noise (though that noise is minimal anyway). A great value in a great location!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WSW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews