We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stand down”
Review of Hampton Inn Helen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Helen
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good place to stand down”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We had a good visit. It was Memorial Day weekend, so the town was clogged worse than an overutilized commode. If you go during a holiday weekend, arrive early.

Ok, the hotel. Parking was good and secure. The rooms were definately up to Hilton standards that one would expect. The staff was friendly and helpful. WIth only one slow elevator, be aware that you may have to wait, especially when it is maxxed out.

The breakfast leaves something to be desired. The layout is poor and inefficient. The items are less than what you expect at other Hampton Inns

Room Tip: Only one elevator, so you may have to be patient. The breakfast is so-so and the layout is poor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadGhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn30545, General Manager at Hampton Inn Helen, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you kindly for taking time to post your comment on our TripAdvisor page. Your business is greatly appreciated. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us!! Thank you for sharing your experience. Please be sure to visit our hotel again in the future. At Hampton Inn, we love having you here!! Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    244
    117
    44
    26
See reviews for
300
411
20
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Prattville, Alabama, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband had told me of Helen three years before we were engaged. He took me to Helen! We were fortunate to get a room at Hampton Inn! How beautiful to get a room with a balcony, overlooking the river. We came back for four day's on our honeymoon. The clerks at the desk, housekeeping, everyone working at the Hampton Inn were expectantly nice. We never, ever want to stay anywhere but a Hampton!!! Thank you all for helping our stays at the Hampton in Helen the only place we always come back too :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn30545, General Manager at Hampton Inn Helen, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you kindly for taking time to post your comment on our TripAdvisor page. Your business is greatly appreciated. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us!! Thank you for sharing your experience. Please be sure to visit our hotel again in the future. At Hampton Inn, we love having you here!! Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Great location in downtown Helen. Perfect walking distance to shops, food, etc. When we arrived, we were given a room in which someone was already staying in. We switched rooms, but we were on a tight schedule to make a shuttle for a wedding so it was a bit frustrating, but things like that happen at hotels. Our bedframes had yellow sticky notes indicating that the sheets had been cleaned for us. It made the hotel seem cheap. I'm sure it was a gesture that the hotel thought would make us feel better, but I think clean sheets is a given. It probably would not bother you, but I had to throw it out there. A guest prior to us thought he left his laptop in our room. We were only staying Saturday night. On Sun. morning, I called the front desk to confirm our check- out time & the woman asked if she could come check for the laptop. I felt obligated to say yes, but we were still in bed & we were not fully dressed yet. We had to help her lift the mattress to check for the laptop. I understand that she was trying to accommodate the previous guest, but we only had an hour until check-out. I feel she could have informed the guest that we would be leaving soon & she could check for him as soon as we left. Again, this might not bother you, since I'm reviewing, I thought I should share.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn30545, General Manager at Hampton Inn Helen, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you kindly for taking time to post your comment on our TripAdvisor page. Your business is greatly appreciated. I'm so sorry that you encountered a problem during your stay here with us. We are striving to improve our guests' satisfaction and thanks to your comment, we are able to address those issues. Thank you for sharing your experience. Please be sure to visit our hotel again in the future. At Hampton Inn, we love having you here!! Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Check in nice and smooth, delicious cookies at the desk, nice touch! We had only been in our room about 5 minutes when we got a call asking if everything was ok, again a nice touch.
We had visited Helen on our road trip last year and had stayed at the Best Western, due to the SOWO being on a lot of hotels seemed to have been booked up, we were not disappointed with our choice though.
The hotel was set back a bit from the main road which was great as there was a lot of cars racing up and down and creating a slight disturbance in a normally idealistic setting.
The room was very clean and comfortable. We personally found breakfast choices a bit limited and guests were constantly having to ask for things to be replenished, could be that it was a bit busier than normal.
We were able to print out our boarding passes for our flight that evening at the computer at reception, this was a good service to offer. We would have given this a 5 if the breakfast had been a bit better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blanche&DaveMcColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn30545, General Manager at Hampton Inn Helen, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you kindly for taking time to post your comment on our TripAdvisor page. Your business is greatly appreciated. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us!! Thank you for sharing your experience. Please be sure to visit our hotel again in the future. At Hampton Inn, we love having you here!! Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phenix City, AL, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Very nice accommodations; everything in the room seemed pretty new, but I know the hotel has been there for several years. The complimentary breakfast had pretty good variety including some healthier choices. The staff was very professional, helpful and courteous. The location is convenient, you can walk to everything within Helen.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn30545, General Manager at Hampton Inn Helen, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you kindly for taking time to post your comment on our TripAdvisor page. Your business is greatly appreciated. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us!! Thank you for sharing your experience. Please be sure to visit our hotel again in the future. At Hampton Inn, we love having you here!! Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We visited Helen for 4 days staying at the Hampton. The manager was very helpful. The room and premises were very clean and the staff helpful. I slept very well. The breakfast was also fine. The best hotel in Helen would stay there again

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephine z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn30545, General Manager at Hampton Inn Helen, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you kindly for taking time to post your comment on our TripAdvisor page. Your business is greatly appreciated. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us!! Thank you for sharing your experience. Please be sure to visit our hotel again in the future. At Hampton Inn, we love having you here!! Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, GA, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We scheduled a business meeting for about 40 people. Dorita the manager was so helpful and made sure that everyone was always taken care of. The room and premises were very clean and all staff was very nice. This is the best place to stay in Helen..convenient to everything but not in the middle of every busy thing going on. Id recommend this place to anyone going to Helen for a stay over!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn30545, General Manager at Hampton Inn Helen, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you kindly for taking time to post your comment on our TripAdvisor page. Your business is greatly appreciated. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us!! Thank you for sharing your experience. Please be sure to visit our hotel again in the future. At Hampton Inn, we love having you here!! Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Helen
Quality Inn Helen
#10 of 19 in Helen
282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Helen
Red Roof Inn Helen
#11 of 19 in Helen
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Helen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Helen

Property: Hampton Inn Helen
Address: 147 Unicoi Street, Helen, GA 30545-3103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Helen
#3 Business Hotel in Helen
#5 Family Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Helen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Alpine-themed village of Helen, Hampton Inn Helen offers in-room WiFi, a swimming pool, covered parking, business center, exercise room, guest laundry, and a complimentary full breakfast. Standard rooms have two queen-sized beds; balcony rooms and suites are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Helen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Helen Hotel Helen
Helen Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing