We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner and Lunch at Lakeside Bar and Grill” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Blue Otter Restaurant and Sports Bar

The Blue Otter Restaurant and Sports Bar
Ranked #14 of 45 Restaurants in Hiawassee
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Set on the shore of Lake Chatuge and overlooking The Ridges Marina, The Blue Otter offers the best in Family Friendly Casual Dining on one side and a State of the Art Sports Bar on the other side. Bring your friends and family to the lake and then enjoy a casual meal, adult beverage, and/or a sweet treat while looking at the beautiful North Georgia Mountain vistas.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dinner and Lunch at Lakeside Bar and Grill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Ate here twice on our visit. I would rate this somewhere between average and very good. Unique menu with good bar food. We tried pimento cheese and the pork rind apps they were both great. The hamburger was good too! Saw people enjoy wings and pizza. Overall food was great.

As for servers we were 1 for 2. One was great, one was so so.

Our biggest negative was the kitchen is slow. For the type of food that they are serving, they should be more efficient.

Our second trip, we arrived by boat and ate outside, that was pretty cool.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelTeamC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia j, Owner at The Blue Otter Restaurant and Sports Bar, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. I appreciate the comments you gave as we are relatively new and have got most of the opening kinks out but are still getting rid of a few! I do hope you will visit us again!!

Thank You,
Alicia Burgess Jones
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    90
    89
    43
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crozet, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Casual lakefront eats and drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Views were great. We just missed the music that was wrapping up, but sounded like a fun time. Food was tasty--burgers, sandwiches, etc. Good beer selections for cooling off after a day on the water. Walking distance from Ridges Resort where we were staying and boat dock available for access by water.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia j, Manager at The Blue Otter Restaurant and Sports Bar, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am glad you enjoyed your meal and the short walk between the Lodge and The Blue Otter. Hope you will dine with us again next time you are in the area!!

Alicia Burgess Jones
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“GREAT hamburger”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Service was only fair. Pleasant waitresses, but extremely slow to come over to the table. Nice view from the deck, but a great hamburger. If you stay at the Ridges Resort, you get a 10% discount, but tell them right up front. We didn't tell our waitress until the check came and then she couldn't revise the check and the manager was busy for at least 20 minutes. She offered to take the $3 off her tip, but since that was the tip, we couldn't do it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia j, Owner at The Blue Otter Restaurant and Sports Bar, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review! I agree our hand pattied burgers on fresh in house made buns are the BEST!!. I apologize for the speed of service you experienced. It is our goal to provide the quickest and most friendly service in the area! Our staff are constantly reminded and retrained to provide that level of service! I hope next time you are our guest you will dine with us again! We are making improvements each and everyday.

Thank You,
Alicia Burgess Jones
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Young Harris
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I went here last week with some friends, great atmosphere with an excellent view of Lake Chatuge. I had the salmon burger was terrific!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank giantmetfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia j, Owner at The Blue Otter Restaurant and Sports Bar, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to have you dine with us again.

Thank you,
Alicia Burgess Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Creative menu and a great beer selection. They had a lot of local brews. We ordered the lefty pizza and it was awesome!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TMac0020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia j, Owner at The Blue Otter Restaurant and Sports Bar, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review!! I am happy to read you enjoyed yourself! Hope to have you dine with us in the near future!!

Thank You,
Alicia Burgess Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Otter Restaurant and Sports Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Blue Otter Restaurant and Sports Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing