We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth coming back!”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Helen
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Worth coming back!”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Me and my boyfriend came here to just get away and relax! And it was perfect. And the lady at the front desk was an absolute sweetheart! Thanks a lot! Def will be coming back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhorton426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your response. We are so glad that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your stay with us. We will be looking forward to meeting you again. Do come back soon.

Dawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    39
    29
    18
    53
See reviews for
69
59
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This was a nice hotel as far as the rooms. Ours was very clean and stocked with everything that was advertised. The Breakfast was lacking they had the basics oatmeal, toast, bagel, and cereal. The flies in the dining area where unbearable (invest in a fly swatter). Overall I was satisfied with the hotel and will stay here again as long as I don't want breakfast.

Room Tip: They give an awesome discount for military personnel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleybeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Ashley,

Thank you for your response. It helps us to know where we can improve. The we have notice more and more about breakfast and we are making changes. We are so glad that you did enjoy your stay with us.

Thank you again for your response, we are listening you our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midway
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We went to Helen to go Tubing -- Econo Lodge is just across the street from the Tubing and Water Park Company -- Just enough distance from "town" to be quiet -- We took our lawn chairs and sat on the sidewalk most evenings -- The Staff could NOT have been nicer - Thank you again --

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaAcebes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Brenda,
I'm apologize for not responding soon. We are so greatful for you comments. Thank you so much for that. We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay here with us. We do hope that you come back and visit us again. On a personal note, I enjoyed having you and I really enjoy all my customers. You guys make my day.

Dawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I stayed at this Econo Lodge twice last year. It was clean and well-maintained, so when making plans to take a group to Helen this year, I had no question where we would stay. I must say, what a difference a year makes! In 2011, the rooms were clean, the continental breakfast was well-stocked, and everyone from the front desk to housekeeping bent over backwards to make sure the guests had a great experience. This year, the only person who expressed any care or concern for the guests was Dawn, the girl at the front desk.

I think a good characterization of the current Econo Lodge is "bare minimum." I first noticed this on my first morning when I went to the continental breakfast. I had told my group how great it was, but when I arrived in the breakfast room there was only toast, cereal, muffins, bagels, bananas and coffee. They did not even have cream cheese for the bagels! Housekeeping (on the first floor, which was serviced by a woman with a long blond ponytail and a man with a beard) was a joke! The first day, my bed was made and the towels were switched out in a timely manner. The second day, it was after 4 PM when I finally went to the front desk and let them know that my room had not been serviced. My room was eventually serviced, but none of my group's first floor rooms were cleaned. When the guests needed towels, they were told that they had to bring their dirty towels to the front desk before they were given new towels. On the third day, a cleaning crew from one of the owner's other properties came and did an excellent job. On the fourth day, I was in the room when housekeeping came to service. Other than making the bed and switching out the used towels, they did nothing! They didn't even change the bath mat! The room has two trash cans and they only emptied one. In addition, I had several boxes that I had stacked next to the trash can they emptied. They did not even bother to remove the boxes. The housekeepers had apparently gotten their own envelopes and left them in the room with the label "Tips for Housekeeping." Needless to say, I did not feel inclined to even leave a dollar. Considering their lack of cleaning and their horrible attitudes, I think the fact that they are paid for working is a gracious plenty.

We encountered several folks who have stayed at this Econo Lodge before, and they, too, were displeased with the conditions on this stay. Unless housekeeping changes and the standards return to what they once were, I do not recommend staying in this establishment. I will probably take another group to Helen next year, but we will be looking for a new place to stay. Although Dawn at the front desk is great, the facility itself has too much to overcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fermatakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
First I want to say sorry for not responding before now. I want to thank you for your response. We have been retraining our staff, We are also looking for new and better staff that is more friendly. I do apologize for you experience with us this year. The big difference was the owner was out of the country. I know this is no excuse, he should have been better prepared. We have discussed your comments extensively. We are making changes in the staff. We are also doing maintence. I do hope that you come back and give us another chance. I know you really dont have any reason too. We failed you this years and we apologize to you and the whole group. Please do remember the other experiences that you have had with us.

Dawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Helen hotels

Blairsville, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a room that was clean, a/c worked great, and the motel staff was friendly. Overall, I was pleased with it. Only thing was we only got one pillow each without pillow cases in which was resolved pretty quickly. So I would say it's a great place to stay for a good price!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracie098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Gracie,
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for the review. We are so glad that you decide to stay with us and that you are planning to come back to see us. We are always happy to see you guys.
As far as the pillow cases we are working on retraining staff and getting new staff. I do hope this doesn't happen again and your next stay is better than the first.
Do come visit again and give us a call we will fix you up.

Dawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doraville, Georgia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We stayed there for a 2 night weekend get away this past weekend and enjoyed the stay. The rooms were clean and up to date. The hotel is not near the center of town but you can walk if you are in shape enough. The breakfast wasn't bad. The location was quiet. The only thing I kind of balked at was the hand written envelope marked "Tips for House Keeping". I have never seen that before and struck me as a little cheesy, but I understand folks are just trying to get by in this tough economy. We may stay here again, but if not, just because of location not near town center. Other than that, it's all good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Econo Lodge H, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
John thank you for responseding to tripadvisor. It helps to know what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you do come back to visit with us again. As far as the hand written envelopes we as management had no idea that she was putting them in the room until it was brought to our attention. I assure you they have been removed and I am so sorry that they were there to begin with.
Again thank you for your response. Come back and see us again.

Dawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I have laid my head down about 60 times in the last 6 months on Choice Hotel pillows for business. (It has been a very busy year!) I stayed here in Helen with my wife of 21 years to make our commute short for a GA Motorcycle safety class we were taking in Clarksville. The outside of the hotel looked great and we received a warm welcome from Dawn. To tell you the truth we had a couple of issues with the room that we did not like. But we did not report them to Dawn or anybody else. I complained on the Choice Hotel's website. Dawn called me the very next day and apologized. She also let me know that she would have immediately fixed any issue that we had. She apologized to me again and asked me to try them again. I was very impressed with Dawn's positive and professional attitude when she called me. I did not know what to expect when I picked up the phone and she identified herself as the hotel front desk manager becuase of my complaint. Because of Dawn's professionalism and positive attitude, I probably will stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone. I would only ask that if you do see something you do not like, please tell somebody (Dawn). They will fix it immediately.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitmanThoreau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Carmen, thank you for the comments. It helps know what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. Everything that you told Choice hotels will be handled. I am again sorry about the problems that you and your wife experienced at our hotel, however, if they are not brought to our attention we can not correct them. And I remember you and your wife a lovely couple. When you visit again do let me know if there are any problems right away. We will do our best to fix them as fast as we can.
If there is ever something missing or something wrong you should always report it to the office. The office staff may not know that anything is wrong with the room, and if no one tells us we still won't know in order to get the problem solved. That is part of our job is to try to solve the problems you might have.
We do hope to see you and your wife again.
Please except my sincere apology.
Dawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.1 mi away
Jameson Inn
Jameson Inn
#17 of 19 in Helen
90 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Helen
Quality Inn Helen
#10 of 19 in Helen
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Helen
Red Roof Inn Helen
#11 of 19 in Helen
64 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 101 Edelweiss Strasse, PO Box 1178, Helen, GA 30545-3638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge Hotel Motel Helen near Unicoi State Park, Piedmont College and Truett-McConnell College,features spacious guest rooms that has standard features hairdryers, coffeemakers, refrigerators, wireless high-speed Internet access, microwaves, irons, ironing boards, and cable television. Some rooms have whirlpool bathtubs. Seasonal outdoor pool, and a meeting room are available at Hotel Helen GA. The Econo Lodge Hotel Motel Helen is located in Alpine Helen, GA at the edge of the Chattahoochee National Forest. You'll find Downtown Alpine Helen with all its shops, restaurants, attractions and the Helen Festhalle a short 2 minute drive from the hotel. The Swiss inspired accommodations of the Econolodge await your arrival in scenic White County, GA located alongside the Chattahoochee River. The Econo Lodge Hotel Motel Helen is adjacent to the new Helen Water Park and only minutes from Unicoi State Park, Anna Ruby Falls and the Cabbage Patch Kids Babyland General Hospital. Whether shopping in one of the many local Artisans shops, tubing down the Chattahoochee River, hiking up to Anna Ruby Falls or golfing at Innsbruck a pleasant nights stay will round out the enjoyment of a day well spent. The Econo Lodge Hotel near Chattahoochee offers all guests complimentary High Speed Wireless Internet, Deluxe Continental Breakfast and USA Today. Every room offers an iron/ironing board, coffeemaker, hairdryer and 25" TV with premium cable making you feel at home the minute you arrive. Centrally located in Helen Georgia, the Econo Lodge is your perfect lodging choice for a wonderful trip to Alpine Helen and the upstate Chattahoochee Region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Reservation Counter, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Helen
Econo Lodge Helen
Helen Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing