We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of The Oaks

The Oaks
Ranked #11 of 48 Restaurants in Hiawassee
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Oaks offers a fine dining experience with a seasonally influenced dinner menu, including fine steaks, prime rib, chicken, and fresh seafood selections. Beautiful presentations of fresh food, simply prepared, coupled with an attentive staff, makes The Oaks the perfect choice for intimate dining or entertaining. Enjoy casual elegance in a stately paneled dining room or cocktails on our lakefront terrace amidst beautiful surroundings.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great food and service. Love the bread. Chicken alfredo was yummy. Fast friendly service. Desserts are good too. Beautiful spot on lake chatuge.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lorielli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridges30546, Food and Beverage Director at The Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thanks for your review of your "great" experience with us at The Oaks! I'm glad you enjoyed the bread, chicken alfredo and desserts - and of course the view is, indeed, spectacular! We hope we will be able to welcome you back again very soon!

Tyler Hopf - Food and Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 126 of 214 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Desserts arn't anything special. our burgers were CHARRED.The shrimp rossoto was bland, the portobello tower was overpowering, didn't go together at all. The Oscar Flounder was pretty good, and the Calamari fritters resembled fish sticks but were really good. Sally at the bar is nice & makes really good lemon drop martinis...All in all wouldn't go back tho

1  Thank smc0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridges30546, Food and Beverage Director at The Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

I am disappointed and concerned to receive a one ball rating from you regarding your experience with us at The Oaks. And I am even more disappointed that your feedback was not relayed to me or our Executive Chef at all during your experience. We would have certainly and swiftly addressed the items that you did not deem acceptable to assure that your experience concluded successfully.

I would be interested to learn more about the desserts you selected. We have an outstanding, award-winning pastry chef, who prepares all homemade desserts daily and with a variety of choice. She is always happy to address any special requests or dietary needs as well to assure enjoyment.

Regarding your burger, all of these, as well as other grilled items on our menu, are always cooked over an open flame to order. Again, I am sorry that you did not express your disappointment in the item while with us, as we would have been happy to prepare another for you with less charred flame appearance. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the “overpowering” Portobello Tower, as that is one of most requested and popular menu items. In fact, just last month, The Atlanta Journal Constitution featured Chef Engelmann’s Portobello Tower and the recipe for guests to create at home, at the enthusiastic request of one of our past guests who loved it so much. Since that feature, many new guests have sought us out to come and enjoy this unique dish, as well as the shrimp risotto that accompanies it.

I was delighted to learn that you did enjoy the Oscar Flounder and the Calamari, though they were not fritters but, in fact, Calamari Fries, intended to be a take on French fries. And I will share your kind comments with Sheila (not Sally) and that you enjoyed her lemon drop martinis.

We do hope that you understand how concerned we are in providing our guests with an amazing experience when dining at The Oaks. We would happily work to rectify any of your stated food disappointments immediately. Your low rating of your experience is typically reserved as an overall “Terrible” rating by TripAdvisor, and clearly we succeeded in many areas of your experience as you outlined, certainly not deserving of this poor rating. I hope that you will allow us to win you over in the near future. Please contact me personally so that I can make all of your arrangements for the experience you deserve.

Tyler Hopf – Food and Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

After a late afternoon movie, there's no discussion about where we are going for dinner. We head across the street to the bar at The Oaks where Sheila welcomes us, involves us in the bar conversation, introduces us to other patrons and just in general , makes everyone feel like part of the Oaks family.
The food is delicious...best cheese tray we have ever had. And if you are luckyenough to go on a night when Chef makes smoked salmon cakes, get two orders...they are THAT good! The oysters are amazing; the soups are interesting, but usually yummy. The Oaks is a place to visit over and over and over - as a couple, by yourself, with friends or to hold a large meeting. They have the room for most any size group.Don't miss it!!!

1  Thank Lady0ftheLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridges30546, Food and Beverage Director at The Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for your rave review of The Oaks! We are thrilled that you feel a part of our family - and we agree that Sheila is a wonderful member of it. Guests always enjoy how she sincerely welcomes and engages them in the experience. Chef was happy to learn that you so enjoy his smoked salmon cakes as well. Be sure to let us know when you will be returning so that we can be certain to have them on the menu for you that evening. We look forward to welcoming you and friends back again soon!

Tyler Hopf - Food and Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We loved this restaurant. Very romantic, quiet and yummy. Very nice presentation on their food too. Try to make the happy hour and the early bird special. Fantastic!

1  Thank Bearnecessite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridges30546, Food and Beverage Director at The Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

We love that YOU loved The Oaks! Thanks for your kind words about our special restaurant and your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back for happy hour, the early bird special, and anytime else you desire!

Tyler Hopf - Food and Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Oaks Restaurant remains one of my favorites for freshness, uniqueness and taste for nice restaurants in Hiawassee. Their service is some what slow, but the food cannot be beat for uniqueness, freshness and of course, taste. The staff is always great! Somehow, they handle the special occasions reasonably well. Glad to have them in Hiawassee!

1  Thank southernaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridges30546, Food and Beverage Director at The Oaks, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thanks for your great review and we are thrilled that The Oaks remains at the top of your favorite list to dine. We take pride in providing fresh and unique entrees and desserts, and we are delighted that you enjoy them. I will share your nice comments about our staff! We, too, are glad to be here for you in Hiawassee. I look forward to welcoming you back personally and often!

Tyler Hopf - Food and Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oaks also viewed

 

Been to The Oaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing