We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view-terrible service”

The Blue Otter Restaurant and Sports Bar
Ranked #14 of 46 Restaurants in Hiawassee
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Set on the shore of Lake Chatuge and overlooking The Ridges Marina, The Blue Otter offers the best in Family Friendly Casual Dining on one side and a State of the Art Sports Bar on the other side. Bring your friends and family to the lake and then enjoy a casual meal, adult beverage, and/or a sweet treat while looking at the beautiful North Georgia Mountain vistas.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice view-terrible service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We tried the restaurant shortly after we arrived in town, we wanted a quick stop so we could get out on the lake. We were seated right away. Our drink orders were taken fairly quickly, but that was the last of the speediness.
We were told the kitchen was backed up when there were only 5 other tables of 3-4 people occupied at that time & we should order appetizers so we would not have to wait long for something to eat. So we ordered some apps, which took FOREVER to come & then AFTER the appetizers came, the waitress still did not take our order, we had to wait for her to come back again about 5 minutes later, usually the order is taken after the app order is put into the kitchen so you only have a short delay between courses. A table that came in about 10 minutes after us, same waitress, also was told they should order appetizers, they did, their meals came out before ours, we only ordered sandwiches.
We were given a mixture of plastic silverware as well as regular silverware, that was quite odd. The fries were cold (we did send them back & they were replaced very quickly) our drinks were never refilled because the waitress was in the back talking instead of checking on us, she refilled them when she brought us our checks. The beer was cold so that was good. It took FOREVER to get our check & then when she came back for payment, it took her another 10 minutes to bring our cards back to us.
Overall it took us over an hour & a half for a lunch of sandwiches. Food was not terrible, view was beautiful, but definitely need to work on service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristaWNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia j, Owner at The Blue Otter Restaurant and Sports Bar, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I apologize about the service you received. We are still evaluating our service staff and removing those that cannot perform to our standards. I am glad you liked the food and enjoyed the cold beer. Please try us again next time you are in the area and enjoy the views, food and service.

Thank you,
Alicia Burgess Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    91
    89
    44
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blairsville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Good food. Good service. Have now been several times and can't find anything that was not
Good. Excellent fish and the best pizza in town. Wonderful atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia j, Owner at The Blue Otter Restaurant and Sports Bar, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for your review. We like to think we have the best pizza in town as well!!

Alicia Burgess Jones Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food and Good Family Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Blue Otter is a great family restaurant. The food is excellent and the prices are extremely reasonable. The atmosphere is relaxed and the wait staff is pleasant. All the bread--sandwich buns, pizza dough-- is hand made on the resort premises and that really makes a difference in the taste of the sandwiches.

My family averages once a week eating at The Blue Otter and have never received any bad food. The bar area is separate from the dining area and that makes for a good family atmosphere. The Blue Otter is not a high end restaurant, but I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a good family restaurant. BTW---the pizzas are the best I have ever eaten. My husband won't eat a pizza anywhere else now.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie30512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia j, Owner at The Blue Otter Restaurant and Sports Bar, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. What you said in your review about being family friendly is exactly what we were trying to accomplish!! We look forward to having you eat with us many times in the future!

Sincerely,
Alicia Burgess Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, great service and views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I think the new place is much improved over the old Yacht Club/Boat House. They have a nice selection of food and the prices are very fair. The service has been great the 3 times we have been. I can't understand the negative reviews unless it was opening night, that's always an experience. Don't go in looking for high end dining, its great fun food at fair prices. And a table on the deck right on the lake is just a plus!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laurelmtncabins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia j, Owner at The Blue Otter Restaurant and Sports Bar, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I appreciate the kind words and the fact that you are a repeat diner! I look forward to having you dine with us again in the future as a table right on the lake.

Thank You Again,
Alicia Burgess Jones
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I have spent many years during the summer at Lake Chatuge in Hiawassee, GA. It had been a couple of years since we were up there, so we took some of our FL friends to what used to be "the Boat House", (prior to that it was called "The Yacht Club".) We were impressed by their expansion and remodel of the building. Unfortunately that was all that had improved. The food used to be wonderful. No more - we all had four different items and they were all simply terrible. The nachos were served in a metal pie pan and tasted awful, and my greek salad was soggy with italian (no greek)dressing. My friend could not eat her chicken, bacon wrap because the chicken was fried as hard as a hockey puck (in fact, her dogs refused to eat it)! We had laughed at her husband who had ordered the hot dog, but as it turned out (even though it looked gross) it was the only thing edible. We had talked it up so much but we were so disappointed - I'm afraid they won't be in business if the food doesn't improve. I will say, their pizzas looked pretty good, but we probably won't be going back - too risky.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoGoTravelCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia j, Owner at The Blue Otter Restaurant and Sports Bar, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you appreciated the changes made during the remodel. I am not sure what your expectations were since everything was terrible. We have actually been getting good comments about our food. You mentioned that your nachos were served in a metal pie pan. That seemed to set a bad precedent. We use those to present the nachos in because of the atmosphere we are trying to create. A relaxed unpretentious restaurant to enjoy good food, friends and great views. Did you bring your issues to the attention of your server? I am sure that if you did they would have made sure the food was to your liking. If you came thinking we were going to be just like the previous establishments I am sorry, we are better!! I invite you to come and eat with us again.

Sincerely,
Alicia Burgess Jones
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Otter Restaurant and Sports Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Otter Restaurant and Sports Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing