We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Oaks - CLOSED

The Oaks
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Oaks offers a fine dining experience with a seasonally influenced dinner menu, including fine steaks, prime rib, chicken, and fresh seafood selections. Beautiful presentations of fresh food, simply prepared, coupled with an attentive staff, makes The Oaks the perfect choice for intimate dining or entertaining. Enjoy casual elegance in a stately paneled dining room or cocktails on our lakefront terrace amidst beautiful surroundings.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Food was excellent & the service was great. Our servier Lashea was patient, personable & friendly. They are doing things right at this restaurant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bradley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    43
    22
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant find for great food”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Oaks presents food that they call "Farm to Table". They use local foods, presented in a southern gourmet way. The trout is excellent as are their pastas and vegetables. The Oaks will also cater to dietary needs.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Zakasana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good food, should probably make RSVP!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were staying at The Ridges and had a Groupon which included a discount at the restaurant. Unfortunately we didnt make RSVP on a Saturday night (doh!) but we were seated at the bar until a table was ready, less than 30min. We had draft beers and an appetizer while waiting. All the prices were reasonable, most appetizers were less than $10. We were seated and ready to order, Chicken Alfredo and Shrimp with Grits. Both were very good and less than $16 each. There were higher end dinners available including lobster and steaks, but those we will splurge on another visit. I would visit the restaurant again when in Hiawassee, really interested in trying more of the pasta dishes. Thanks for the nice evening!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridges30546, Food and Beverage Director at The Oaks, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Oaks! I'm glad that you were able to join us on a busy Saturday. You are right...reservations are often a good idea, but we will always do our best to accommodate all guests, so I'm delighted that you relaxed at the bar until your table is ready. We look forward to welcoming you back time and time again. We do have an extensive menus with a variety of price points and, in fact, have just launched our new Spring menu and hope to share it with you soon.

Tyler Hopf - Food and Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flowery Branch, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Oaks Hiawasse GA”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Although the place was beautiful, it was the "first night" of a new menu. My husband ordered a steak well done, and it came out bright pink. It almost grossed him out enough to not eat at all. They did give a 10% discount and a free dessert. They were very apologetic about it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sueq0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Two amazing dinners”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I've eaten at The Oaks twice now, on two separate occasions. Both times we stayed at The Ridges resort also, once a weekend with my sister and the second, a weekend away with my husband. Both times, I had exemplary service and wonderful food. From the appetizers, salads, entrees to dessert, I could tell a lot of thought and detail went into the menu and presentation. Lovely Cheese plate, amazing Garlic Bisque and fabulous Flounder Oscar. We left full, happy and satisfied. The view is also very relaxing, just what we needed. We will definitely be back, thank you!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Twinloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridges30546, Food and Beverage Director at The Oaks, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We are honored that you dined twice with us recently! Thanks for your great review of your "exemplary" experiences. The fact that you left "full and satisfied" is music to our ears! We can't wait to exceed your expectations again on your next visit to The Oaks.

Tyler Hopf - Food and Beverage Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oaks also viewed

 
Hayesville, North Carolina Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing