We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to explore the North GA/Western NC mountians, this is a good base of operations.”
Review of Lake Chatuge Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hiawassee
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Upon entering, you'll see a rustic, lodge-like lobby area with dozens of autographed photos of famous guests. A small common area is on the 2nd floor overlooking the 1st floor lobby. Both looked inviting and comfortable. There was a smell in the lobby similar to what you would find in a tropical fish store..not musty, really..sort of humid, I guess. I think the air conditioning system was not being used to full advantage here.

“Double bed” rooms actually have two queen size beds, not doubles. Beds are not particularly comfortable and I was glad to get home to my own bed.

The A/C unit in the room has a fully controllable keypad with digital temperature display, but was not turned on when we first entered the room. It took a some time to begin to cool the room. At first, I wasn't sure if it was working, but it started to cool after about 10-15 minutes. After that, it kept the room comfortable when it was 90+ degrees outside.

All the rooms have private balconies or patios. The ones on right rear of the lodge face east and provide the best view of Lake Chatuge. I got some fantastic sunrise photos from my balcony. The front of the lodge gets sunset views and overlooks the parking lot, US 76 and mountains.

Nicely supplied bathroom with coffeemaker, blow dryer, plenty of cups, shampoo, conditioner, and a half-empty bottle of lotion. Good lighting over the sink and the heat lamp in bathroom is nice during the winter, but there was no light over the toilet making it difficult to read while on the throne. An ironing board and iron are also supplied.

There is a 27” CRT TV with HBO and typical SD picture quality and basic cable channels with locals out of Atlanta. Free wireless internet on our 3rd floor room was approx 1.3mb/s download and the connection was solid. Ground level rooms have a patio with a key-card entrance door.

The cabinet drawers had an odor that transferred to our clothes. Again, this smell may have been due to the fact that the room air conditioner was off when we arrived. The smell disappeared after a few hours of airing (wearing) the clothing.

Breakfast consisted of six varieties of cold cereal, milk, bagels, english muffins, wheat bread, donuts, fruit danishes, juices, bananas, and, of course, coffee (which was quite good). The only hot item offered looked like grits..or oatmeal..or gruel; I couldn't tell which, but it was stiff, dry and unappealing.

There is a restaurant (Hiawasee Chop House) at the drive entrance to the lodge. We didn't have a chance to visit, though.

As noted by other Trip Advisors, contrary to the Ramada corporate website, there is no gym of fitness center, although there is a public beach and playground directly across US 76. But who cares? I'm not here for a workout!

Would I stay again? Probably not. I'm not an outdoorsman, so the hiking-boating-jetskiing-fishing-rafting thing does not appeal to me. If you want a base location for exploring the North Georgia Mountains and Western North Carolina, I think the Ramada, Lodge at Lake Chatuge is a good choice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WilW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2010

Thank you for your thorough review and feedback of our facility.

We are currently making renovations and upgrades in our guest rooms, such as permanent microwaves and refrigerators in rooms, new bedding, flat panel TVs, etc. We hope to have all upgrades complete by the end of 2011.

We apologize that you did not get to use our fitness room during your stay. It is located on our first floor, should you ever get the chance to visit us again and would like to use it

Again, we appreciate your time in writing this review and hope to have you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 296 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2010

This hotel supplied a wonderful backdrop for our vacation with kids and grandchildren. The staff could not have been more accommodating. The views from our rooms were memorable. Everyone loved the breakfast bar and later in the day, we could play card games with the family in that area. We are planning our return trip with friends and neighbors. Can't wait to see the autumn leaves from the balcony. Best trip in a long time! The Chop House right next door should not be missed!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hemymargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2010

Thank you for choosing Ramada, The Lodge on Lake Chatuge! We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our property! Our area has many activities and attractions for all members of the family throughout the year! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

This property gets some good marks; the sheets and shower were clean, the staff was very friendly and the location on the lake is good. However, the property is looking "shaggy" & needs a remodel. The carpets were dirty and the decor & color scheme looked very cluttered and dated. The breakfast bar was not set up well; was crowded and cramped. The coffee was weak and the food just OK. The lobby and outdoor patio should have been much nicer, since has a lake view, but was not inviting at all.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaHike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2010

Thank you for choosing to stay with Ramada, The Lodge on Lake Chatuge. We are in the process of updating the lodge and hope to have most renovations done within the next year, including new bedding and flat screen TVs in all rooms. We apologize for any dissatisfaction you experienced with our breakfast bar and we are working to make improvements. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to have you come back to stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

My family and I were able to escape Atlanta for a long weekend and just went up to the Lake Chatuge Lodge to explore Hiawassee. We had a lot of fun hiking and just driving around on the mountain roads stopping to take pictures along the way. The Lodge was fantastic. Our 4-year old loved the view of the lake from the balcony. We had a comfortable room with a jacuzzi tub. The staff was accommodating and the price was right.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesjonpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2010

I am glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Ramada, The Lodge at Lake Chatuge. We are so convenient to Altanta, just a quick 2 hour drive, that we are the ideal spot for families wanting to get away from the "hustle & bustle" of the city. I hope you will come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

I've never had a bad experience in a hotel opereated by Ramada, but I've come to expect basic no frills accomodations.

This place far exceded what I expected.

Rates were reasonable. Staff was friendly and accomdating. Check in and check out was a quick and painless process. Breakfast area was large and there was a better than average selection of food items. We were there for an informal 20 year college reunion, and there was a very large room with TV, comfortable sofas, fire place, etc.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisCVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2010

Thank you for your comments about Ramada, The Lodge at Lake Chatuge. Our goal is to not only meet every guest's expectations but to exceed them as well. I am glad that we were able to do that for you. I hope you will come visit us again soon. I would recommend brining your family up for the Fair in July!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2010

I happened up on this hotel on the internet and had nothing to go on except the reviews....we are so glad we chose this Ramada! The service was great, the rooms clean and cozy, the view fantastic! We were fairly snowed in for 2 days during out stay, so we were very please that we were in such a comfortable place! My only suggestion for the hotel would be to add some light to the room. It was very dark when trying to read at night. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone and plan to visit again!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kymba1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2010

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Ramada, The Lodge at Lake Chatuge. We have had a lot of snow this year! It even snowed several inches again yesterday. I agree that the views from the private balconies for the rooms is fanastic! I hope you will come back in the summer to enjoy it then as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

I stayed at this hotel with my older brother on a business trip in early October of '09 (last month, as of this writing).

My previous job involved a good bit of travel as factory field rep, so I've stayed in many different hotels. But this hotel was my first experience ever with being awakened by a LAWNMOWER RIGHT OUTSIDE OUR WINDOW!!!!!

With both my brother and God as my witnesses, this really did happen (at around mid-morning at 8:30-9 am or so--we got in very late the night before)! I awoke incensed, did breakfast, and then immediately found the manager on duty (Ms Katie Polstra). BTW: their morning lobby breakfast was nothing to write home about, either.

When I approached her about the basic idea behind staying at a hotel was actually getting some undisturbed sleep, she was dismissive and did not offer anything to win us back as repeat guests. One could easily tell that she knew the hotel would have steady clientele just because of its location overlooking the lake (i.e., Lake Chatuge), and she did not need our business!

When I went back to the room to try to catch a few more hours of shuteye, it was difficult to fall asleep then because it was too easy to hear room service cleaning the adjacent rooms.

The view out the back side of the hotel (and the lobby) is really nice, overlooking the lake. But I suggest you visit the lobby, enjoy the view, and then stay overnight somewhere else!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theauhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Ramada, The Lodge at Lake Chatuge on Trip Advisor. I apologize that the landscape company woke you up mid-morning. Our landscape company comes once a week during the summer and 1-2 times per month in the colder months. Since speaking with you during your visit, I have addressed with the landscape company for them to come later in the day so they will not awaken guests in the morning. We hope you will give us another chance and again apologize for your inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiawassee
2.8 mi away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#2 of 2 in Young Harris
679 reviews
18.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Helen, GA
16.9 mi away
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Valhalla Resort Hotel
Valhalla Resort Hotel
#4 of 18 in Helen
57 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee
4.1 mi away
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Young Harris
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Chatuge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Chatuge Lodge

Address: 653 Highway 76, Hiawassee, GA 30546-2150
Location: United States > Georgia > Hiawassee
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hiawassee
Price Range: $91 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Chatuge Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Lake Chatuge in the North Georgia Mountains. Right next door to the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds and Anderson Music Hall--all within walking distance. We offer free breakfast, USA Today, high speed wireless internet and parking. All rooms include private balcony or patio. Views of Lake Chatuge and mountains. Conference and meeting facilities available. Restaurant on property. Catering and banquet facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lake Chatuge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada, The Lodge On Lake Chatuge Hotel Hiawassee
Ramada Hiawassee
Hiawassee Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing