We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Helen
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Helen
Reviewed June 2, 2008

Days Inn is always kind of hit and miss, so when a relative booked this one for a family vacation, I was kind of leary. After reading the reviews, I was really dreading this trip. HOWEVER, the room was not nearly as bad as the reviews said. Yes, the hotel is old, and could use some updating. But our room was okay, especiall for the price. The walls had been patched in places but they were not nasty. Our TV remote was missing, but the front desk staff apologized and replaced it. My biggest complaint was that the pool was closed during our entire stay. Yes, there are nicer hotels in Helen, but for the money, the Days Inn was fine.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wardsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 223 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2008

I Had A Great Stay At the DAYS INN IN HELEN GA. The GM And Front Desk Staff Went Beyond The Call Of Duty For Me And My Wife. My Wife Has Been Ill For A Long Time And All Of The Staff Made Her Feel At Home And Made Her Laugh, Which I Have Not Seen In A Long Time. My Hat Goes Off To DAYS INN . The Room Was Very Clean And Comfortable. If You Want To Meet Some Great People Visit DAYS INN HELEN. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK GUYS AND THANKS FOR EVERYTHING YOU DID FOR MY WIFE.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

MR. HARRIGAN

Stayed: May 2008
Thank harrigan45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

The Front Desk Staff was the ONLY saving grace at this pigpen.
This is a hotel for dirty truckers, hookers, and meth addicts.
The room was "dirty". The floors were unvacumed. My socks turned colors walking on the floor so I ended up having to wear my Crocs the entire time I was in the room. The floor creaks, the walls are multi colored from mildew and patched holes. The plumbing creaks and moans in the middle of the night. The wireless internet provided only works if you are a room or two off the main office. I ended up getting my internet from Big Daddy's (A nearby Bar And Grill) and the Country Inn Suite (across the parking lot).
There was a huge hole next to the wall mounted lamp next to the bed... No telling what was in there. There was trash behind the end tables that wasn't ours and we just basically felt dirty the entire time we were in the room.

If you like yourself or love your family you should not stay here. If you are an addict of some nature or just miserable this is the place have your body found by the police.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BuLLg0d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2008

We stayed in the Days Inn in Helen, Ga. after reading the reviews on this site. I was shocked to find that the reviews were completely wrong. The rooms are not clean. As for the use of the Ramada's pool, it was closed each time we attempted to use it. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. TURN AROUND AND GO HOME, or go to a different hotel. You can find several hotels much nicer in town.

Stayed: February 2008
Thank damian_66657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2008

Me , my husband and children stayed at Days Inn in Helen Georgia and it was terrfic. Rhonda who is General Manager allowed us to take our kids to their sister property which is Ramada Limited, so they could swim in indoor pool. The front desk clerk Donna was very pleasant and knew the area well , gave us great directions to each place we wanted to visit. I have read some of these reviews and find them hard to believe. We will be going back to Days Inn again . Had a great stay!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ShirleyAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2007

We headed up to Helen for a visit to Young Harris College & also take in Oktoberfest.
The area is bautiful & the leaves are beginning to change, although, the dry weather has dimmed them a bit. We arrived at the hotel & as apparently the usual is these days our friends from another country greeted us in "very good" English. They could not find the reservation & told us that because of the events ongoing the rate would be $199.99 a night! Good thing we printed out our own receipt...then things changed.
We were given the key cards to our rooms, we booked 2 separate, for our friends & the difference was not much, but still noticeable. I do not beleive the place has seen bleach or a coat of paint in years. Holes in the wall, nasty carpet. I know its hard to keep things up, but this is a cleanliness issue...really. I mean come on guy's stop by on the way to wrk & buy some spray cleaner...PLEASE. I would not stay there again if I had a choice. Too many others to try out.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank dixiediva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2007

This hotel is disgusting and overpriced. We booked the "Kitchen Suite" which is supposedly the nicest room in the hotel. If that's the case, I feel sorry for the other guests. The walls were stained, the wallpaper was peeling, and the bathtub was dirty beyond cleaning. This particular room is obviously the residence of the manager or owner, because it was musty, smelly and appeared "lived in". The furniture is all second-hand, moldy and water-damaged. And believe it or not, the manager told me that the room had been recently renovated! It seriously was a dump. There is also an insect problem as I woke up with bites all over my body. We would have canceled our stay if any other hotel had a vacancy. Please, do yourself a favor and stay away from this one.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank antmeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.6 mi away
Jameson Inn
Jameson Inn
#17 of 19 in Helen
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Alpine Helen
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Helen
Red Roof Inn Helen
#11 of 19 in Helen
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Helen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Helen

Address: 8288 S Main St, 1/2 Mi From Center Of Town, Helen, GA 30545-3649 (Formerly Days Inn Helen)
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Helen
Price Range: $95 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Helen 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Helen offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, a 24-hour front desk, free coffee in lobby, free deluxe continental breakfast, a seasonal outdoor pool (open May to September) and free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms. Our guest rooms include mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, 40 inch flat panel cable TV, HBO, and alarm clock radio. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (11 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel offers both smoking and non-smoking rooms. Sorry, no pets allowed. We are located on Main Street, and are near attractions such as Scenic Helicopter Tours, Helen Arts and Heritage Center and Charlemagne's Kingdom. Americas Best Value Inn Helen is your best choice within "The Georgia Alpine Village". We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for business, music or food festivals, sightseeing, or simply passing through on your way to Atlanta or Knoxville, TN. At Americas Best Value Inn Helen our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn Helen, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Helen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Helen Hotel Helen
Helen Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing