We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SUPER PLACE!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henson Cove Place B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Henson Cove Place B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Hiawassee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“SUPER PLACE!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

From the time we arrived until we left (sadly!!), all could NOT have gone better. Both Mariah and Dave treated us just like family. Restful, comfortable, and beautiful!! The food was excellant---while the companionship and knowledge of the area attractions was right on spot. We are already planing a return trip in the spring.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clint447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    12
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
70
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Henson Cove. The owners are very friendly and helpful, and it's obvious they go out of their way to try and make their guests as comfortable as possible. After having just come in from dinner, we found chocolate covered strawberries in the room and they were just about the best I've ever had. Our room had a lovely view of the quaint porch and beyond it, a field with horses grazing. Very peaceful. I loved the wind chimes on the porch and the gentle music they made. The king size bed was very comfortable. I normally don't comment or notice much about towels and wash cloths, but I have to mention how wonderful, thick and soft their Pottery Barn towels were. After using them, I'm going to order some for myself!! Breakfast was delicious.

Two things to consider if you book the Mountain View room: it is directly outside a common living room area where residents can gather to watch TV. It has it's own private bathroom, but it is about 20 feet down the hall, and is not connected to the bedroom.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank gagirl909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windycindi, Owner at Henson Cove Place B&B, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Such a nice review! We always try to clarify the fact that the Mountain View bathroom is just a few steps from the room. However, the bathroom is not 20 feet from the room. It is a larger bathroom with claw foot tub and needs the extra space.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a 2 night getaway with a recommendation to anyone needing a few days away to go to Henson Cove to relax and enjoy the hospitality and food.

After driving down a narrow country road, we entered Henson Cove B&B to be greeted by Mariah who showed us around and took us to our room, Rainey’s Hideaway. Within a few minutes, we felt as if Mariah was a long time friend as we did with Dave when we met him a short while later. It was easy to feel at home at Henson Cove.

Henson Cove is exactly as it appears in photos on their website: http://www.henson-cove-place.com/bb.htm.

Henson Cove is casual, rustic and extremely clean and neat with everything needed to make you comfortable so you enjoy your stay. They have a large library, a movie collection and free WiFi should you need those items.

Rainey’s Hideaway is above the dining area with a parking space and entrance through the dining area from the rear of the B&B. It was well appointed with a sitting area, a small flat panel TV for music or movies, a private bath with shower, and plush towels and robes. We never turned on the A/C during our stay, preferring to have the windows up for the cool breezes….the area was quiet and we slept with the windows up.

Breakfast was baked puffed pancakes with berries, bacon and eggs one day and fresh fruit, biscuits, and sausage and egg frittatas the next. The chocolate covered strawberries in the evening were as good as other reviewers claimed!

One previous reviewer stated he left breakfast feeling hungry. All I can say is he must have been a huge breakfast eater, since my wife and I (190 lbs- me, not her) not only enjoyed the breakfasts but did not feel the need for lunch and did not eat again until dinner time on both days!!!!

Mariah and Dave will make reservations for dinner if needed and provide maps and info on the surrounding area. Be sure to check out their website thoroughly as it provides a lot of information.

I could continue writing, but I think you now know that we had a very enjoyable stay, plan to return, and recommend Henson Cove. Mariah and Dave, thank you for a wonderful stay!!!

Room Tip: Rainey's Hideaway is isolated from the others and is very quiet....there are steps to climb, how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gangin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

A delightful B & B with rustic decor off the beaten path. A cool mountain breeze sets off the wind chimes with a soothing serenade. Sitting on the front porch you gaze out to a meadow with mountains as a backdrop. You have arrived in a true country setting. The hosts are very accommodating and the breakfast each morning outstanding. There is one main TV in the common living room. You will be fighting over the very large and most delicious chocolate covered strawberries. There are other extras which made this an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldvsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinings, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We bought the Living Social deal a while back and actually had to cancel our visit twice which Dave was very kind about. We were finally able to take our trip to Hiawassee and stay at Henson Cove this past Memorial Day weekend. This was our first time at a real bed and breakfast and we loved it! We were welcomed by Dave and Mariah, two very nice and interesting people. We felt right at home. We stayed in the Garden Suite which has a little sitting room, private bath, and comfy bed. There is a wall of books that Dave said you could take with you if you begin one. There is a nice little common den with a TV, games, and DVD's. Mariah was making gorgeous and delicious chocolate covered strawberries and chilling our champagne when we arrived. Dave made some suggestions for dinner and gave us a map of the area as we wanted to see some falls. We had a lovely dinner at Michalee's right in town...GREAT food! We ended the night drinking wine in the chairs in front of the B&B and watching horses and fireflies. We met 2 other very nice couples while we were there and socialized with them at breakfast and in the evenings. Breakfast both mornings was perfect! We had fresh fruit, Greek yogurt, bacon, peach French toast, homeade biscuits, blueberry butter, and a delicious breakfast frittata. The coffee was also perfect. Sunday we visited Anna Ruby Falls, the "beach" at Unicoi Gap, and tubed the river. We also went to the top of Brasstown Bald. When we returned to the B&B there was wine waiting for us and we spent that night just like we did the previous one. It was very peaceful and we got to know the resident kitties. Henson Cove provided us with a MUCH needed little getaway and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, SC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

So much can be said about this charming and relaxing spot. Mariah and Dave are the perfect hosts; we really felt we were visiting family in their home. The breakfasts were a surprise each morning, the afternoon snacks over the top: especially enjoyed the chocalte covered strawberries, and that smoked trout dip was to die for. Hosts were most helpful in suggesting where to visit, shop, and eat. No cookie cutter rooms here; everything unique. The horse pasture across the road adds charm. We plan to return.

Room Tip: Each of the few rooms has its advantages and disadvantages. We took the Garden Suite because I have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jose39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

The Henson Cove B&B is just outstanding. Tucked away in a quiet, beautiful corner of North Georgia, it is an destination for a weekend getaway. Plan for two nights and enjoy a leisurely Saturday, seeing the local sights.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiawassee
5.1 mi away
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Lake Chatuge Lodge
#3 of 6 in Hiawassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#1 of 6 in Hiawassee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
16.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
16.0 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#5 of 19 in Helen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Henson Cove Place B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Henson Cove Place B&B

Property: Henson Cove Place B&B
Address: 1137 Car Miles Rd., Hiawassee, GA 30546
Location: United States > Georgia > Hiawassee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hiawassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Henson Cove Place B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B is a circa 1940s mountain farmhouse style home. The inn is reminiscent of more laid back days, featuring stunning pasture and mountain views, porch swings and rockers. All 4 guest rooms have private baths. One bedrooms are suites. The Cove Cabin comfortably sleeps up to 6 and has 3 bedrooms, 1 & 1/2 baths and is child and small pet friendly. Located just 1/2 mile off US 76 and five minutes from downtown Hiawassee, GA, Henson Cove Place is a retreat set in a private and quiet "holler". Hiawassee is a North Georgia Mountain community that still has that small town feel. Located just minutes from Helen and Clayton, GA, NC, SC, TN and just 15 minutes from Georgia's highest point - Brasstown Bald (4,784 feet). Nature abounds! Convenient to many great attractions with a variety of things to do... or nothing at all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Henson Cove Place B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing