We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would give 4 stars except for:”
Review of Hampton Inn Helen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Helen
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Helen
Certificate of Excellence
alabama
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“would give 4 stars except for:”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

long wait for check in. we arrived at 2PM and were told our room wasn't available, which was understandable. we were told to come back in 45 minutes. we were also told we would be called when our room was available, but no one ever called. we returned in an hour and 15 minutes, but then had to stand at the counter another 20 minutes while the clerk was on the phone to a prospective customer for whom they did not even have a room available. the beds were hard and uncomfortable and the walls were thin making for a noisy stay. we could hear other guest talking and using the restroom. other than that the rooms were nice- located on the river and clean with a spacious bathroom. the breakfast was a nice treat and money saver, that is if the items were actually available. the breakfast host did not seem to be able to handle the demand of a busy season. our first morning there we waited 30 minutes for the waffle mix to be refilled.eventually another staff member came to assist. our second morning the plates and water were out. finally got the plates but never refilled the water pitchers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rewt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn30545, General Manager at Hampton Inn Helen, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you kindly for taking time to post your comment on our Tripadvisor page. Your business is greatly appreciated. I'm so sorry that you encountered a problem during your stay here with us. We are striving to improve our guests' satisfaction and thanks to your comment, I am able to address those issues. Thank you for sharing your experience. Please be sure to visit our hotel again in the future. At Hampton Inn, we love having you here!! Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    240
    113
    42
    26
See reviews for
289
407
20
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

First time going to Helen GA, and the town alone is beautiful. The hampton is in the town area and its walking distance. Upon our arrival I had let the front desk staff know its my first time coming there with Family. When we got there they had a packet with our name on it with all the activities and attractions Helen had to offer. The staff is amazing and they had wonderful customer service. The hotel is clean and the rooms are spacious. I will definitely be visiting and staying in the same hotel again. I recommend!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lpgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn30545, General Manager at Hampton Inn Helen, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you kindly for taking time to post your comment on our Tripadvisor page. Your business is greatly appreciated. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us!! Thank you for sharing your experience. Please be sure to visit our hotel again in the future. At Hampton Inn, we love having you here!! Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Nice place to stay and right near all the main street attractions/ shops. It is nestled within walking distance of all the stuff to do. Covered parking is directly below the floors. We had a wonderful 2 queen bed w/sofa room. Very spacious and clean (was like having 2 rooms and fridge). Good breakfast. VERY QUIET!!! There is a fire station across the street, but no sirens or noise, respectable! We enjoyed the Christmas parade and not having to look for parking (fee$). Asked locals of food, and was led to try Nocatchee Tavern (about a mile outside town) and the pizza was awesome! (Thin crust and Gluten free available). Good prices! Betty's market (coutry style store nearby too). Off the main street but very close to all! Friendly, clean and upgraded! Allowed us to check in early to start our fun! Wonderful stay!

Room Tip: 2 queen bed w/sofa was like a suite. Covered parking below. Book online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firecap3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn30545, General Manager at Hampton Inn Helen, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you kindly for taking time to post your comment on our Tripadvisor page. Your business is greatly appreciated. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us!! Thank you for sharing your experience. Please be sure to visit our hotel again in the future. At Hampton Inn, we love having you here!! Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia Springs, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have stayed at this Hampton Inn twice now and it is fabulous. It is a quiet, clean and friendly hotel to stay at. And the location is great, you can walk to just about everything in Helen from this hotel. I will continue to stay here when I visit Helen.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn30545, General Manager at Hampton Inn Helen, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you kindly for taking time to post your comment on our Tripadvisor page. Your business is greatly appreciated. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us!! Thank you for sharing your experience. Please be sure to visit our hotel again in the future. At Hampton Inn, we love having you here!! Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Hilton Hotels does it right most all the time, and this was an extraordinary evening in a small Alpine village. Mother, daughter and granddaughter spent a lovely evening here on our way to Babyland General Cabbage Patch Hospital the following day.

Being a Hilton Honors member, we were quietly upgraded to a larger room on a high floor near the elevator...my initial request several years ago when I enrolled in the Honors program. I failed to thank management for that last week, so please accept my gratitude now. It was lovely to have the extra space for a rambunctious 2 yearold!

The reception are was on the second floor and we chose to walk up on the outside as the weather was agreeable and we wanted to experience the European ambiance.

The bed was excellent, the lighting very adequate, shower was powerful, and there was enough room in the bathroom for two...if needed.

The breakfast was hot and ample and our little one enjoyed the fare.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuJuTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn30545, General Manager at Hampton Inn Helen, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you kindly for taking time to post your comment on our Tripadvisor page. Your business is greatly appreciated. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us!! Thank you for sharing your experience. Please be sure to visit our hotel again in the future. At Hampton Inn, we love having you here!! Again, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My family and I stayed here Thanksgiving week. The front desk agent was wonderful upon check in and check out. Breakfast was a bit different then last visit. The orange juice wasn't the best but the breakfast waitress quickly fit it. The rooms were well cleaned and stocked especially with staying with a family of 4. If in Helen I highly recommend to stay at the Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn30545, General Manager at Hampton Inn Helen, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you kindly for taking time to post your comment on our Tripadvisor page. Your business is greatly appreciated. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us!! Thank you for sharing your experience. Please be sure to visit our hotel again in the future. At Hampton Inn, we love having you here!! Again, thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushnell, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We arrived late in the night. Making arrangements to do so was easier than at other hotels in similar circumstances. The information was well-communicated to the later shifts. We had an accessible room with a king bed and roll-in shower. The bed was on the soft side but still fine. The heat (and air conditioning) has an exterior-wall unit, with an interior-wall thermostat. It worked particularly well. The hotel is a short distance from the shops and restaurants in Helen. Breakfast is free and good. It varied somewhat from day to day, and included scrambled-egg patties (better than some others, but not like hand-made), bacon and ham, Belgian waffles, cereal, toast, muffins, bagels and the like. The hotel is elevated, with parking below the building at ground level. Presumably this is because land is tight in Helen. Some notes from a wheelchair user: The drainage of the roll-in shower is a disaster. A shower will flood the whole bathroom and much of the front hall, right up to the door. A blockade of towels is the only solution. The slope of the shower floor appears to be the problem. The hair drier was at standing height, difficult to reach from a chair, with buttons on the wall unit that were hard to push. The two disabled parking spaces were in the open. It would have been nice to have two in the covered parking as well. Entering or exiting a car in bad weather is more difficult for a disabled person. Also, some conditions are adversely affected by heat, making covered parking helpful. Overall, a fine, helpful and friendly staff, and good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glennmarston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInn30545, Manager at Hampton Inn Helen, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you kindly for taking time to post your comment on our Tripadvisor page. Your business is greatly appreciated. I'm so sorry that you encountered a problem during your stay here with us. We are striving to improve our guests' satisfaction and thanks to your comment, I am able to address those issues. Thank you for sharing your experience. Please be sure to visit our hotel again in the future. At Hampton Inn, we love having you here!! Again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Helendorf River Inn and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Helen
Quality Inn Helen
#9 of 19 in Helen
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#6 of 19 in Helen
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Helen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Helen

Property: Hampton Inn Helen
Address: 147 Unicoi Street, Helen, GA 30545-3103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Helen
#3 Business Hotel in Helen
#5 Family Hotel in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Helen 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Alpine-themed village of Helen, Hampton Inn Helen offers in-room WiFi, an indoor pool, business center, fitness room, and free hot breakfast. Balcony rooms and suites are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Helen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Helen Hotel Helen
Helen Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing