We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best deal in town” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Helen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Helen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Comfort Inn Helen
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Helen
Snellville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best deal in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

My husband and I and our five kids stayed at the hotel this past weekend and had a wonderful time there. We were looking for a place that had adjoining rooms that wasn't too expensive and this place fit the bill perfectly. Both rooms were clean and the staff was super nice and made sure we had everything we needed, from extra sheets to tooth paste, to where to find the closest mining activity, we really got a lot of bang for our buck. We drove to Anna Ruby Falls, which is a fun and terrific walk even if you're not in the best shape. :D We also walked around the lake there and played at their beach. Downtown/Helen is only about 2 miles long, so we were able to walk to just about anywhere, but if you get the chance, ride on the horse carriage for a small tour. The kids will love it. It didn't hurt that the the BBQ place had opened up this weekend and it's located across the street. We will definitely stay there this coming summer as the water park is also located directly across the street. Can't wait to ride in the tubes!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this hotel because we were only staying one night and the price was cheap. Well like everything else in the world, you pay for cheap and you get cheap.
First of all the hotel say's that it's close by Helen's downtown activities but once arriving we found out that it was to far even to walk to anything. I don't mind a little walk but it was 2 miles from the hotel to downtown Helen. We ended up having to call a cab at $10 one way to take us into downtown and back because 1) It was to far, 2) no place to even park if you did drive into town, 3) The police were everywhere and alot of partying and drinking was going on...to unsafe to venture out and in with most of the town driving DUI.
As for the hotel name, this place is called Econo Lodge....not Comfort Inn. We ended up driving around the town looking for the so called "Comfort Inn" for nearly 30 minutes. I don't know why they are advertising under a different name, as this has changed over along time ago (per the frontdesk). All I can say for the place is this: If your looking for a quick place to lay down and get up and leave it should be fine (cheap enough and nothing special), but if your taking a family especially with kids fork out the extra money and get some other place. It's fine if your drunk enough to pass out and not care...enough said.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MariaD243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Helen hotels

Atlanta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2008

We stayed here one night for $69.00 plus tax. The room as well as the bathroom was small and had a musty smell. I swear one of the towels was not washed. It smelled like someone used it and they just threw it in the dryer and folded it up instead of washing it. The decor, including the bedspread, was outdated. The location is good and since we weren't facing the waterpark, it was quiet. The young lady that checked us in was very pleasant. Nachoochee Grill is a great place to eat. Only do the tubing if it has rained recently. Otherwise you will end up walking most of the way and it will take over 2 hours. Check the recent weather before you go.

  • Liked — It was quiet.
  • Disliked — Musty smell-needs refreshing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unihead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2008

When I was planning a trip to Helen with points for a free stay in the Choice Privileges program I had a choice of two hotels; the Comfort Inn and the Quality Inn. The map on the Comfort Inn's web page does not show the hotel's location propery, placing it right in the middle of town rather than some ways out of town. There is not a lot of parking in the downtown area, and walking from the Comfort Inn would be a short hike.

If you want to stay at a Choice Hotels property and be within walking distance of downtown, your choice is the Quality Inn. It is one block off the main drag, right in the heart of downtown.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainPlanIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2007

We stayed at the Comfort Inn Helen in Helen, Georgia for two nights.
The room was in terrible shape. The carpet was dirty. The shower was cracked. The towel bar was falling off the wall. One of the wall lamps over the bed did not work as the switch was broken and the floor lamp we moved over to read by was falling apart. The management had signs stating that they were renovating. If that were the case we were not fortunate enough to get one of those rooms.
I would not recommend this establishment to anyone.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the condition of the room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glashse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2007

Booked hotel for three days. Hotel was "remodeling" . Our room was very nasty, toilet seat was filthy and the sheets had not been changed! Although the front desk staff was friendly, the manager was rude and hateful. I would not recommend this hotel or stay there again.

  • Disliked — the way I was treated
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Happytraveler37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2006

I visited there this April, and I do not suggest this hotel even when it is a last option. I chose to pay higher and live at another hotel than this. The room aren't clean, their is dust everywhere, the owner and workers are not friendly. The mirrors are dirty. Bathroom is very dirty with stains. This room looks like is not cleaned in months.

DO not go there.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Helen hotels
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
0.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Helen
Red Roof Inn Helen
#9 of 19 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn Helen
Quality Inn Helen
#12 of 19 in Helen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.2 mi away
Heidi Motel
Heidi Motel
#5 of 19 in Helen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Helen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Helen

Property: Comfort Inn Helen
Address: 101 Edelweiss Strasse, Helen, GA 30545-3638
Location: United States > Georgia > Helen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Helen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Helen Hotel Helen
Helen Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing