We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New mattresses needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hiawassee
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New mattresses needed”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed at the Ridges for four nights in late June 2013. Asked to switch rooms because of terrible, saggy mattress and springs. We were switched, and the bed was no better. Both mattresses were the same make and produced in 2005. Walls in the second room were very thin. Group next door partied until midnight...very loud. Fitness center is not adequate. The resort was very pretty and the staff was very accommodating.

Room Tip: Check bed before moving into room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia j, Owner at Ridges Resort & Marina, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I am glad to read that you enjoyed the grounds and property and that our staff was accommodating. You commented about our mattresses being saggy. Mattress comfort is a very subjective issue. We have had some people comment our mattresses are to hard and others like yourself say they are too soft. We try to find a middle ground that will please the most guests. As far as the age of the mattresses they are within industry norms. I would like to apologize for the noisy neighbors you had. I do hope you called the desk to let them know of the noise. If notified, our staff does everything it can to get the noisy guests to respect the other guests in the lodge. Our fitness room is small but in our experience, our guests tend to enjoy outdoor activities especially on the lake when exercising, thus we decided to invest more into outdoor activities such as peddle boats and canoes while at that the same time providing an area for our guests who would rather use an exercise room. I do hope the next time you are in the are you will be our guest again.

Sincerely,
Alicia Burgess Jones
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    155
    64
    27
    9
See reviews for
144
321
8
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We love coming to the Ridges. We have been coming here for about five years and we love it more each time we visit.
It's so beautiful and a great family atmosphere. We try to visit several times a year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia j, Owner at Ridges Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and your continued patronage!!! It is reviews like this that let me know we are providing the right service, atmosphere and facilities to have guests stay with us more than once.

Thank you
Alicia Burgess Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiawassee, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Recently stayed at the Ridges. This charming little resort is located on the west end of Hiawassee, and directly on the edge of Lake Chatuge. In addition to the spectacular views, the food in the Oaks restaurant was great, and having the ability to rent a pontoon boat just yards from the lodge, made it all worthwhile. Very relaxed and un-assuming. Spent the weekend in shorts and t-shirt and felt right at home. Quick 1.5 hours north from Atlanta and well worth the trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lakeview Room!!! All have balconies or patio's, but you'll be most happy if you g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fsumtnguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia j, Owner at Ridges Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. I was glad to read you had a great stay. I hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are nearby! Thank you for the kind words!

Alicia Burgess Jones
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellijay, GA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We just got back from the Ridges Resort and the 26th Annual Antiques & Classic boat Rendezvous. The Ridges provided wonderful food for the banquet, the location is perfect for boating and the staff is the best. I would highly recommend this for group meetings, couples and family getaways.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cabinqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia j, Owner at Ridges Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words!. It has been our pleasure to host your event for 26 years. We look forward to hosting the event many more years!

Alicia Burgess Jones
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We just completed a corporate retreat at The Ridges Resort and couldn't have been more pleased with the setting, accommodations, food, service and friendliness of the staff. The prices, from rooms to meals, are also very affordable. Typically we stay in more well known locations and at "high end" hotels and resorts. Stumbling upon the Ridges name, we decided to give it a try, despite no one being familiar with the resort or location. All I can say is we're glad we did and we will definitely be back. If you're looking for a great getaway, within easy striking distance of Atlanta, Charlotte, TN or SC give this place a try. I'll be coming back with my wife in July for sure to enjoy the lake and nearby outdoor activities.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room when you book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAWatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia j, Owner at Ridges Resort & Marina, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for the raving review!! I was pleased to read that every aspect of you and your companies stay met your needs and expectations!! I look forward to having you stay with us again both as a meeting group and as an individual!!

Thank you once again for the kind words and recommendation!!

Alicia Burgess Jones
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We went there for our babymoon during the Memorial Day weekend. The property is in a beautiful locale and by that virtue alone, is worth exploring.

When we booked, we found that none of the travel websites had any vacancy for our dates (we booked just 2 days earlier). However, the hotel website showed vacancy for double twin-bed rooms. We chose the romance package for 2 nights. This package works out much cheaper for couples than regular rates, considering one night's dinner is covered; plus there are some goodies - wine n cheese, chocolate covered strawberries.

While we were hopeful of the place living up to its reputation based on reviews in tripadvisor, we felt let down by a few things.

The good:
Room was clean, staff were very friendly and courteous (we had several friendly conversations with Vickie), the locale was wonderful.

The bad:
While one night's dinner was included at The Oaks, there were no vegetarian-friendly items on the menu. The waitress helped us by conjuring up some combinations of veggie fare, which ultimately ended up being quite tasty. That being said, the items in the menu seemed overpriced. We went to a nearby oriental cuisine restaurant (Asiano) the next day and were able to get very tasty food at much more affordable rates.

The ugly:
As has been mentioned in other reviews here, the place is ideal for weddings. If there are weddings going on, it can get noisy, which defeats the whole concept of being at peace surrounded by nature. Moreover, loud music was being played late into the night. When we called the reception we realized that it was coming from across the lake and that they had no control over it!
The pathways are covered with dog-poop and badly need cleaning.

Bottomline:
We liked the locale and easy access to nearby scenic byways.
We would have loved it much more but for the problems mentioned above.
Price is reasonable factoring in meals and goodies.

Room Tip: Booking on the hotel's website is more likely to get you a "room with a view" than on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drsunad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia j, Owner at Ridges Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Also congratulations on your new family addition! I will pass your comments on to Vickie as well as the housekeeping staff. As far as The Oaks experience, even though we do not have vegetarian menu items listed, our culinary staff is amazing at creating dishes for any special needs whether vegetarian or for dietary restrictions. As far as the menu prices, our culinary staff uses locally sourced items as well as organic items whenever possible to prepare the meals. We are a good location for weddings and May is a peak month in the wedding season. Though we do everything we can to insure all of our guests have the experience they are looking for, sometimes the wedding celebrations can get very "joyous". The Memorial Day weekend is the beginning of the boating season and businesses as well as people on the lake like to celebrate thus the music. As far as the dog poop I am a bit confused. We do not allow pets on property and there should not be any dog poop. Unfortunately we do have geese that have taken up residence to raise their young and they can leave quite a mess. We diligently try to keep that to a minimum and I apologize that you may have experienced it!

Thank You and Congratulations Once Again on Your New Family Addition!!

Alicia Burgess Jones
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

First, let me say that the staff here are friendly, helpful and courteous.
Don't stay here, however, if there is a wedding and you're not a member of the wedding party.
It was our first time in Hiawassee to relax by Chatuge Lake. It turns out there were several wedding parties. They commandeered the lobby with their own food and alcohol. The noise from the music outside was so loud at night the TV set would not drown out the noise. Early the next morning there were people sleeping in the lobby on the furniture!
The front desk promoted the Blue Otter restaurant for casual dining. We went there but most of the items on the menu were not available. We drove to a nearby grocery store and bought food for the room.

The catering service for the wedding events was operated from a room facing the lake. The workers passed by our glass patio door on a regular basis. There was no privacy at all.
If you go, make sure to ask whether there is a wedding. If so, don't go.

Room Tip: Weddings are held outside close to the water front. If there's a wedding you cannot enjoy the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dontbelate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicia j, Owner at Ridges Resort & Marina, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Let me start by saying thank you for your kind comments in regards to our staff. We did have 2 weddings over Memorial Day Weekend. I am sorry that their celebrations took away from your relaxing getaway. Due to the size and location of the 2 wedding parties, we did have to stage one of the events from a guestroom that had lake side access so we could service the event. Our staff are trained to try to be as invisible as possible so as not to disturb our guests. Sometimes that is almost impossible to do. I apologize once again for the disturbance you experienced.
The Blue Otter is our newest addition to our dining outlets and had a soft opening on Saturday the 25th. The response was overwhelming and we did have to go to a limited menu due to the volume of guests.

I do hope you will stay with us again!!

Thank You,
Alicia Burgess Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiawassee
2.8 mi away
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Lake Chatuge Lodge
#3 of 6 in Hiawassee
250 reviews
14.0 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
19.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#6 of 18 in Helen
324 reviews
1.8 mi away
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Young Harris
835 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridges Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridges Resort & Marina

Property: Ridges Resort & Marina
Address: 3499 Highway 76 E, Hiawassee, GA 30546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Hiawassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hiawassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ridges Resort & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the peaceful shores of Lake Chatuge in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Georgia, you'll find the scenic escape of The Ridges Resort & Marina. Just two hours from Atlanta, our lakeside oasis is filled with recreational activities from boating to championship golf. Whether you're looking to recharge, spend some family time, or find the perfect corporate retreat, choose The Ridges Resort & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ridges Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridges Resort And Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina Hotel Hiawassee
Ridges Hotel Hiawassee
Fieldstone Resort Hiawassee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing