We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best BBQ around”
Review of The Happy Hawg BBQ

The Happy Hawg BBQ
Ranked #1 of 47 Restaurants in Hiawassee
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Defiantly Like Nobody else! We pull to order,then it's hand chopped! Freshness you can taste! Smoked Pork,Chicken,Turkey and Ribs! "Where the locals eat" Come See Us! We are located 1/2 Mile west of the North Georgia Fairgrounds. On the right. Heading west towards Young Harris. Seating is limited! Summer Hours: Wednesday--Saturday. 11:00 Am--7:00 Pm Sunday. 11:00 Am--3:00 pm
Hayesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best BBQ around”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

My wonderful husband and I ate at the Happy Hawg last night and felt like stuffed pigs by the time we left. Service, staff, cleanliness are unbeatable. Their bbq dishes are unequaled. I had never had pork sliders before, and they were delicious as was the side dishes. Hubby had ribs and ate each bone clean. You can't beat that! Tables inside plus al fresco eating which is perfect for cooler weather.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    38
    17
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hiawassee, GA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in town!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This is the best bbq in Hiawassee! Great hours and really nice hosts. Eat in or take out, you won't be dissapointed.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Windycindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mighty fine 'Cue”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

Seven hungry folks, all barbecue lovers, attacked this place on an otherwise quiet Saturday afternoon. We were a split 'cue group: some mustard, some vinegar/pepper, and some tomato. How could one place possibly please such differences that have started wars and such? But the gently smoked meat (pork shoulder, I'm betting) was served without sauce, and each of us could select his/her fave from the three on the table; detente! The 'cue was tender and succulent, juicy but not greasy. The sides were not exciting, but we didn't care; we were after the 'cue.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Whirlwind2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiawassee, Georgia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Kevin v you are an idiot. what ever made you mad that day you should not take out on a restaurant.This is some of the best bbq ever.they surely didn't deserve the review you gave. people disregard that review.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Ga
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very good BBQ--GREAT SERVICE!!!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Based on TripAdvisor reviews, we tried out the Happy Hawg. Good choice--very good BBQ, and the staff/owner were great. One of the staff (maybe owner?), Kelly, took me in back to show me his smoker--going full "blast" with Boston Butts and ribs.
The fired corn is excellent--the first time I have had this particular morsel. The Brunswick stew has a fantastic body to it, with generous pieces of BBQ in the stew. My stew had a bit too much vinegar for me, but being close to North Carolina, not un-expected. Less vinegar would make this, hands down, the best Brunswick I have had. (North Carolina cole slaw has the same "vinegary" taste.)
Out chopped pork was moist, nicely smoked, and great flavor. Three sauces are available: South Carolina mustard based, and two ketchup based sauces that had very good flavors (one spicy, one sweeter.)
Great Southern style hospitality--they treated us like long lost cousins. For two pulled pork sandwich plates, an upcharge for the stew, and water to drink--$16.
Nice outdoor seating, with a view of the mountains.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank carolyn021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Happy Hawg BBQ also viewed

 

Been to The Happy Hawg BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing