We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good location with great views!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Chatuge Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Hiawassee
Hoschton, Georgia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good location with great views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is an older property built in 1995 and was once a Ramada Inn. Great location. The rooms are done in pine furniture. My husband and I loved our stay here. Bed was more comfy than the Hampton Inn in Murphy, NC. Room was very clean and ours had a balcony overlooking the lake - beautiful view. The usual breakfast items included - coffee was pretty decent. Staff members we encountered were all friendly. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a view because of tree growth, but a room with a view of the lake is beautiful (t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for coming back to stay with us again. As you mentioned, we are no longer a Ramada. We started out as the Lake Chatuge Lodge in 1995 and have decided it was time to go back to our original name. I am glad you found our beds comfortable and the rooms clean. I will pass along your kind words to my team to let them know that their hard work isn't going unnoticed. I look forward to meeting you the next time you are in Hiawassee.

Thank you,

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    100
    51
    13
    7
See reviews for
53
111
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Book a lakeside room and relax - this place feels like a mountain lodge, with a real stone fireplace, club chairs, and a patio with a view of the lake. Rooms are large, comfortable, and reasonably priced. "Breakfast" wasn't impressive, but we didn't really care.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagdadgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Our lakeview rooms offer great views of Lake Chatuge. We do have a large stone fireplace in the lobby as well as comfortable couches to relax in. Our patio off of the backside of the lobby offers relaxing rocking chairs to take in the beautiful surroundings.

Our breakfast is included in the price of the room and is a continental breakfast during the week and offers 3 hot items in addition to the continental on the weekends. Please call me to discuss further what would make breakfast a better asset to the hotel.

Thank you,

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband booked us here for my birthday weekend and it was great! The room and view was amazing. Definitely planning on going back soon. The staff was very friendly and great at doing their job. I want to go back and get the same room for the amazing view we had.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Happy Birthday!!! I am glad that you had a great bday and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass along your comments to our team. I hope that you will stay here for your next Birthday. I look forward to seeing you then!!!

Thank you,

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West End, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Delightful place to stay. Rooms are spacious, clean with a great view of the lake. Staff is friendly. Staying here for three nights and completely satisfied with choice. Great value for the price. It does no have lake frontage but the great view of lake and mountains well makes up for it. Good restaurants are quite convenient. Make sue that you try Michealee's Chocolate Caffe...

Room Tip: Look for even number rooms since they are lakeside... The higher floor the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad that your 3 night stay was a delightful one. As you mentioned, our lakeview rooms do offer a fantastic view of Lake Chatuge. All of our 104 rooms offer their own private balcony to take in their surroundings. Michaelee's Chocolate Caffe is a fantastic restaurant that is great for either lunch or dinner. We also have a fantastic restaurant on our property called the Chophouse of Hiawassee. I look forward to meeting you during your next stay in Hiawassee.

Thank you,

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellijay, Georgia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Enjoyed staying at this motel, service was very efficient and friendly, front desk clerk was knowledgeable about the area. Room was average, bedding was very nice though. Our room had a view of the lake, that was beautiful and relaxing. They have a hot breakfast on weekends that was appropriate. There was a good feel to this place!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for your great review. Our front desk staff always tries their best to accommodate our guests. Our lakeview rooms offer a fantastic view of Lake Chatuge. We do offer a continental breakfast with 3 hot items on the weekends. I hope that the next time you need a relaxing getaway you will stay with us again.

Thank you again,

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed two nights at Lake Chatuge Lodge the week before Memorial Day. Because we beat the crowds we had choice of rooms on short notice. Our room on the Third floor lakeside was wonderful. Clean, comfortable and quiet with an awesome view of the lake. Loved the balcony..the cool air made for comfortable evening relaxing. Staff was very friendly and helpful, advising us of midweek specials without having to ask.

Note: this is not a "luxury" hotel, but a comfortable, clean relaxing place that doesn't try to be something it is not.

Definitely a place to put on a return list. We will be back.

Room Tip: Third floor lakeside gives you the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your terrific review. As you mentioned, our 3rd floor lakeview rooms do offer a great view of the lake. Our other two floors do as well offer fabulous views of Lake Chatuge. All 104 of our rooms offer a private balcony for our guests to enjoy the outdoors. I'm glad that our staff was able to advise you of midweek specials in the area. I hope that the next time you are in Hiawassee, you will choose to stay here again.

Thank you again,

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbiana, OH
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had the most beautiful view from our room! We were on the lake side. The morning sunruse was spectacular. Our room was very clean. Loved the porch off the lobby area to sit with friends and share stories. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cynl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
I am glad to see that you had a great time here at Lake Chatuge Lodge. As you mentioned, all of our rooms offer a balcony for our guests to enjoy the outdoors. We do have a large patio off of our lobby that has a few places for our guests to relax. Our housekeepers go through great lengths to make sure that all of our rooms are clean. I will pass along your positive comments to all of our team here at Lake Chatuge Lodge.

Thank you again for you kind words,

Katie Stancil
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiawassee
2.8 mi away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#1 of 6 in Hiawassee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
12.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Milton Inn
BEST WESTERN Milton Inn
#3 of 3 in Blairsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
18.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
18.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Riverpark Inn & Conference Center Alpine Helen
4.1 mi away
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Young Harris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Chatuge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Chatuge Lodge

Property: Lake Chatuge Lodge
Address: 653 Highway 76, Hiawassee, GA 30546-2150
Location: United States > Georgia > Hiawassee
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Hiawassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Chatuge Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Lake Chatuge in the North Georgia Mountains. Right next door to the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds and Anderson Music Hall--all within walking distance. We offer free breakfast, USA Today, high speed wireless internet and parking. All rooms include private balcony or patio. Views of Lake Chatuge and mountains. Conference and meeting facilities available. Restaurant on property. Catering and banquet facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lake Chatuge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada, The Lodge On Lake Chatuge Hotel Hiawassee
Ramada Hiawassee
Hiawassee Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing