We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WILL RETURN”
Review of Chophouse of Hiawassee - CLOSED

Chophouse of Hiawassee
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This place is temporarily closed due to renovation. It will reopen in Spring 2017. The Chophouse of Hiawassee will be closed beginning on January 2nd for renovations. Chef James will be introducing his new concept "Hawg Wild BBQ and Catfish House" sometime in early spring. This will be his 4th such restaurant with the other locations being in Clarkesville, Commerce and lake Burton, Georgia. The renovations will include a redesign of the dining room and kitchen areas, covering the front lakeview patio and building a new smokehouse. Hawg Wild BBQ and Catfish House is known for it's authentic BBQ and the freshest catfish available. We look forward to welcoming you to the new restaurant this spring!
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“WILL RETURN”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Had a rez from Henson Cove (20%) discount. (Unimportant deal ... just nice to get.) Hostess and server, Daniel, were most pleasant and extremely professional. Placed fill quickly .. early bird types. Thursday night. Which we might fit that profile. Any way ... a good selection of wines by the galls and by the bottle ... dinner was well-paced ... we noted that we had no dog, cat, or baby sitter a-waiting ... so "No rush". The salads were very good assembled with an imagination ... the "bread" was a squash-based w/ a garlic butter. Had to hold back on that until the entrees arrived. My trout was festooned with grilled yellow squash ... perfect.

Lor had a slab of pork that we brought home and put in into some mixed beans that we had lurking in Whitemarsh I. Ain't it great?

Daniel then got me in a verbal head lock and forced, yes, forced Lor n I to take a 'Chocolate Volcano" dessert of some sort. Normal humans could not consume one, each. Comment: "Bueno"!

We had a view of the lake. Decor was swank ... but not over-done ...

The bottom "Bottom Line" is ... good-to-go!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anthonytP3213PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    120
    79
    36
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hayesville, North Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Ahi Tuna Steak”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My absolute favorite thing on their menu is their Ahi Tuna Steak, while it is pricey, it's comparable to getting that same dish anywhere else. One of the things that I like about Chop House is that they change their menu, but they still keep favorites, or at least they'll bring them back, kind of on a rotation, but they always seem to be trying new dishes to see how they will go. This is a great place to go with a friend or on a date because it's not loud, and you feel comfortable just sitting and chatting while you're having dinner. The prices are very reasonable, and their lunch menu is also great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, SC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Service, good food”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We didn't have reservations, but were seated very quickly. Our waiter was very attentive, without being too pushy. The Caesar Salad was one the best we've had in a long time! While pricey, it was very good and will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stopped there on a Sunday evening and 6 of us along with 4 other people were turned away because they were closing in 5 minutes. We went back another night and the food was excellent. Dish washer does not do a very good job but the Chef most certainly does!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Play it again Sam...”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The meal was less than stellar. This is a disappointment compared to earlier visits, which were outstanding. The chef is obviously very talented. I can only assume the good cooks had the day off and the B team couldn't execute properly. The Ahi Tuna appetizer was not good at all, the tuna was one of the highlights of our past visits. The tuna was tiny aside from being cooked medium when requested rare. The crab legs weren't seasoned and didn't seem to have much attention paid to them at all. The prime rib was tender and cut properly to temp. The amount of vegetable on the plate was "why bother" which was probably a good thing. The sun dried tomatoes in the vegetable weren't prepared properly leaving a nasty after taste. On the good side, the wine list is good and the chocolate layer cake was so phenomenally great it should be illegal. The service was very good as it was in previous visits and very attentive. We will return to the chop house the next time we are in town as this is a stand out restaurant. The restaurant choices are few and far between in the area and only reach the highest level of mundane. Bottom line, I would advise dining at the Chop House and packing a lunch for the rest of your visit here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chefbigdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chophouse of Hiawassee also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing