We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to Hampton Inn snuff”
Review of Hampton Inn Helen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Helen
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
Sanford, FL
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not up to Hampton Inn snuff”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I love staying at Hampton Inns but this place was not up to their standards. There was a huge water stain on the ceiling in the shower, carpets were dirty and the furniture needed dusting. The ice machine on our floor was out of order the entire time we were there. The plastic chairs on the porch were dirty. The room had an off smell and there was a weird stain on the wall right above the headboard....? :-O

Their "hot" breakfast left A LOT to be desired. Pre-cooked, frozen "omelets", frozen kielbasa sausage slices. We couldn't use the waffle maker because someone didn't know how to use it and broke it. The apple juice coming out of their machine was extremely watered down.

The bed was comfortable and it does have a good location within view of the creek and walking to town is a breeze but I would say that's about it.

We will not be staying at this Hampton Inn when we return to Helen again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zdavis29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    244
    117
    44
    26
See reviews for
300
411
20
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indian Trail, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very nice setting, room was very clean and fresh smelling. Bedding was excellent. Have stayed here several times in the past as well and Helen GA is a beautiful little town and restaurants and shops are within a short walk.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Rhonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murfreesboro
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is quite possibly the hotel with the best location in Helen. Close to shops and restaurants without having to drive. The best part for us was that a part of the AP trail is accessible from the hotel. The trailhead is at the park across the street.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank workoutchiick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My husband & i love staying at Hampton Inn. Usually large rooms & extremely clean! Unfortunately we was VERY disappointed with the Hampton Inn in Helen GA. A very small room...needing dusting bad! and way outdated furnishings. Wouldn't stay there again if we ever go to Helen again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Marty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okatie, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Disappointed with the cleanliness of the room and balcony. Broken chair on balcony and very sticky and dirty floors. The bathroom vanity/cabinet was extremely dusty. This is a Hampton, and there should be no excuses.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jack O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

The staff is always friendly and helpful. The rooms are always clean. Location on the creek is perfect. Love staying here. This is our 4th time. Won't stay anywhere else. Covered parking is convenient location is close to the attractions but away from the noise Just a great place.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lowryder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Driving the Georgia wine tour and decided to overnight in Helen. I cashed out some Hilton Honor points and stayed at the Hampton Inn in Helen. The hotel exterior matches the theme of Helen and has a Bavarian look. There was plenty of parking and took the elevator to the lobby for check in. Room is standard Hampton quality and feel. Property interior is in good condition. Rooms looks to be freshly painted with newer TVs. My room has some water damage (stains) on the ceiling, never a good thing when concerned about possible mold. We opted to get a river view room and we did have a few of the river but it's not worth the extra dollars/points. Also appeared to be a sitting area by the river to enjoy with the weather warms. Bathroom was OK but no ventilation fan. Breakfast was typical Hampton, a good start to the day. Location is near perfect, it's off the main drag and noise associated with it yet close enough to walk the entire town.

This Hampton property made for a good stay, but is a little off normal Hampton standards. I'm sure it is better than other hotels in town but the next time we come, I think I will look at renting a cabin.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbfltri8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton30545, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Helen, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you kindly for taking time to post your comment on our TripAdvisor.com page. Your business is greatly appreciated. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us!! Thank you for sharing your experience. Please be sure to visit our hotel again in the future. At Hampton Inn, we love having you here!! Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Helen
Quality Inn Helen
#10 of 19 in Helen
282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Helen
Red Roof Inn Helen
#11 of 19 in Helen
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Helen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Helen

Property: Hampton Inn Helen
Address: 147 Unicoi Street, Helen, GA 30545-3103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Helen
#3 Business Hotel in Helen
#5 Family Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Helen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Alpine-themed village of Helen, Hampton Inn Helen offers in-room WiFi, a swimming pool, covered parking, business center, exercise room, guest laundry, and a complimentary full breakfast. Standard rooms have two queen-sized beds; balcony rooms and suites are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Helen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Helen Hotel Helen
Helen Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing