We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couples Get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hiawassee
Certificate of Excellence
Grayson, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Couples Get-away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

A wonderful place to relax and just "be" still and reconnect with each other. The rooms are very nicely appointe. The lobby is outstanding for a fireside chat, playing a card game all while sipping Ms. Vickie's Hot Cider and delicious cookies. Ms. Vickie was very gracious and helpful as was the other staff we had contact with. The breakfast was fine with a varied assortment offered. You may want to ask for additional fitted sheet if the feathers bother you, reminded me of grandma's. Our visit was wonderful we took in a movie right down the street. I recommend Cafe Portofino and Mary's Southern Grill if gourmet food is not your style. Loved the grounds and will be back in the summer. The exercise room could use a weight set of some kind. As a veteran I thank you for recognizing that it really means more than a few dollars off the rate, not saying that's bad....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridges30546, General Manager at Ridges Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and spending your couples getaway with us at The Ridges! Sometimes the best activity is to simply reconnect and just "be" and we are so glad that we could provide a special place for you to do so. I will share your nice comments about Ms. Vickie and the rest of the staff, as they do, indeed, work hard to assure that our guests are well cared for and with special touches like the hot cider and afternoon cookies. We hope that you will allow us to welcome you back again to "be" very soon!

Chad Hooper - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    156
    64
    27
    9
See reviews for
144
321
8
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a wonderful winter stay in the most beautiful place in the Hiawassee and Young Harris area. The room was over the top beautiful. My wife was awed by the decor of the room as I was too. The resort staff was professional and gracious. The common area was spectacular as many people were enjoying the wonderful fireplace. We look forward to returning to the resort soon.

Mark York

Room Tip: Get the Suite. It was over the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridges30546, General Manager at Ridges Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your recent visit to The Ridges Resort. We are delighted that you and your wife enjoyed your stay and were "awed" by our beautiful Lodge decor. I will share your nice comments about our team, and look forward to welcoming you both back for another relaxing visit by the fireplace soon!

Chad Hooper - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelers Rest, SC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful two days and nights at the Ridges Resort as a weekend get-away. We were looking for a place that we could just "chill-out" and this fit the bill perfectly. I can't say enough positive comments about the staff. From the minute we walked through the front doors we were greeted by the very friendly and helpful staff who are amazing at their jobs. Vickie is extremely nice and went out of her way to make sure that we were comfortable and had hot cider and cookies ready for the guests every afternoon as well as a nice fire in the firepit with all the makings for Smores available. She as well as the other staff members were constantly taking care of the needs of the guests. The lobby area is wonderfully comfortable for reading, talking or even taking a nap. Hiawassee is a quaint little mountain town and the Ridges fits perfectly into that scene with its construction of rock and stone. We dined at the Oaks Restaurant there on site and had a very nice meal without having to leave the property to do so. We highly recommend the Ridges Resort if you are looking for a cozy, comfortable place to stay. Shera D. and Jerry D.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheraD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridges30546, General Manager at Ridges Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing The Ridges for your weekend getaway. We are pleased that we were able to provide the perfect setting for you to "chill-out" and relax in our special lodge and setting. We sincerely appreciate your kind comments about your staff and your experience. We work hard to provide our guests with an extraordinary sense of comfort and "home" and were glad that you recognized our efforts! Thank you for your kind recommendation of us to your friends, and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon!

Chad Hooper - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I spent New Year's at the Ridges. It was our first trip there, and will not be the last. The package was very complete and reasonable. Excellent food and entertainment, and the staff was excellent. I am sure that it is even more entertaining during the wrmer months when you could enjoy all the amenities, but we were extremely satisfied with the package we received.

Room Tip: Lakeside, first floor for easy access, however the second floor rooms provided a little better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridges30546, General Manager at Ridges Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
We are thrilled that you rang in the New Year by enjoying our special celebration package at The Ridges Resort! Thank you for joining us and for sharing your "excellent" experience with us! We all enjoyed hosting this special evening for our guests. There are, indeed, many additional activities and amenities that you can enjoy in our lakeside mountain setting when you return in the warmer months, so we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please let me know if there is anything I can do to assist you personally with arrangements.

Chad Hooper - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

My daughter gave us a one night stay at the Ridges, Monday, December 10th. There were two couples in the whole hotel. The lobby was decorated well....However, when we went to our room, I was ready to shower, and lo and behold all the rust from the bathtub was coming up through the paint in the bathtub. The bathroom was dirty, full of black fingerprints on the door. No extra blanket was given....It was a cold and rainy night. The biggest disappointment was that THE GOURMET RESTAURANT IS CLOSED SUNDAY AND MONDAY. This was my birthday dinner. We heard so much about the restaurant. FORTUNATELY, WE FOUND A WONDERFUL RESTAURANT TWO MILES AWAY CALLED MURPHY's...OUTSTANDING...
The Ridges, a definite thumbs down. Too bad, beautiful location and I am sure lovely in the summer..but should definitely stay closed in the winter, especially if the restaurant is not open nor was there a bar after 7:00pm.....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 444Riorita444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We wanted a few days of quiet and relaxation after hectic holidays, and this was the perfect place. The Lodge was beautifully decorated. We hung out by the fireplace and read for hours. The staff was wonderful. We had a great dinner at The Oaks restaurant -- the service was tops there also. Cookies and cider were in the lobby every afternoon, and we really couldn't complain about anything. All of the staff made us feel completely at home! Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaMama2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridges30546, General Manager at Ridges Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
We are delighted that you chose The Ridges to rejuvenate after the hectic holiday season. It sounds like you are able to take full advantage of our relaxing atmosphere and special touches. Our team was happy to host you and we are thrilled that you enjoyed relaxing in our serene setting and a wonderful dinner in The Oaks. We hope that you will return again soon!

Chad Hooper - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We Loved The Ridges! The resort and staff were wonderful. Roomy, super comfortable room and beautiful furnished. Dined twice at the restaurant The Oaks and it was delicious. Again, staff are outstanding, friendly and made us feel at home. We'll visit again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridges30546, General Manager at Ridges Resort & Marina, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
We are delighted that you loved The Ridges! We loved hosting you in our special resort. Thank you for your wonderful comments about our staff and your experience at The Oaks. We strive to make you feel at home, yet provide you with special amenities and services as if you were visiting a friend's home. We look forward to your return visit home to see us again!

Chad Hooper - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiawassee
2.8 mi away
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Lake Chatuge Lodge
#3 of 6 in Hiawassee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
14.0 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
19.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Unicoi State Park & Lodge
1.8 mi away
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Young Harris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hiawassee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridges Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridges Resort & Marina

Property: Ridges Resort & Marina
Address: 3499 Highway 76 E, Hiawassee, GA 30546
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Hiawassee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hiawassee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ridges Resort & Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the peaceful shores of Lake Chatuge in the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Georgia, you'll find the scenic escape of The Ridges Resort & Marina. Just two hours from Atlanta, our lakeside oasis is filled with recreational activities from boating to championship golf. Whether you're looking to recharge, spend some family time, or find the perfect corporate retreat, choose The Ridges Resort & Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ridges Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ridges Resort And Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina Hotel Hiawassee
Ridges Hotel Hiawassee
Fieldstone Resort Hiawassee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing