We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Camping”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hiawassee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Enota Mountain Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2009

We were next to a waterfall. The trails were easy and very pretty. The people were friendly. The restaurant served breakfast and dinner. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EarthGirlsREasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
There are newer reviews for Enota Mountain Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 505 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2009

read and did the best research i could before booking at this place, people nice enough on the phone, but the daily rental rate of 34.00 per night for four people on a rv site seemed outragous and the most we had spent so far for camping per night.. upon arrival had to pay additonal 5 dollars per day for each pet., and another 5 per day for additional vehicle and fire in your firepit, yeah another 5 dollars per day. as you may have gathered, take lots of cash for your trip to enota, which is way out in the woods nearest store as in grocery store is at least 20 miles each way. The lodge where you check in, in neat with emergecy items on hand, to purchase which is nice, no there isnt cable for your 34 per night but they do stock dvds for rental of course..even though you pay extra for your pet each day, it is stickly forbidden for them to bark, or be left alone. the positives, yes there is a farm with some cows, chickens, rabbits, goats and horses. Casey was the nicest person we can in contact with at the farmyard, and seemed to take time to talk to my daughter about the animals she did enjoy milking the cows, and feeding the animals.It rained non stop while we were there, so the muddy streets made it messy enought just going in and out of the rv, but what trails we took were very pretty and the property itself seemed very serene. There is also a trout pond, with teems of rainbow trout,some of them are trapped at the bottom of a small water fall by the main lodge they seemed to be starving,and gobbled up what bread we threw them., and you could fish but yes another fee, 6.00 per pound , We took this as an adventure, but I doubt we will be back, a word to those who decide to go, take lots of money, take lots of food items, the roads are not paved what so ever, it will be extremely muddy if it rains which is did not stop for our trip., also watch out for the patroling you are being watched at all times by management..

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cinibun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

It was the most greatest place we have been. We loved the log cabin, Bear Den. We were there for a week and loved every minute of it. We loved it so much that we didn't want to leave. The staff there were just great too. It was a place that we will go back again. There are many places around that you can go see that is just breath taking and is not far to drive too. You will just love it as much as we did. You will also fall in love with the little Spirit.The bestest little hostest that you will ever come across!!!!!! We will let everyone of our friens know about this little hide away.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sallyangeleyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2009

Enota is beautiful and peaceful. The streams give a soothing sound and the waterfalls are beautiful. The staff is also warm, friendly and giving. Overall I was glad I went and would recommend Enota to anyone wanting a peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tadelores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

This is the place if you love nature. it has it all. Streams, waterfalls, hiking trails. It is so beautiful. You dont ususally get this all in one place. I was surprised at the many types of accomodations. they have cabins, rv sites, tent sites and rooms. We stayed in a cabin. Its not the Ritz - the cabins are rustic, but are clean. there were several groups there all having meetings and good times. this place is one of those green places where they pay a lot of attention to the environmement. if you have a family or just want a place to get away take a look at this one. i talked to several people who have come multiple times and love it there. Enota has a farm where you can visit the animals and they grow their own vegetables and food. We had a delicious breakfast there.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank louisatlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2008

This is where you'll find "the good old days"!
After touring the west by RV all summer my fiance and I stumbled across this delightful place on our way home. We were so enthralled by Enota that we decided to have a family reunion there for Thanksgiving. Nineteen members of our families (ages 6 to 70) arrived occupying guest rooms, log cabins and RV sites. This will be a memory etched forever in all of our minds. The children played in the playgrounds, the teens hiked trails, the youngsters and elders sat by the fire in the lodge, the family gathered around campfires in the evenings, the "photographers" delighted at the many photo opportunities of brooks, streams, waterfalls and ducks. Everyone delighted in milking the cows and gathering the eggs (served for breakfast of course!). While the weather was definitely chilly (20's and 30's) we were all snug and comfortable at night in our accommodations. Thanksgiving dinner was every bit as good (if not better) as any of our home cooked meals (without the cleanup! ;-)) The entire staff was pleasant, friendly and accommodating. The best part was the quality time our family had. No cell phones or cable TV! Everyone actually talked to each other the whole time, even the kids are looking forward to our return. At the risk of losing "our secret shangri-la" I have to rave about this place. Enota Mountain Retreat is for those who still love the land, treasure our earth, enjoy good people and would like to find a bit of their roots in this modern, fast paced, hectic world. For those who lean toward glass, chrome and luxury I would have to say keep shopping, this is a place is for those of us who still have a bit of pioneer spirit and need to reacquaint ourselves with the wholesome "real" world. Our special "Thanks for the Memories" to everyone at Enota!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mountainmaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

the people were wonderful, the grounds were immaculate and the hiking was sublime. I was able to get a massage on property, and every morning the lodge had coffee, tea and camradarie. It's a magical place, especially if you're a nature lover or just looking for a place to unwind.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hikerspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiawassee
9.5 mi away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#2 of 2 in Young Harris
665 reviews
8.8 mi away
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Lake Chatuge Lodge
#2 of 5 in Hiawassee
275 reviews
9.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
10.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
9.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enota Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enota Mountain Retreat

Address: 1000 Highway 180, Hiawassee, GA 30546-5408
Location: United States > Georgia > Hiawassee
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Hiawassee
Price Range: $80 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enota is the perfect mountain escape to spend time with your friends and family. Enota is a non-profit conservation facility committed to preserving our beautiful land with a limited number of accommodations including motel hotel rooms, cabins, full hook-up RV sites, pop-up & tent sites and a Retreat Center for conferences, groups, events and seminars. Enota is rated to be in the top 100 camping destinations in the country. Enota Mountain Retreat in Helen Hiawassee Georgia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Enota Mountain Retreat Hotel Hiawassee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing