We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased with our stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Helen
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Helen
1 review
“Very pleased with our stay.”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We spent 15 days (weekdays not weekends) at this hotel during the OktoberFest because we liked the location. The breakfast selections were the best that we had during our entire trip. The manager was very accommodating. The room was always clean. We hope to this again next year because we were so pleased.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omadoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    26
    25
    34
    99
See reviews for
56
88
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crestview, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

After this stay, I refuse to use Days Inn any longer. The main gripe I had was with how the management dealt with the noise. The room was on the back side of the motel because I asked not to be facing the main road. However, there were people coming back from a bar nearby who made noise well into the early morning. Since my room had a non-working phone, I used my cell phone to call the front desk to complain. The manager didn't offer any reason why we had no phone but said "don't worry, it's like this ALL the time with the bikers here". I am a biker myself, so I didn't really appreciate his comment. However, I had to quieten down the person next door around 3 am and finally got a couple hours of sleep.

Room Tip: Never plan to stay in a motel in Helen! Drive a few miles away to stay somewhere more expensive but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgarrett1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Helen hotels

Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

My wife and I were on a motorcycle and planned on staying in Helen for a couple of nights so we made reservations for 2 nights. Soon after we made reservations I noticed on my credit card bill that they had already charged my account for both nights. We were to leave for Helen about the same time that the intense storms were heading up the east cost and it was terrible weather in Alabama, Georgia and North Carolina and we could not make it from where we were to Helen because of the storms and were stranded close to Alabama so I called the Days Inn in Helen to inform them of our situation and to cancel our reservations. They said ok and gave us a cancellation number and I thought the Helen location would credit my account, WRONG, they would not refund my money. We called Days Inn Cooperate and explained our problem and they said they would review the claim and get back. Well, cooperate called and said that they would refund our entire amount and the check would be mailed the next day. I am happy with Days Inn Cooperate but I will never stay at the Days Inn in Helen Georgia, their license should be revoked. Hope this review will help someone avoid our experience with the Helen location.

Room Tip: Go to another motel.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My husband and I went up to Helen just for a one night getaway so we went to the Days Inn thinking it would be OK since it was a Days Inn, honestly you think a major hotel chain would be OK. What a mistake! The first room we checked into had a bowel movement in the toilet and smelly pillows. The front desk clerk moved us to another room, which I thought was OK- the toilet was clean and clear so to speak. Then later that night I started to notice how dirty the bathroom was. The tub was so nasty I wouldn't even shower there and I kept my shoes on all the time. That morning when we checked out I told the front desk clerk how unhappy we were and how filthy it was, just to be told how they an Indian couple who cleaned and they really didn't do a great job. Great, so much for thinking a major chain hotel would be fine.

Won't go back to that dump ever again, and as you can tell from all my reviews of the places in Helen, my husband and I go up there alot!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else, or sleep in your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojohcarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

After reading some of the reviews, I was worried about this hotel. Thankfully the reviews I read were not accurate. Stayed 2 nights. It was in a good location to walk where we needed to go. Good value, clean sheets, clean bathroom, good light breakfast, helpful staff. no bugs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tnwoman1139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2011

This was the nastiest hotel I have ever stayed in. I booked in for 3 days and 2 nights, because the one I usually stay in was booked. The pool was full of bugs and paint chips, to the point that we almost didn't use it. After I asked for a skimmer, and skimmed it myself, we got it, and found a worm in the bottom. We passed on using the poll the last day. The room wasn't much better, the bathroom had a dead roach in the floor, and the toilet was backed up, not to mention it looked like it had not been cleaned. It had hair, and other dirt on the toilet seat. The sink had an annoying drip, and the visitor guide in the room was molded on the back side. The only thing good I can say about this hotel is the location is decent..allowing us to walk to town. However, I will never use it again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_happyGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

I arrived at the hotel around 1 pm and had no problem checking in even though customary check-in time was at 4pm. Then the front desk clerk informed me that a "King Bed Room" is available and he could switch me if I would like that instead. I accepted and was pleased. Although the furnishing were basic and the room could have used an "airing out" it was spacious and clean. We had access to free Wi-Fi and good selection of channels on TV. I really appreciated that we were within walking distance of downtown Helen. Now, I did take a quick look at the pool and it was in OK condition. The parking lot was basic and I had no problem finding a spot. If your just looking for a simple place to stay while in Helen. This is great!

Room Tip: Book online. Save more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QKelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.6 mi away
Jameson Inn
Jameson Inn
#17 of 19 in Helen
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Helen
Red Roof Inn Helen
#10 of 19 in Helen
59 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Helen
Quality Inn Helen
#9 of 19 in Helen
277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Helen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Helen

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Helen
Address: 8288 S Main St, 1/2 mi from center of town, Helen, GA 30545-3649 (Formerly Days Inn Helen)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 Hotels in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Helen 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Helen offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, a 24-hour front desk, free coffee in lobby, free deluxe continental breakfast, a seasonal outdoor pool (open May to September) and free Wi-Fi in all guest rooms. Our guest rooms include mini-fridge, coffeemaker, hairdryer, 40 inch flat panel cable TV, HBO, and alarm clock radio. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (11 and under in parent's room). For your convenience our hotel offers both smoking and non-smoking rooms. Sorry, no pets allowed. We are located on Main Street, and are near attractions such as Scenic Helicopter Tours, Helen Arts and Heritage Center and Charlemagne's Kingdom. Americas Best Value Inn Helen is your best choice within "The Georgia Alpine Village". We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for business, music or food festivals, sightseeing, or simply passing through on your way to Atlanta or Knoxville, TN. At Americas Best Value Inn Helen our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn Helen, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Helen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Helen Hotel Helen
Helen Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing