We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch”
Review of Chophouse of Hiawassee - CLOSED

Chophouse of Hiawassee
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. It will reopen in Spring 2017. The Chophouse of Hiawassee will be closed beginning on January 2nd for renovations. Chef James will be introducing his new concept "Hawg Wild BBQ and Catfish House" sometime in early spring. This will be his 4th such restaurant with the other locations being in Clarkesville, Commerce and lake Burton, Georgia. The renovations will include a redesign of the dining room and kitchen areas, covering the front lakeview patio and building a new smokehouse. Hawg Wild BBQ and Catfish House is known for it's authentic BBQ and the freshest catfish available. We look forward to welcoming you to the new restaurant this spring!
Hayesville
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We have seasonally visited the area for years and never skip a stop at The Chophouse. Lakeside "Surf and Turf" or a simple bison burger, this place has it down pat. The crew, the view, the menu... can't be beat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank silverblingzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    120
    79
    36
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crystal River, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Lots of menu choices. Good food, good atmosphere. Can be a dressy or a casual place to dine. Would definitely go back again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food and reasonably priced!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Chop House handled a large group of bikers (19 of us) with one waiter! He did a fantastic job of taking care of us. Every got their orders promptly and correctly.
Food was pretty darn good and the prices were excellent. Two thumbs up.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ducvw2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The location was very definitely the best part of Chophouse. We dined here on a Saturday night and sat outside with a lovely view of Lake Chatuge. Could have been Lake Como! The food was ok but nothing out of the ordinary. I ordered the "Blackened Grouper" sandwich which was definitely talipia, not grouper. Why not just be honest about it? It was well-priced and I would still have ordered it even knowing it was talipia. Just don't like to be tricked! Otherwise, our group had trout (a very sweet sauce), salmon (good) and prime rib (ok). If you go to Chophouse, don't expect fabulous food but do sit outside (bring a sweater) and enjoy the gorgeous view.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KkkkKatie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top of the line steakhouse”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Quite frankly, the best meal I've had on vacation in years. And the prices were so low that I had to verify that we had the right check. You can't go wrong where.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank VernardM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chophouse of Hiawassee also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing