We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved our visit”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hiawassee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Enota Mountain Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, FL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“loved our visit”
Reviewed August 5, 2006

We just returned from staying in the Seneca cabin at Enota and will definitely be back. The natural beauty of this place cannot be matched. Our cabin was peaceful and secluded and we enjoyed our nightly campfire and especially the flute player who serenades the campground briefly each evening at dusk. We actually chose Enota because it was pet-friendly and we have 2 dogs--although we didn't know what to expect. The Lodge serves great food and carries a surprising amount of provisions. The waterfalls were spectacular! We spent hours each day visiting different parts of the Nat. Forest, but on our next trip, we will spend more time at Enota...it has it all!
L. Myers Naples, FL

Helpful?
8 Thank Lhm665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    70
    25
    35
    32
See reviews for
224
118
23
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 17, 2006

My husband, a couple of friends & I just returned from our trip to Enota. We are refreshed and ready to jump back into the rat race.
Our friends drove their RV and said that the RV site was one of the best they have been to.. They had a wonderful stream right behind their campsite. And a nice little porch with a picnic table and additional seating. My husband & I rented a 1 room cabin. It was clean and adorable. It was not the RItz but it was perfect for what it was and what we were looking for. And we loved the jacuzzi tub.
Enota has clear streams, hiking trails, gorgeous waterfalls, organic gardens and much more. We really enjoyed exploring all that there was to see.
Suan, David, and all the other volunteers ( who were always working on something) were very nice and friendly. You could tell this was a labor of love for them. All they asked of their guests was to respect the land.
The heart of Enota is the Lodge. We had a wonderful Sunday breakfast there served by a lovely woman who's name I cannot remember but I do remember her sweet smile. We were even offered fresh organic milk and eggs right from their farm.
The farm has lot's and lot's of animals which fits right in since Enota is animal friendly. It was great to see all the campers walking there pets. But the Queen of this animal kingdom has got ot be Spirit. Miss Spirit is a mix of several canine breeds but she is truly one in a million. She will happily lead you anywhere you would like to visit at Enota. We watched in awe as she lead a giggling group of kids to the watering hole after they asked her nicely. She took my husband up the 200 foot waterfall trail one afternoon after they had both napped on our cabin porch.
Enota is a lovely and well kept camping facility. We enjoyed ourselves immensley. As I said in the beginning we returned home totally refreshed. We would recommend Enota to anyone who enjoys the outdoors in all of its glory.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
In-Town Atlanta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2006

We rented a two-bedroom cabin in mid May at a rate of $145 per night (plus $10 "donation"). For this healthy chunk of change one might expect that the facilities would be four or even five-star. Sadly, this was far from the case. The cabin smelled musty, the bedcovers appeared not to have been washed since the time of the Native Americans and the freezer in the mini-fridge was a grotesque icy mass due to its not having been defrosted for many, many moons. The “decorations” consisted of dried stems and leaves in vases, platitude plaques and literally the most hideous couch we have ever encountered – brown, tan and greenish “flowers” on a fusty velour-type fabric. The couch, located in the living area, was accented by its surroundings - bright blue and pink wallpaper in a “southwestern” motif, a leaky roof and rodent chew marks near the door.

The property has a nice walk to a waterfall, a playground and three fun trampolines. The basketball court was run down and one basket was gone. The campground looked ok but there were a variety of structures in various states of disrepair – some falling down – and a number of bizarre-looking trailers (think Bates Motel double wide) that the owners were in the process of "installing" (aka placing on raised cinderblocks). The campsites were quite close together, apparently for maximum profits. Which brings to mind another point - Enota claims to be a non-profit, environmentally-friendly facility. From what we saw there was lots of profiteering going on. One could rent a movie ($3!) or fish in the pond ($4.50 per pound!) or have a fire ($$$ per load of wood!). Those who did not take their own sheets off the bed, clean up and take the trash to a specific site were fined ($20!).

The cabin might have been amusing and even charming at $45 per night. But at $145 ... well ... if you want to pay a lot of money to stay in a smelly place where you get to be the maid, this is the place for you. Otherwise, try Vogel State Park down the road or hotels in Young Harris or Blairsville.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank ATL_Mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
enota, General Manager at Enota Mountain Retreat, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
We appreciate your feedback and we really took your comments to heart. At the time we took this facility over, it had been the original Atlanta YMCA Camp in Georgia. We acquired a huge, historic site that was completely run down and had been closed down for four years. Since taking it over, the facility has undergone a major renovation. It takes a tremendous amount of resources to continually upgrade, maintain, and expand our amenities.

We are pleased to say that Enota has dramatically changed over the years and everything has been updated and renewed; furniture, appliances, ceilings, floors and all mechanical systems. It has been a labor of love and a major undertaking as this sacred land deserves no less.

It’s sad that many people have a misconception that “nonprofit” means we shouldn’t bring money in. Money that we generate goes to continuous improvement, programs for guests, grounds upkeep and staff. Many people have no idea of the expenses required to maintain an extensive facility that has as much to offer as we do.

We now offer an organic farm and educational farm tours as a part of our program offerings.
We are sorry that you were not pleased with your stay. If you should come again in the future, you would find that Enota has grown by leaps and bounds and continues to do so with the passing of each day, week, month and year.

This is an undertaking that requires laborious work and tremendous financial investment. Again, we are sorry that your individual experience was a disappointment. We are happy that the majority of our clients are satisfied and are also repeat clients. That’s one hallmark of our continued growth. We appreciate your feedback. You have helped us to be better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucedale, Mississippi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2005

We have just returned from a long weekend in Georgia. We stayed at the Enota Campground, just south of Hiawassee and about 20 miles from Helen. This campground is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen. There are streams running every where and 4 or 5 waterfalls. The campground also has cabins for rent. I didn't see inside but they look very rustic and simple. There is no television and cellphones do not work, but there are movies to rent in the beautiful lodge. Listening to the bubbling stream right outside our door was very soothing. There are numerous places to visit within a 40 mile radius. I have never seen so many state parks, forest service recreation areas and lakes in such a close proximity to each other. Brasstown Bald, the highest point in Georgia, is just a few miles down the road from the campground. We visited some of the many waterfalls and there are quite a few that do not require a long hike. Tallulah Gorge, south of Clayton, was awe-inspiring. The campground is very pet friendly and has a very good website.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank kcooper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiawassee
8.9 mi away
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
9.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
8.8 mi away
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Lake Chatuge Lodge
#2 of 5 in Hiawassee
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#2 of 2 in Young Harris
642 reviews
10.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
9.7 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#6 of 19 in Helen
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enota Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enota Mountain Retreat

Property: Enota Mountain Retreat
Address: 1000 Highway 180, Hiawassee, GA 30546-5408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Hiawassee
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Hiawassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enota is the perfect mountain escape to spend time with your friends and family. Enota is a non-profit conservation facility committed to preserving our beautiful land with a limited number of accommodations including motel hotel rooms, cabins, full hook-up RV sites, pop-up & tent sites and a Retreat Center for conferences, groups, events and seminars. Enota is rated to be in the top 100 camping destinations in the country. Enota Mountain Retreat in Helen Hiawassee Georgia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Enota Mountain Retreat Hotel Hiawassee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing