We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Egg Fest”
Review of Lake Chatuge Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hiawassee
Reviewed May 21, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 282 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

Convenient location. Could hear every person in hall as door was not sealed. Alarm went off at midnight the first night(may have been set by cleaning staff wiping clock). Dead bugs on floor under lamp. Plastic chairs on porch need to be replaced-they are cracked and would pinch.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Our hotel is located next to the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds. I'm sorry about the noise in the hallway. Please call the front desk during your next stay if there is an issue and they will take care of it. Being in the mountains and having doors to the balcony, it is possible that some flying insects came in your room during your stay and died. Our housekeeping staff always makes sure the rooms are clean before you check-in and during your stay. Please let us know in the future of any problems, and they will correct this issue as well. The chairs on the balcony do get replaced as needed. The sun is tough on them, but our maintenance staff will change them out during your stay if we know there is a problem. I look forward to meeting you the next time you stay at Lake Chatuge Lodge.

Katie Stancil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Ramada's in general are not on my "go to" list. However in this area there isn't a large selection of hotels and the web site looked appealing so thought we would try it. We booked a king suite to have a larger room since it wasn't that much more.

First the good things. The room itself appeared to be roughly twice the square footage of a regular room and the bathroom was pleasantly large with a double sink, walk in shower and a jacuzzi tub. The size was very sufficient and provided a comfortable environment. Our bed was on the firm side, which we like, and provided a good nights sleep. The balcony was large with primarily a mountain view, but you could see the water if you kinda looked around and through the trees. I would guess that rooms on the front side of the hotel (ours faced back) would have better views. The lobby was large and airy with 2 story picture windows and a covered outside seating area that is very pleasant. The building is built in a rather rustic style that matches the environment.

However there is room for improvement for this hotel to reach its maximum potential. First in our room, while of sufficient space it was sparsely furnished. There was no desk or table to use for example. While the hotel DOES have free wifi (good thing), there was absolutely no place to set up a PC or work area to use it, unless you wanted to sit on the floor or lay in the bed. There is plenty of room for a desk, it just didn't exist so there is wasted space. The hotel also I guess is trying to save money by used low wattage energy efficient light bulbs, thus the room felt darker than it should have been. No called fault for trying to be "greener", however some floor lamps in the corners would go a long way to brightening up the place. The shower was large but didn't have a simple little corner shelf to place toiletries, everything has to be on the floor. Small item admittedly, but if you have enough small items they do add up. You would think that in a suite you could have a couple of "real" glasses instead of paper cups. I asked for some and was told the hotel didn't have any. That's not a deal breaker in any sense of the word, just a little odd.

In places the wall paper was coming loose from the walls in the halls. This isn't a hard fix to correct. The complimentary breakfast that is included is very basic. Bagels, yogurt, some muffins and sweet rolls. There were some biscuits and gravy available. The addition of a few other items would improve this area a lot.

Would I stay here again? Maybe - might try the Holiday Inn Express down the road first however to compare. This place has a really nice location with good views and the potential with a little money and effort to be one of the nicer Ramada's. Its just not quite there yet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RC30319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

I do appreciate your kind words and helpful suggestions. Now that we are the Lake Chatuge Lodge, we do offer a larger breakfast on the weekends. Most rooms do offer a desk to sit at. We do offer a desk on our quiet second floor lobby for guests to use. Our lights are standard compact fluorescent bulbs. The room you stayed in has a fan with lights and 2 on the night stand also. I will take into consideration the fact the it may need a floor lamp or two. I hope that you will give us another chance. I look forward to meeting you when you do.

Thank you,

Katie Stancil
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
1  Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ramada
Thank Lolasayshi
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LakeChatugeLodge, General Manager at Lake Chatuge Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiawassee
2.8 mi away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#2 of 2 in Young Harris
671 reviews
12.5 mi away
Best Western Milton Inn
Best Western Milton Inn
#3 of 3 in Blairsville
196 reviews
16.3 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee
4.1 mi away
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Young Harris
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Chatuge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Chatuge Lodge

Address: 653 Highway 76, Hiawassee, GA 30546-2150
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Hiawassee
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hiawassee
Price Range: $94 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake Chatuge Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Lake Chatuge in the North Georgia Mountains. Right next door to the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds and Anderson Music Hall--all within walking distance. We offer free breakfast, USA Today, high speed wireless internet and parking. All rooms include private balcony or patio. Views of Lake Chatuge and mountains. Conference and meeting facilities available. Restaurant on property. Catering and banquet facilities available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Lake Chatuge Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada, The Lodge On Lake Chatuge Hotel Hiawassee
Ramada Hiawassee
Hiawassee Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing